We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (945)
Filter reviews
945 results
Traveller rating
650
200
57
22
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
650
200
57
22
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews courtyard room main building jockey club ayr racecourse race course wedding guests wedding meal lovely hotel first class wedding reception every member of staff hot chocolate dinner bed and breakfast huge bed little extras would highly recommend this hotel checking out
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 945 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my family found this gem of a hotel by chance on line under a list of places to visit while in Ayr on holiday in October
It couldn't be faulted from the 2nd we stepped through the door until we left we turned up with no booking for afternoon tea and were made very welcome from all the staff n the plc
The afternoon tea what out standing value for money from the choice of our sandwiches to the amazing cakes and the scones which were amazing. We loved it so much we had hoped to come back 2days later for the same and unfortunately down to our bad timing they had stoped serving but didn't stop us staying for dinner from the 2nd we sat down we were looked after very well
From the amuse-bouche to my amazing main course the trio of chicken to the beautiful cheesecake
We will definitely be back to stay and experience a few nights there to
If ur visiting Ary this is defo one the highlights to visit when you are here

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank RJ290105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WesternHouseHotelAyr, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear RJ290105

Many thanks for your 5-star review of Western House Hotel. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed every aspect of your stay and our food and service stole the show.

We hope to see you again in very near future.

Kind regards
Krzysztof

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Enjoyed an overnight here with my husband. The decor is warm, elegant & inviting. Our room was spacious, designed lovely & the bed was especially comfortable. In the morning my husband enjoyed the full cooked breakfast & the fact that the juices were poured into a normal sized glass compared to the shot glasses that are normally given in hotels. The only thing that could have made it better personally for me was having some vegetarian options for breakfast, I did enjoy my potato scones & beans etc but maybe a couple different options like toasted muffins with avocado & egg or something like that as it’s very limited for a vegetarian. Other than that it was a beautiful stay & I look forward to returning.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank BettyChilds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WesternHouseHotelAyr, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear BettyChilds

Many thanks for taking your time to share your 5-star review of Western House Hotel. We are delighted to know that you did enjoy your stay. I would like to clarify that we do offer the vegetarian options for breakfast on request, however moving forward we will include these on the breakfast menu to improve our guest's experience.

We are hoping to see you again in the very near future.

Kind regards
Krzysztof

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018

Went to the races stayed here and had a great time,young Johny looked after us well as did his boss the Irish guy sorry cant remember his name. food was good ,service was good ,hotel was good.all in all good stay
Shame breakfast wasn't Included in price.

Room tip: prefer main building
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markhay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WesternHouseHotelAyr, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2018

Dear markhay

Thank you on behal Johny and David for rating them so highly and sharing your 5 star review of Western House Hotel. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Krzysztof

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2018 via mobile

Great location for the races. Room really good and staff very helpful. Would highly recommend this hotel and hope to return very soon but next time travel by train as it's a long drive from Liverpool.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Trip37752478012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WesternHouseHotelAyr, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2018

Dear Cathy and Jeff

Thank you for sharing your 5 star review of Western House Hotel. We hope to see you again for the next Racing.

Kind regards
Krzysztof

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2018 via mobile

Where do I start

What a fantastic venue to choose for a wedding
The hotel is set in the grounds of Ayr Racecourse with the honeymoon suite looking over the final furlong and winning post

The bedroom that I had was located within the main hotel although there are further rooms in the courtyard
My room was more like a suite than a room with a bathroom with a bath and walk in shower,the bathroom was massive

The food at this hotel is as good as I have tasted although we were there for a wedding there certainly wasn’t any let up on the food quality or quantity

Staff are very pleasant and helpful and attend to your every need

Bar prices which are always a talking point in hotels are very fairly priced no dearer than a city centre pub which is very pleasing

Anyone who is planning a wedding and is looking for a venue look no further than the western house hotel

Would I stay in this hotel again ?

Most definitely look forward to seeing you soon

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Roving56392736862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WesternHouseHotelAyr, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2018

Dear Roving56392736862

Thank you for your detailed 5 star review of Western House Hotel. We are delighted to know that you have had such an amazing time while staying with us for Gillys Wedding. We hope to see you again very soon.

Kind regards
Krzysztof

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews