We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply the best”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The White House

Where amazing views, begin.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Where amazing views, begin.
Elegant and calming reception area. The Study, somewhere to relax or plan your day?
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
71 reviews
Where amazing views, begin.
Elegant and calming reception area.
The Study, somewhere to relax or plan your day?
The lounge, somewhere to chill out, and catch up on Tv.
The kitchen.
The downstair powder room.
The Landing.
The hallway.
The Culzean Suite.
The Culzean En Suite.
The Culzean En Suite.
The Rozelle Suite.
The Rozelle, En Suite.
The Aaron suite.
The Alloway
Fascinating Views
Footsteps from your doorstep.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Ayr, South Ayrshire, Ayrshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 71 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Juan R
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
“Simply the best”
Reviewed 7 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We were a group of 8 Spanish golfers who stayed at The White House for a week. The house had everything we needed and Margaret, the owner, looked after us magnificently. She had the house stocked with all the basics and greated us with several goodies.
The house is very well situated and is about a 20 minute drive to some great links golf courses.
We have been doing these trips for several years and it is one of the best houses we have stayed in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redapple1...
Glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“AMAZING!!!”
Reviewed 17 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Went to The White House with 12 friends to celebrate my 50th birthday and what a fantastic birthday I had. The house is amazing the photos on the website don't do it justice. It is spotlessly clean, the beds are so comfortable and the property is decorated to the highest standard you won't be disappointed!! The attention to detail is magnificent everything has been thought of to make your stay perfect. The house was decorate with balloons and banners there was bubbly on ice and a 50th pavlova. The table was beautifully set and there was everything in the fridge for a full Scottish breakfast for all of us. Margaret greeted us when we arrived and gave us a tour of the house and told us to get in touch if their was anything we needed during our stay she is one very special lady nothing is too much trouble. We will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: No complaints
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehous...
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 15 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

In the White House writing this review and cannot begin to describe how marvellous this place is...so much so I don't want to leave tomorrow! Everything you can think of has been made available for your stay. The kitchen is fully stocked with every conceivable gadget...with a fridge stocked with essentials for a hearty breakfast! I could go on and on and on but you need to try this place for yourself...you will not be disappointed!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loux87x
1 review
“Amazing - book it!”
Reviewed 2 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We just recently stayed at the White House on the 20th - 22nd of feb 2015 for my dads 70th birthday. There were 11 adults, 2 children and one infant. It was quite genuinely one of the best weekends we have ever had. Just like many others have said Margaret's welcome was so warm and caring you thought you'd known her for years. The house was spectacular with each room just as good as the next. Within a few hours of being there we felt like we were at home - undoubtedly due to the kindness and welcome from Margaret. She goes above and beyond for her guests, putting up party banners and balloons, setting a beautiful table, providing beer and champagne, giving us breakfast that would feed a small army, baking the most beautiful pavlova and chocs in each room...! She even gave my dad a present for his birthday - Truly amazing! We can't thank you enough Margaret and we can't wait to get back. We had such a special time for dads birthday and made great memories that we can cherish. If anyone is thinking of booking this house then do it, you will not regret it! Margaret, Thank you so much again, we will definitely be back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Birthday weekend”
Reviewed 10 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

First visit to this house......it will certainly not be the last.....this is most probably the best self catering house I have ever stayed in. The comfort, ambience decor and exquisite attention to detail makes this one very special house. Well done to Margaret the owner.
Great walks on your doorstep, the hollybush inn but you really don't want to go out, the house is just so comfortable and welcoming.
Love it, love it, love it.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The furnishings and size of each room
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$615
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing