We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“One of the best holidays we have ever had”
other travellers have booked this property
Looking at the front of Squirrel Cottage from the garden.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Looking at the front of Squirrel Cottage from the garden.
Red Squirrels are frequent visitors to the squirrel feeders around Squirrel Cottage. Squirrel Cottage living room with a wood pellet fire for instant heat.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
Looking at the front of Squirrel Cottage from the garden.
Red Squirrels are frequent visitors to the squirrel feeders around Squirrel Cottage.
Squirrel Cottage living room with a wood pellet fire for instant heat.
The bedroom is large and the bed can be made up as a kingsize double or twin beds.
Squirrel Cottage kitchen is well equiped with all the washing powders and soaps provided.
The large sunroom has windows on three sides, two relaxing chairs, a large table, various puzzles ..
One of several bird feeders aroung Squirrel Cottage. Here long Tailed Tits enjoying the peanuts.
Roe deer are seen in and around Squirrel Cottage. More often late winter and early spring.
A young red squirrel squeezing in to get black sunflower seeds, outside Squirrel Cottage bedroom.
Winter at Squirrel Cottage, with full central heating and insulation its is a good time of the year
Autumn at Squirrel Cottage, this photo was taken mid October.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
alan s
Cheshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“One of the best holidays we have ever had”
Reviewed 22 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

2 hrs after arriving our first of 3 sightings of a pine marten. Kathleen & James the perfect hosts. Didn't want to leave the cottage as it was so welcoming and relaxing. Local area good for walks and wildlife. Pitlochry perfect local town to visit. Re-booked straight away for next year. Counting the days until we return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: wildlife
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2015
Thank you very much for sharing your experience of staying at Squirrel Cottage - I now tell all our guests of your shear determination to see the pine marten, as we are sure they make regular visits to the squirrel feeders. Like all wild life watching one has to be persistent and you both certainly were - and you were rewarded. We are very much looking forward to your return next year. Best wishes Kathleen and James
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelenCatt...
Gobowen
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The MOST FANTASTIC holiday.”
Reviewed 8 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Just left Squirrel Cottage on 6 June. Not only were there red squirrels in abundance but woodpeckers seen regularly. As for the accommodation....perfect. Lots of little touches to make it feel 'home from home'. James and Kathleen on hand for advice if required but would leave you in peace if that's what you want.
Has to be the best self-catering cottage we have been to, both for location as well as quality. Have already booked again for next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The relaxing atmosphere created.
Liked least: Leaving!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2015
Thank you very much for the fantastic review, we are really pleased the red Squirrels appeared in abundance and loved all your hazel nuts - the hazels nuts are definitely what red squirrels are addicted to! The red squirrels are becoming less timid with this week guest's reporting how friendly the red squirrels are. Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with everyone and look forward to welcoming you back next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley12...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Red squirrels”
Reviewed 1 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Red squirrels everywhere in the garden and lots of bird feeders.
My parents stayed here for a week and thoroughly enjoyed their stay.The cottage was fantastic with nice little touches (sweets) left for the guests
The owners were most friendly and helpful and would recommend this rental to anyone

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Garden views
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know your parents enjoyed their stay at Squirrel Cottage - we thoroughly enjoyed having them to stay they are a lovely couple and so pleased they enjoyed themselves. Yes and lots of Squirrels about too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beall53
Lincoln
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wildlife Lovers Haven”
Reviewed 16 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed at Squirrel Cottage on 25th Apr for a week & were very impressed with the quality of the cottage, the views & setting, the great hospitality of the owners James & Kathleen, as well as the amount & variety of wildlife we saw. There were lots of extras at the cottage for guests use, a bat detector, wildlife camera trap, a little putting course in the garden, plus a few groceries & toiletries to name but a few of the pleasant surprises offered by our hosts. James & Kathleen are on hand if you need them but give you the privacy you need as well. We were very lucky in that we saw the beautiful red squirrels every day & caught a little footage of a pine marten on the camera trap, there are too many bird species for me to name but if you love wildlife, peace & tranquillity this is the place for a terrific holiday. Thanks for a great break from the rat race & having booked again for next year speaks volumes about what we think of this special place.
Michelle & Ian.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2015
Michelle and Ian - thank you very much for sharing your experience at Squirrel Cottage, it was a real privilege having you to stay and enjoy all the wildlife, something we also get a massive amount of pleasure from too. Yes the camera trap, is new and its is another way of capturing the wild life, especially those elusive pine marten. The great thing as you know, is the camera trap allows one to see what happens at night around various food deposits left out for the night creatures. Best wishes and we look forward to welcoming you back. Kathleen and James
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart A
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nuts About Squirrel Cottage”
Reviewed 16 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

My wife and I enjoyed a terrific stay at Squirrel Cottage in February thanks to the abundance of wildlife that could be seen so readily from the windows, the comfort and warmth of the cottage, the many local attractions to visit and the wonderful welcome and hospitality of the property's owners, Kathleen and James.
If you are keen on wildlife photography or simply on watching wildlife with the minimum of effort then Squirrel Cottage is just the place for you to stay for a while. Thanks to the cottage's "magic" bedroom window you can lie in bed and watch the wildlife just feet away from you while they are not aware of your presence due to the special film over the window. What a simple but ingenious idea !
Drive or walk the beautiful Perthshire countryside, eat at the many and various excellent hotels or restaurants in the vicinity, visit the Pitlochry Theatre or one of the many visitor attractions nearby( in season) and come home to the comfort of Squirrel Cottage and to the delights of its garden and accommodation.
Kathleen and James are the most delightful hosts. They are always on hand to help, advise and share their engaging personalities but would never interfere, only lend support.
Go and enjoy Squirrel Cottage and its magic window and surrounds.It's very special.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wildlife
Liked least: Being there in the dreichness of February
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Feb 2015
Thank you very much for your fantastic comments giving an insight in to your experience of staying at Squirrel Cottage, the wildlife and the area. The couple who are currently staying in Squirrel Cottage have brought their wild life camera trap plus the loan of our own camera trap, I am delighted to report that they have been able to capture the pine-marten marking their territory around the cottage at night - a real first! What we enjoy so much, is the added dimension all our guests bring while staying, as each adds their own unique perspective to the Squirrel Cottage experience. Thank you very much for giving your time to sharing your stay. Kathleen and James.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing