We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb!!!!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Rosswood House set on an Elevated Site overlooking Donegal Bay
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rosswood House set on an Elevated Site overlooking Donegal Bay
Booking-Com Award Winner 2015 Rosswood House Driveway and Wonderful Sea Views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
73 reviews
Rosswood House set on an Elevated Site overlooking Donegal Bay
Booking-Com Award Winner 2015
Rosswood House Driveway and Wonderful Sea Views
Rosswood House as Seen on a Winters Snowy Morning
View over Donegal Bay as Seen from Front Upsatirs Kind Bedroom
Ground Floor Hallway
Ground Floor Hallway Coming Down Stairs
Spacious Ground Floor Hallway with Magnificent Sea views
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen & Centre Island
Kitchen & Dining Area
Alfrank Dining Room Table & Chairs Luxury Dining
Dining Area Rosswood House
Living Room / Lounge
Open Fire living Room / Lounge
Upstairs Hallway & DvD Library & Books
Upstairs Bathroom
King Bedroom Rear of House
King Bedroom Front of House Sea Views & Forst Views .. Bay Windows En Suite
Twin Bedroom Rear of House
Historic Donegal Town Castle
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Donegal Town, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 73 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
irishdonn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb!!!!!”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We are just back from a wonderful week spent in this exceptional property. Gareth met us and showed us around the house on the first day. An added bonus of being Dog friendly and WiFi available. The grounds and scenery where breathtaking. Donegal town is great and the Donegal water bus trip is a must. No complaints at all with regards to this wonderful house.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2014
Thanks for the Kind Words.. Been a Dog Owner myself I fully understand the importance of been able to take your Pet with you on Holidays. WIFI is also a crucial element for any Holiday particularly for keeping in touch with Family and friends thru Facebook , Viber , Skype etc
The Waterbus is a nice trip and I too would recommend this to any of my Guests.. Delighted that you all enjoyed the magnificent views from the property and that the Children had a good Holiday also.. If you are ever back give me a shout all repeat Business enjoys a 10% Discount
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tammie R
Belfast
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good but not great for young children”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

A very nice house, although no one to greet us, we travelled from Belfast and arrived only 10 mins after arranged time to find no-one around and no contact details left, but house left wide open.
Had booked and told the owners there would be a baby, there was NO highchair, we contacted them, they said they'd come to give us one, they did not come back. Also there was not patio furniture, just two benches, one of which was broken so we could not sit outside on the glorious evening.
AAs I said it is a nice house but little things let it down. I have been to more family friendly houses.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Scenic views
Liked least: Lack of baby and outdoor eating opportunity.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2014
Thank you for the Feedback.. The House has an amazing selection of DVD's for both Children and Adults , along with complimentary Wifi ,Large open area Gardens Adjoined by Green Pastures with Miniature Ponies and wonderful walks along the Private Road leading to Rosswood House. It is ideal for Children and all love the facilities
There are 3 Benches at Rear of House. Apologies over the High Chair this was an oversight. Contact Number & Directions were furnished before arrival 3 Star rating is not a fair reflection of Rosswood House
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaMil...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun and laughter for the Scottish crew”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fantastic week at Rosswood House. Beautifully designed, the house offers lots of space and amenities inside and out - ideal for our group of 9 people. We pretty much had all we needed! My only comment is that one shower for a large group is not ideal for our large group - however I have fed this back to Gareth who has this in hand. We were blessed with gorgeous weather and were able to make lots of use of the outdoor seating and BBQ, and importantly take in the wonderful views and a few strolls locally. Gareth was extremely helpful - quick to offer advice when we needed it. We visited many areas locally benefiting from the fact that the house is so well situated to many areas of interest. We also made a couple of trips to Donegal by taxi - we would recommend Gallaghers Taxis would were very attentive. All in a fab experience and one we very much hope to repeat!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2014
Thank you for your Kind Words. We did put a lot of effort in to the design if the House to ensure our Guests have a Wonderful time when visiting Rosswood House. You were truly blessed with gorgeous weather and it was great you were able to make lots of use of the outdoor seating and BBQ, . Agree and I would also highly recommend Gallaghers Taxis.. Thanks for all the feedback and will action the improvements suggested
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtneyL...
1 review
“Overwhelming!!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

My friends and I booked rosswood house for a total of 5 days at the beginning of July. All 7 of us have decided already that we will definitely have to come again next year. The house itself is overwhelming, it's even more breathtaking than the photos. The house is big and the interior is spectacular. The kitchen was a winner for us all! Absolutely fantastic. The owner Gareth was a very friendly man and it was a pleasure communicating with him about our booking. We couldn't have asked for a better stay! Would recommend 100% to everyone, location is beautiful and the lane running up to the house is a beautiful morning walk!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
graemeboy...
erskine
1 review
“Amazing house, great location, comfy fire.”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 for a stay in October 2013

This house is set on an amazing location. Lovely walks about the house, great beaches 10 min drive, pubs are a short taxi ride away. I couldn't fault this house in any way so i booked again for this October. Cheers Gareth.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$147
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing