We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Couldn't Have Been Better”
other travellers have booked this property
'The Bothy' - peace and quiet
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
'The Bothy' - peace and quiet
The original 'Wester Marchhead' built circa 1800 Main room - so cosy!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
75 reviews
'The Bothy' - peace and quiet
The original 'Wester Marchhead' built circa 1800
Main room - so cosy!
The view from The Bothy garden looking North
Lossiemouth West Beach - not another soul in sight!
Spring Rhododendron
Kitchenette
The bathroom
With shower
View from kitchenette into main room
The Bothy's stunning view of the Mosstowie Valley
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Elgin, Moray, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 75 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Ruby0108
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Couldn't Have Been Better”
Reviewed 14 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

An absolutely lovely spot and wonderful accommodation. Fiona was fantastically accommodating of the late arrival and had left everything ready. Perfect for the short time that we had, but would have stayed longer. Will definitely be back again. Thank you once again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Dec 2014
I'm so glad that you had a good weekend with us. It was a pleasure to meet you and I'm thrilled that you will be back - I will look forward very much to welcoming you again! Merry Xmas and all the very best for 2015! Kind regards Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
turktrace
coaltown of wemyss . fife
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A wee gem”
Reviewed 28 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

As above , a wee gem of a place !!
Loved it , 5minutes from Elgin and the area itself directly around this bothy is so gorgeous .
Everything in the bothy is at hand and available , Fiona was lovely and gave us a warm welcome.
The bed was so comfy and main room in bothy spacious and warm .
We will most certainly be back and use again . Only issue we had was that we didn't stay longer .
Loved it !!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The area and comfy bed
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2014
What a lovely review! Thank you! I'm delighted that you loved it and our location. I shall look forward very much to welcoming you both again, hopefully in the not too distant future! With kind regards Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
115tennen...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Peaceful and Relaxing”
Reviewed 27 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

The "Bothy" is such a Peaceful place to stay....On our arrival Fiona made us feel very welcome.The cottage is lovely and cosy and very clean and comfortable, Especially the memory foam mattress on the bed . Lovely place to visit and plenty to do.
Anything about the area you need to find out about. nothing is to much trouble for Fiona ,She was more than happy to inform us .

Highly recommended and will be back again sometime.

Ps.Especially for the Pear tree .Yum Yum

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2014
Thank you for a lovely review. I'm thrilled to hear that you enjoyed staying in our Bothy and that you found everything you needed, including the pears! You are always very welcome and I look forward to seeing you both again, perhaps with your dogs next time! Kind regards Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnny277...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pleasant”
Reviewed 7 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Nice small Bothy, Fiona the owner very friendly nice woman,give it a go but it is small but clean and peacefull

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2014
Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review. It was lovely to meet you and thank you for choosing to stay with us. However The Bothy is advertised as suitable for 2 adults and perhaps a small child so I would always advise against 3 adults as it would be a bit of a squeeze! Many thanks again & kind regards Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peaandham...
1 review
“Ideal”
Reviewed 18 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Perfect for a couple or small family.
Ideal for my Wife, our Husky and I whilst on the Speyside Kiltwalk.
We stayed for two nights and felt very at ease there. Lovely location, lovely welcome.
Would definitely stay there again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and writing a lovely review. We're very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you felt so at ease in The Bothy. It was lovely to meet you both and of course, Mila! And we look forward to seeing you all again. With kind regards Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing