We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The White House

Where amazing views, begin.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Where amazing views, begin.
Elegant and calming reception area. The Study, somewhere to relax or plan your day?
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
71 reviews
Where amazing views, begin.
Elegant and calming reception area.
The Study, somewhere to relax or plan your day?
The lounge, somewhere to chill out, and catch up on Tv.
The kitchen.
The downstair powder room.
The Landing.
The hallway.
The Culzean Suite.
The Culzean En Suite.
The Culzean En Suite.
The Rozelle Suite.
The Rozelle, En Suite.
The Aaron suite.
The Alloway
Fascinating Views
Footsteps from your doorstep.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Ayr, South Ayrshire, Ayrshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 71 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
rona c
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 15 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We had the most wonderful time here, the best ever holiday . The welcome we had from Margaret was so lovely....she has done the house beautiful, everything you need is there.its everything everyone has said but also much more.... Margaret is a very special lady Thank you so very much for your kindness ... We will be thinking of our happy times in your beautiful home for a very long time x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving the beautiful house
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kikic54
West Wickham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely fabulous”
Reviewed 4 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We couldn't have chosen better for our week's stay in Ayrshire with family. The house is beautifully appointed throughout and the owner, Margaret, simply could not have been more welcoming and helfpul. The Scots are known for their warm hospitality, but the hospitality crown must surely go to Margaret. We spent a totally relaxing week here in August, and can't wait to go back next year. It's in a great location, very close to the centre of Ayr, peaceful and with an excellent pub/restaurant just a short drive away. The house is so spacious that there is plenty of room to spread out if in a large group. No queues for loos or showers either with so many ensuites! And the kitchen was a cook's dream, with pots/pans/cutlery and appliances galore. Just the best holiday home ever!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everthing
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wendy b
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The house was pristine, beautifully presented, very comfortable and child friendly. ( we had five children in our group aged between 18 months to13 years).
It was my nephews 13th birthday the day we arrived and Margaret had decorated the house with balloons and banners themed around his favourite football team. As well as making us her world famous pavlova she also made a special one for him and gave him a birthday card with money inside. He was delighted!
Margaret had put chocolates in every bedroom and left enough breakfast to last us several days, the larder was well stocked with a selection of tea's coffee etc.
It was lovely to have the space to eat together, watch movies and generally chill out.
The garden caught the sun most of the day we even had a BBQ one evening.
The house is well placed for public transport with the local bus running to Ayr every 20 minutes.
We all had a fabulous time at the White house and would highly recommend it. Margaret thank you for providing us with a five star service.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size and location of the house
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene B
1 review
“Fabulous house”
Reviewed 11 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

I booked this house for my mother-in-laws 80th birthday and from the moment she walked through the door she loved it. The house is beautifully decorated and has everything you could want. Margaret goes that extra mile to make your stay memorable. There were birthday banners and balloons and the table was set with candles and balloons and even a card and present. There were ice buckets with a bottle of bubbly and beer. The fridge was stocked with everything you would need for a cooked breakfast and Margaret had made a pavlova in the shape of 80 with candles. Each bedroom had a box of chocolates and beautiful roses were in my mother-in-laws room. I cannot recommend this house highly enough. We loved it!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry T
Ontario, Canada
1 review
“The best rental ever! Amazing!”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My husband and I went to Scotland for my nephews wedding with family and we all stayed here at Margaret's house! The White House was amazing and so was our stay and the reason was because of Margaret...she was beyond helpful, she was like a Mom away from home❤️. The house was immaculate, fridge stocked and her help was at our fingertips if needed. Margaret went above and beyond with our family with her help while staying at the White House!
It made our stay in Scotland so enjoyable, we miss you Margaret and hopeful some day our paths will cross again...maybe in Canada next time! ❤️

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Margaret
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$614
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing