We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (380)
Filter reviews
380 results
Traveller rating
317
46
10
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
317
46
10
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honesty bar working farm honor bar common room french toast walk into town sheep grazing guest house guest lounge we loved our stay breakfast was excellent irish hospitality donegal area dining room stayed for one night family room stayed longer
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 380 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2018 via mobile

I guess if you’re being budget-minded this is a decent enough place. Only a mile walk into town is good when parking in town can be tough. That being said, it has some drawbacks. Pillows were flat and room was stuffy and dusty. We had to open the window to allow in some fresh air. Bathroom door wouldn’t stay open and had to be propped open with a chair. Almost no room for soaps, etc., to keep by the sink. The wifi in the room was awful. It either kept dropping us or wasn’t strong enough to download anything. A real drawback when you’re traveling. These aren’t necessarily huge issues so if cost is your driving factor, then stay here. If you want a little more comfort, pay an extra 10-20 euros. I’ll admit, though, breakfast was good.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank PennyG338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone staying in the Donegal area, although we didn’t get to meet the owners Theresa and Albert - Host Sarah did a fabulous job - she made reservations for us each night and had a cab waiting for us and gave us great info on the pubs in Donegal Town. Also gave me great advice on the drive to Slieve League Cliffs. The honesty bar was great when we got back from our long day of sightseeing - the breakfast was fantastic to start our day each morning. This was our first stop for 3 nights and we couldn’t have been happier with our choice to start our holiday and host Sarah had a lot to do with that !!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018

We just spent two nights in Donegal Town and I wish it could have been longer. The B&B was in a lovely farm setting and quite comfortable. The Honor Bar is awonderful idea. Theresa was so helpful with taking our laundry to town so we could enjoy our time sight seeing. The advice she gave us on things to do was spot on. The walk to town is about 20 min but it easy to get a taxi home and only about 7 euro.
Glencar Waterfall is a hidden gem and we never would have known about it without Theresa. My only regret is that we didn’t have more time to spend in this area.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Judi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamDonegal, Owner at Ard na Breatha, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Ard na Breatha. We are really lucky with the beautiful guests that we have stay with us, it was such a pleasure to meet you. Kind Regards Therea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

Although a bit tricky to find (not by Irish standards), it was well worth the stay of three nights. We loved the common room - very cozy with fireplace. The breakfast area has a great view of countryside and the breakfast was wonderful. The owner is a chef and the food came out hot and delicious. Theresa serves and manages the desk. She is a very nice lady. My husband had a dental problem, and she immediately made arrangements with her dentist, giving details directions. She is very accommodating. The walk into town is very doable. We were in two different rooms. Ours was very quiet on the first floor. The bathroom was small, but had a wonderful shower.

Room tip: Both rooms were quiet, but we enjoyed our get togethers in the common room the most.
Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank travelquat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamDonegal, Owner at Ard na Breatha, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely review. It was my pleasure to meet you all and have you stay at Ard na Breatha. We are really blessed to have such wonderful people come and spend time with us. It makes our work much easier when dealing with such lovely clientele.Kind Regards Theresa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2018 via mobile

We had a winder full stay in the hotel. We enjoyed the best breakfast on our tour so far.

The reception was welcoming. The have an honesty bar which is convenient since the hotel is a bit out of town. 30 minutes walk!

Know that the reception closes at 10.00 pm

Breakfast is served rather late at 8.30 hrs

Rooms are okey but in our opinion could need an upgrade. Beds are short. Need to take a shower in the bath. The toilet in our room was not properly fixed to the floor

Take a sweater. In our room the heating was not on. At 6 degree outside this is pretty cold. Switching on the bathroom heater and let this door open help us out

Breakfast was great with a a good choice of warm food and served in an area with a lovely view.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Nimefurahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamDonegal, Owner at Ard na Breatha, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest, Thank you for going to the trouble of posting a nice review.It was lovely to meet you both I wish to address the comments you have made.There is a short pathway to walk to town it is 15 minutes. to walk on this path, to walk the way you drive on the road is longer probably 30 minutes.Reception will give you a map of the short way with full details.Reception is open from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. but are on call after that if needed. Breakfast is served from 8 am to 10 am as that seems to be the time that suits our guests however we often come earlier upon request this is no problem.We do decorate every couple of years and are due a makeover this winter.There is no need to be cold you just adjust the knob on the radiator details are in the guest book or speak with reception.Kind Regards Theresa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews