We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A return visit - and even more fabulous than I...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Eagle Bay Cottages

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
j7jpc
East Lothian
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A return visit - and even more fabulous than I remembered!!”
Reviewed 16 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I've reviewed Eagle Bay before, but feel I just have to confirm that our return visit recently for a longer stay was really FAB. This time we followed the itineraries that are provided for the cottage and were supplied to us in advance so we did a bit of planning this time for our 5 nights. The cottage is still immaculate - as if never used before and the views from the windows are just fabulous. Soaking in the bath looking out over the bay is particularly indulgent. We love this place and the surrounding area. We incorporated a boat trip based on Kathleen's recommendation which was excellent and which I will review separately,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about he place and the views
Liked least: Nothing at all
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maggle_41...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
Reviewed 24 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
3
people found this review helpful

The other reviews say it all really - this place is seriously special. My husband and I had the most perfect week. The cottage is just beautiful, exquisitely decorated with top quality furnishings, yet understated and elegant. We don't think we have ever slept so well away from home, the bed is to die for! The views from the cottage are breathtaking - we had to keep pinching ourselves. The cottage has everything you could possibly need for a perfect holiday - from the excellent picnic hampers/thermos flasks, to the Parlux hairdryer and REN toiletries. We consider ourselves well travelled and enjoy luxury breaks, but Eagle Bay takes things to another level - this was our best holiday ever and we can't wait to go back. Thank you to Kathleen and David for a truly wonderful week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorna1985...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 14 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My boyfriend and I came to Lewis for 4 days to celebrate my 30th birthday and, as a surprise, he booked one of the Eagle Bay Cottages. We had a wonderful time there - the accommodation itself is beautiful and well-finished. Everything has been thought of including Tupperware and thermos flasks if you want to go walking. The hosts couldn't have been more hospitable with the welcome hamper (including some delicious champagne) a lovely added touch. We will certainly be back and are already trying to work out dates!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
j7jpc
East Lothian
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful!!!”
Reviewed 7 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

these cottages are amazing. Just back from a weekend there and that was not nearly long enough. Everything in the cottage is luxurious, top quality, but above all very tasteful. All the other reviews are accurate. Nothing has been left to chance. Absolutely stunning and we will definitely return for a longer stay sometime in the future. In fact, I didn't want to leave, it was so fabulous.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gallagher...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The most perfect place in the world!”
Reviewed 5 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
3
people found this review helpful

I have never in my life stayed anywhere so wonderful. A stunning, ultra luxurious hideaway in the most beautiful setting on earth. Where do I start? Breathtaking location, amazing ever changing views, incredible Eco-design by award-winning architect, perfection inside and out. This place is so romantic and peaceful and every detail is perfect - wood burning stove, underfloor heating, glamorous wet room with sauna and huge freestanding bath, Ren toiletries, robes and slippers and towels from The White Company, le Creuset pans, Gaggia coffee machine, every film I have ever wanted to see and never had time to. Don't bother bringing the kindle, the library is wonderful. The hosts, David and Kathleen have thought of everything. Fresh
Flowers, champagne, so many treats we have barely bought food. David even taught us how to build a real fire. This was our second wedding anniversary and I don't know how anything could have possibly been more perfect. Everything else on tripadvisor should be downgraded to four star by comparison to David and Kathleen's paradise here on Lewis.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing