We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quiet countryside base”
other travellers have booked this property
Looking at the front of Squirrel Cottage from the garden.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Looking at the front of Squirrel Cottage from the garden.
Red Squirrels are frequent visitors to the squirrel feeders around Squirrel Cottage. Squirrel Cottage living room with a wood pellet fire for instant heat.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
Looking at the front of Squirrel Cottage from the garden.
Red Squirrels are frequent visitors to the squirrel feeders around Squirrel Cottage.
Squirrel Cottage living room with a wood pellet fire for instant heat.
The bedroom is large and the bed can be made up as a kingsize double or twin beds.
Squirrel Cottage kitchen is well equiped with all the washing powders and soaps provided.
The large sunroom has windows on three sides, two relaxing chairs, a large table, various puzzles ..
One of several bird feeders aroung Squirrel Cottage. Here long Tailed Tits enjoying the peanuts.
Roe deer are seen in and around Squirrel Cottage. More often late winter and early spring.
A young red squirrel squeezing in to get black sunflower seeds, outside Squirrel Cottage bedroom.
Winter at Squirrel Cottage, with full central heating and insulation its is a good time of the year
Autumn at Squirrel Cottage, this photo was taken mid October.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Callum M
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet countryside base”
Reviewed 26 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

This cottage was the perfect base for an outdoors weekend away in the Highlands. Kathleen and James were very welcoming and flexible with checking in & out.

The cottage itself was incredibly well stocked and had everything you could possibly need, including an extensive larder.

Would definitely stay again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Dec 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are both really pleased it worked out well for you and would love to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil P
Martlesham, null, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect stay in perfect cottage”
Reviewed 5 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This was our 4th stay at Squirrel Cottage and once again it didn't disappoint. James and Kathleen are perfect hosts with a fantastic knowledge of local events, sites and the wildlife. The cottage itself is very well equipped with many nice homely touches and always clean and welcoming. We were lucky enough to see red squirrel most days and a pine marten visited although we did not see it in person, but saw the evidence on James's ingenious video camera. There were birds to numerous to mention at all of the well placed feeders.
The cottage is perfectly located to visit many of the local attractions and indeed even the Ryder Cup whilst we were there! Looking forward to our return visit already

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kindness & knowledge of the hosts
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2014
Thank you very much for your review, it is always an honour having you both to stay at Squirrel Cottage. We hope our Pine Martin project successfully attracts the Pine Martens each night so you will be able to see them in person when you visit again in July (you can keep up to date through the Face Book page).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth T
Barton-upon-Humber, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very hard to leave, can't wait to return.”
Reviewed 10 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

It is a difficult thing, writing a review for Squirrel Cottage; difficult for two major reasons. Firstly, all the glowing reports below this one say everything already – it really is a wonderful place to stay. Secondly, and far more selfishly, if everyone knew JUST HOW GOOD IT IS, then it would be fully booked up, all the time!

This was our first stay at Squirrel Cottage and the only reason we have yet to book our second is down to waiting for the date of a dance competition in Blackpool. As soon as we know this, we’ll definitely book again – and neither of us can wait to return.

Growing up in Orkney Alex passed through Killiecrankie many times and, from a young age, always wanted to return to spend some time there. I live in Lincolnshire and Alex lives in Caithness so Pitlochry is roughly halfway between these two points on the rail network (time-wise). We searched for somewhere to stay near Pitlochry and decided to choose Squirrel Cottage – based on the location and also on the aforementioned glowing reviews. We were not disappointed.

Although the hours of daylight are more limited in January we still managed to fit lots into our week. Dark evenings in a warm cosy cottage are no hardship! Choosing to leave my car at home we used a local taxi firm to get to Squirrel Cottage and the local bus to visit Pitlochry. Both were excellent, reasonably priced and the drivers very friendly and welcoming. This is an important point – if you are put off from staying at Squirrel Cottage due to travelling by public transport, don’t be. Pitlochry and Blair Atholl are also both within walking distance.

Simply put, the local wildlife is astounding. James and Kathleen have done a remarkable job attracting an array of birds and mammals to their garden. In total we saw thirty three different species around the cottage and the local area. We saw signs of more, such as badger tracks and latrines. The eponymous squirrels were in regular attendance (we definitely saw six different individuals) made all the more visible by the lack of leaves on the trees. We saw them every day and came back with many photos and videos, their antics a source of much delight. We also saw the fallow deer immediately outside the sunroom windows on more than one occasion.

James has put together some local walks and we did these and others. The detail and local knowledge on the laminated sheets made for enjoyable and informative walking – and this is a theme carried on throughout the cottage. There is a wealth of information in leaflets, magazines, identification books and more (not to mention all the music, videos, DVDs etc) and we could not possibly have read through everything in the time we had.

This leads on to the other contents and furnishings of Squirrel Cottage and, again, I am simply reiterating what others have already said. Neither of us has ever stayed anywhere which was so wondrously supplied. I will pick the kitchen out for a special mention, it is a real pleasure to cook in and I cannot think of anything I would add to the quality or quantity of the contents.

James and Kathleen (as others have said already) do not impose themselves; instead they strike just the right balance, treating us like welcome guests and, simply put, we knew they were there if we needed anything at all. James even drove us to the railway station when it was (sadly) time to go.

We did not want to leave and cannot wait to stay in Squirrel Cottage again. I think this is perhaps the greatest proof of how much we (and others) love the place – visitors come back, again and again, and we intend to do likewise.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Impossible to choose
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Mar 2014
Just spotted this, another really fabulous review. Thank you so much. Thank you for highlighting that Squirrel cottage and the area is a great place to stay, even in the depths of winter, with 33 different species of birds and animals spotted and lots of good walks. It was a real pleasure having you both to stay in Squirrel Cottage and yes we very much see you as our guests. Your write up on the Scottish Wild Cat was a real delight to read and we have shared it with the Cairngorm National Park authority, as they try to establish all locations of the species.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_G525
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A gem”
Reviewed 15 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We agree with all the positive comments from previous reviewers. James and Kathleen treat you as guests rather than just visitors, and are available and willing to offer as much advice and help as you need, but without being at all intrusive. (Ask James about his family's connections to India). Squirrel Cottage is an annexe of their house with a shared drive but it is totally private, with views over the garden from the sun lounge and with the burn tumbling down the glen beside the house. The cottage is extremely well equipped (at our suggestion Kathleen has even just supplied an egg pricker to stop your boiled eggs cracking!!), very comfortably furnished, and was warm and cosy (in mid-January). Feeders are strategically placed by windows to attract the local wildlife, and we saw red squirrels, great spotted woodpeckers, siskins, long-tailed tits, bramblings, pheasants and a multitude of the more common garden birds while drinking our morning tea in bed! In the evening we saw the fallow deer that comes to garden each evening for the food provided for her.

You can access several local walks from the cottage, and the surrounding area has as much walking (on the flat or up hills {mountains}) and mountain biking as you could wish for. Pitlochry, with shops of all types and a good supermarket, is 5 minutes away by car.

This was our first visit to Squirrel Cottage, but it will certainly not be our last. We consider this to be the best self catering establishment we have stayed in, and we have stayed in many. My wife advises me not to make this review too glowing as she wants to keep this gem a secret!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and warm welcome
Liked least: No adverse comments
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jan 2014
Thank you very much for this review, we are really pleased you found that Squirrel Cottage lived up to your expectations. Yes we do see visitors to Squirrel Cottage as guests, who are paying to have a holiday and do try and make sure they have just that. We are very fortunate by the abundance of wildlife that surrounds Squirrel Cottage, which brings so much pleasure to us and the guests at Squirrel Cottage. We look forward to welcoming you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian P
Aberfeldy, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb in every way”
Reviewed 2 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

First off James and Kathleen can not do enough for you. The cottage is so well laid out with extras you will not believe. We stayed over Hogmanay and till the 3rd January. The view from the bedroom is outstanding if you like watching birds, and from the front conservatory it doesn't disappoint either. Very clean, tidy and well looked after property.

Ian and Kirsty.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2014
Thank you very much, Ian and Kirsty, it was a real pleasure to have you to stay at Squirrel Cottage. It was great having you join all us locals in Killiecrankie Village for Hogmanay, too. Well done Kirsty for teaching the eightsome reel to a team who had never done it before! All adding to a great night to see the Old Year out and the New Year in.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$84
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing