We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic base”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

MsMoll
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Fantastic base”
Reviewed 27 June 2019 for a stay in June 2019

Loved this little cottage in a perfect location. Brilliant place for two with everything you’d need (bedroom is a little small but we spread upstairs with our stuff!!).

We enjoyed a meal out on the decking, especially since the weather was SO HOT - could only sit in the living room for 1/2 hour even with all the velux windows open!! Strange to be so hot in Scotland!

Aberfoyle is fine with a decent sized Co-op, various cafes and pubs. We hired bikes and explored the area too.

Ps. We love what Dukes Cottage was before - brilliant reuse!!

Date of stay: June 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
29 Jun 2019
Really glad you had a great time Nick, all helped by this fabulous weather!
Come back any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lou W
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good base for exploring”
Reviewed 3 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed at Duke's cottage for 4 nights. For the most part the accomodation was good, functional and had everything we needed. However, we think the house needs a little TLC, looking cruffy in places. Also, the house could have been cleaned more thoroughly prior to our arrival, there were hairs in the shower plughole and rug in bedroom, several areas with dust and cobwebs, and grill dirty. Saying that, we enjoyed the lounge area and the location is fine, although Aberfoyle also a bit shabby.

Date of stay: July 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
4 Jul 2018
Hi Lou
Many thanks for your feedback, we always hope to give guests the experience we would hope to have on holiday, so will make sure we address all these points!
Thanks
Andy and Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carmenkj3...
Bochum, Germany
1 review
“We calm down!”
Reviewed 9 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Me and my husband stayed for 9 nights at Duke's Cottage. It was very lovely and we enjoyed the nature around. The cottage is well equiped, very clean and we had all what we needed.Thanks to Sarah and Andy for our lovely holidays. We want to come back!

Date of stay: December 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
14 Dec 2017
So pleased you enjoyed your stay Carmen, delighted to have you back any time!
Many thanks
Andy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buttonm
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A lovely base”
Reviewed 7 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A lovely little base to explore the area from. You'll get an email the day before with details to access the cottage which unfortunately I missed in the rush to get ready and a frantic phone call to the owner as we arrived after a delayed 7 hour drive here was promptly returned by the owner and all was well, so check your emails! If you want amazing views from your holiday accommodation this probably isn't the place for you, looking out of the velux windows there's some nice views of the hills and again on the decking area but we wanted a base to come back to at the end of the day and wander to the pub/ shop without driving and that'd be cosy if we just wanted to stay in- so it's exactly that. The cottage is over 3 levels and has everything you need, lots of towels, hairdryer (gets a bit hot so be careful) which is good and it's handy having a washing machine. The log burner makes the lounge lovely and cosy. You can buy extra fuel from the village. There is wifi and lots of useful leaflets to plan days out/ walks. The cottage is bright and airy(the velux windows are lovely) and the space is cleverly used and perfect for us as a couple (and Kizzy the dog). Parking is on the street but on the opposite side of the road and no issue. The shower isn't particularly great (more of a drizzle than the powerful blast you'd appreciate after a day walking) and the mattress on the bed isn't particularly comfortable, neither is the futon one in the living area upstairs. The upstairs toilet is a great idea. If the owners sorted the shower/ mattresses out it'd be 5 stars for me as a great base. In terms of location, Aberfoyle is small but again has all you really need. If you want pub crawls/ lots of places to eat it's not for you as there's only one pub- but it's a great pub (the Forth Inn) with decent food (@£20for a steak and @£10 for a burger so more like restaurant prices) and they do a cracking full Scottish breakfast for @£7.00. Very friendly and very dog friendly. There's a great cafe for amazing cake/ lunches, a bistro/ bar (not been in yet) a chippy (nice) the butchers do lovely meat and pies and generally good grub, the Co op stocks all you'll likely need and is only 2 min walk away and doesn't shut until 10pm. Sadly the garden centre is closing down. There's the Wool centre for gifts etc. Amazing scenery can be found a brief drive up the road the cottage sits on, the 3 Lochs drive (one way road) is stunning, as is Loch Katrine and try The Lodge for coffee with a real view. Drive the other way away from the cottage past the village school towards Loch Lomond and the MacDonald Hotel, again, stunning views. All in all a brilliant location to explore a wonderful place from. We'll be back unless I win the lottery, in which case we're relocating!!

Date of stay: September 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
8 Sep 2017
Really delighted you enjoyed your stay - come back any time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.