We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent Communication, Friendly Host, Clean...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Linlithgow, West Lothian, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
keigrant
Boyertown, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Excellent Communication, Friendly Host, Clean House”
Reviewed 30 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We chose Ochil View as a place to stay while visiting Edinburgh (three adults/two teenagers). We wanted to visit the city, but not stay in the city. We overall rate with five circles because the stay delivered what was described and shown in the photos. We would agree with much of what other reviewers said. Leanne is a great communicator. Prior to our arrival, she replied to all my questions with excellent information. Upon arrival, we found a very generous “starter” package of refrigerator and food items. The house was clean. We intended to use the house as an alternative to a hotel; we were up-and-out in the morning and returned in the evening for sleeping. There is one shower, which we understood, and we were able to coordinate with each other on that; however, there is a second room with toilet/sink which facilitated getting ready in the morning. There is a washing machine, and clothes drying is done with a line. Leanne stopped by one evening to be sure we were OK and to see if we needed anything. We had a rental car and each day drove to the Ingliston Park & Ride and took the tram into Edinburgh – very easy to get to and use. The tram stops within walking distance of the castle and royal mile. OK, here’s the bottom line. . . Would we pick Ochil View again? Yes, without a doubt. It’s a house you can use while visiting Edinburgh, and Leanne is a nice host.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2017
It was a great pleasure having you stay and really nice to meet you. I am pleased Ochil View provided for all your needs.
Hope to see you again sometime
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lynnmcnei...
Ballymena, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable and Central”
Reviewed 22 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We have just stayed at Ochil View for 4 nights! A clean, comfortable, well equipped, child friendly property in a quiet and central location for tourists wanting to explore the lovely attractions like The Kelpies and Falkirk Wheel etc!

Leanne is very helpful and also left us a great welcome starter food pack Our 9 year old and 2 year old girls enjoyed the patio area out the back with little table and girls and some balls to play with!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2017
Great meeting you all and it's wonderful to know Ochil View was a pleasant stay. Thank you for your custom
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Jun 2017
Thank you for your review. I trust you enjoyed your holiday in Scotland . HASTE YE BACK
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Apr 2017
Thank you for your review it is so pleasing to know our guests feel at home. We would love to have you stay again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AwesomeJo...
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“What a treat, could not have imagined better!”
Reviewed 30 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

It was my friends wedding in Linlithgow and I was best man, so stress free was high on my priorities, and Ochil View did not disappoint.

We had been on the road for what seemed an eternity, driving from Lincolnshire, we just wanted to get in and put the kettle on. Once we arrived just off the main road, parked on the driveway, we were very impressed, well kept garden, lovely outside veranda outback.

We entered and we were so impressed, even the kids said wow. There was a bowl of fruit, eggs, bread, milk everything to look after us, the place was decorated very nicely and the rooms were above average size. For the money this place beats any hotel by a long stretch!

I was a bit stressed with my best man responsibilities but Ochil View certainly took one of the stresses away, we will definitely visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size of the rooms, decor
Liked least: There were some plug in air fresheners that was a bit over powering when first arrived, might be due to smelling exhaust fumes on the M79 for 2 hours.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2016
HASTE YE BACK....I am pleased to know Ochil View was a comfortable stress free stay .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing