We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Hidden gem”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Drumduan Mill

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Watermill -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Nairn, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Vincent S
2 reviews
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed 4 September 2018 for a stay in April 2018

The Mill is an enchantment. After having stayed there, our vacation in Scotland turned into something we'll never forget. Roger is a fantastic lad, and - as you can expect from an antique dealer - made this place unique and cosy.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2018
Thankyou Vincent, so happy you enjoyed your stay.Come back soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rik H
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A true Treasure”
Reviewed 24 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

This outstanding mill was a real pleasure to stay in; it is in the perfect location for everything! Just half a mile from the highway so no noise but super convenient! I was blow away by how clean it was, the bathrooms looked as if it had just been installed, and the kitchen was spotless, I can’t even keep my place this clean. Lots of rabbits and other wildlife around the cottage made you feel like you were isolated but still close to what you need. We had perfect weather for our week, which helped add to the experience as we could use the outside facilities as well. I strongly recommend you try this cottage, it is charming and feels like a historical piece of Scotland, you will want to come back again and again, I know we will. Roger was a great host, don't forget to visit his amazing shop as well!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue M
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delightfully rustic converted grain mill!”
Reviewed 12 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

A sympathetically converted rural property surrounded by lovely countryside. Owners Roger and Vicky are wonderfully friendly and obliging, with Roger even going out of his way to make a really creative fire pit for the mill when we said we loved sitting out in the evening! Although the mill is comfortable and gloriously peaceful, regular visitors include a grumpy pheasant, nosy cows, engaging rabbits and bats at twilight! Nearby is the lovely town of Nairn, which has bags of character and beautiful beaches and sand dunes. There are loads of other characterful towns, villages, shops and restaurants within easy driving distance. The Dores Inn on the banks of Loch Ness is a must, but make sure that you book a table in advance. Whilst there, you can visit the famous Steve Feltham, Nessie Hunter, just around the corner from the Inn - no guarantee that you'll see the lady herself, though!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2018
Thanks for your review,really pleased that you enjoyed your stayand managed to explore the area.Is there anything that you can suggest that would be able to do in the future to transform a 4 star rating into a 5 star?We are always looking to make improvements to enhance guests experience.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MightyMis...
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fairytale”
Reviewed 2 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

I don't really want to write this review as I want to keep the place all to myself. It is the perfect retreat and I unwound as soon as I got there. Had I slipped into another dimension? It felt like it. It is so peaceful and everything is beautiful, cosy and relaxing. That bath is the biggest I've ever seen! There is everything you could need, even hot water bottles (not that you'll need then as the mill is lovely and warm).
The mill nestles in peaceful farmland but is convenient for attractions and the town. Sainsbury's is five minutes away but you'd never guess. The most amazing beach is an easy, short drive away.
Roger, the owner, is friendly and helpful, as is the lady next door who lent us her walking map.
I'd love to stay here again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 May 2018
Thanks so much for your review. We're really glad you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully you'll come and stay again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrsFieldW...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 16 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We have stayed here several times and love it! The Mill is perfectly located for a Highland holiday. Our favourite day trips include Culbin Sands, Findhorn, Cromarty Firth. The Mill is IMMACULATELY clean with ample extra bedding, towels, and plentiful hot water and firewood for the wood burning stove. We love antique and quirky furniture, and the Mill will be a delight to first time and returning customers. We have holidayed as a family, but equally The Mill would be a romantic location for couples seeking solitude. There are books, games, DVDs, Wi-Fi....and a glorious pheasant who visits daily! Can not recommend enough. Roger is very amenable and friendly and happy to help with any queries.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 May 2018
Thankyou for your review and great to hear you enjoyed your stay.Hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing