We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Kirktoun Cottage

Gorgeous country cottage with lovely open views across fields and woodland
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gorgeous country cottage with lovely open views across fields and woodland
Bright sitting room with stunning views from picture window Cosy open fire in sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Gorgeous country cottage with lovely open views across fields and woodland
Bright sitting room with stunning views from picture window
Cosy open fire in sitting room
Fresh twin room
Twin room
Beautiful double room
Fresh double room
View from sitting room window across the fields to Duffus
Duffus Castle - great place to explore with the children or walk your dog
Findhorn Bay - beautiful
Covesea - stunning sandy beach only 5 minutes drive from Kirktoun
Kirktoun in the sunshine
Snowdrops signal Spring time at Duffus Estate
Misty morning over fields at Duffus
Duffus House - mansion house of Duffus Estate with carpet of daffodils in Spring
Burghead Bay - yet another stunning local beach just waiting to be explored
Garden from front door
Some local goodies that are part of the welcome basket
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Elgin, Moray, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Martin D
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Home from home”
Reviewed 22 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Our stay at Kirktoun Cottage was all that we had hoped for. It is a very cosy and welcoming cottage and just feels right from the moment you enter. The kitchen, lounge and dining rooms are all good sizes and the two bedrooms are spacious.
The cottage is wonderfully located and it was a delight returning to somewhere so comfortable after a day exploring the beautiful Moray countryside and coastline.
If you wish to self-cater it has everything needed, but if you want to treat yourself you can easily walk a stone's throw away to the Duffus Inn that provides lovely meals.
Should the cottage be available we'll certainly stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2016
Hello, thanks for leaving us a review. It was lovely to welcome you and your family to our cottages. I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay in Kirktoun so much and will be delighted to welcome you back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin L
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Property”
Reviewed 14 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This is a fantastic property, very well equipped and large with a huge garden. I loved the fact that logs were left for the wood burner and this made for a very cozy evening in with a few drinks. There is a small shop about 200 meters away which has all of the basic essentials. I cannot recommend this property highly enough and will definitely book again.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave Kirktoun Cottage a review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay. We always like to leave a complimentary basket of logs so our guests can enjoy the fire. We will be delighted to welcome you back to Kirktoun Cottage in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah B
Dorking
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“SIMPLY...FANTASTIC”
Reviewed 13 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our third visit...so I wondered whether I should write again - and I probably would not have done so. Had I not visited another local 'cottage rental' - and it is true, the camera does lie. I won't detail the nightmare I visited, but I will urge you to please, as they say, take some free advice. If you are looking for 2-4 bed accommodation between Elgin & the Moray Firth look no further than Kirktoun. If you like cosy, snug, CLEAN, fresh, fantastically equipped, bright, airy, quiet accommodation with thoughtful touches (logs, home-made eggs, welcome provisions etc), helpful hints, comfortable beds and being made to feel truly welcome....this is the cottage for you. I have booked three further visits to Kirktoun over the following 12 months - I am not prepared to risk having to find somewhere inferior. Because everything else is.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness, welcome pack, comfort.
Liked least: Absolutely nothing.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Feb 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We work very hard to try and ensure all our properties live up to our guest's expectations and beyond. We look forward to welcoming you back later this year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
14alexpar...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great cottage, lovely setting and well equipped”
Reviewed 6 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We were very comfortable from the time we arrived, loved the free range eggs! Bedrooms were nicely decorated. It is in a rural location but walking distance to the nearest pub with food.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Oct 2015
Thanks very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Kirktoun Cottage. We really appreciate it. We were pleased to hear that the Duffus Inn (the local pub) has itself received a Trip Advisor Award of Excellence making it well worth the short 5 minute walk from the property for a meal.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guy H
Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Good bed”
Reviewed 15 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The house suited us well. The bed was comfy, often a weakness in rentals. It was handy for the dog. We enjoyed a beer in the pub. It was a golf week so th location was important for us. Owner friendly. I'd go again if I was up that way

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bed
Liked least: TV reception could be flaky
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2015
Thanks for writing us a review. I am really pleased Kirktoun Cottage was a good base for your golfing trip. We would be delighted to welcome you all back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$98
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing