We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The ideal scottish cottage experience”
other travellers have booked this property
Rowan Cottage
Your Highland Hideaway!
Charming timber cottage for 4 near Loch Ness.  Dogs welcome.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rowan Cottage
Your Highland Hideaway!
Charming timber cottage for 4 near Loch Ness.  Dogs welcome.
Rowan Cottage Rowan Cottage in the 1930's. Great Uncle, Father and other relatives enjoy the sunshine!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Rowan Cottage
Your Highland Hideaway!
Charming timber cottage for 4 near Loch Ness.  Dogs welcome.
Rowan Cottage
Rowan Cottage in the 1930's. Great Uncle, Father and other relatives enjoy the sunshine!
Part of the garden at Rowan Cottage
Sitting room
Sittling room
Sunroom
Dogs welcome!
Double bedroom
Relax....
Winter wonderland
Rowan Cottage in Spring
Fun in Loch Ness!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Loch Ness, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sarah C
1 review
“The ideal scottish cottage experience”
Reviewed 14 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed in Rowan Cottage for 3 nights and had a wonderful time. We used the cottage as a base to explore the surrounding area and took day trips to near-by Loch Ness and Inverness before traveling on through the highlands.
We were welcomed to the cottage by waiting treats (shortbread, a dram and some snacks for our canine companion) and enjoyed cosy evenings in watching some TV, movies from the DVD selection available, playing boardgames and reading a book on Scottish history that was to hand.
The grounds were perfect for exercising our dog and he loved bounding through the heather.
Additionally the kitchen came complete with everything you'd need for your stay and we were able to prepare all our meals with the utmost convenience.
The owners were lovely and very generous in providing folders of local information for hikes, drives, tours etc and ensuring our stay was as comfortable as possible.
And, a final bit of praise, the bath and shower were both excellent!
Rowan Cottage couldn't come more highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Waking up to stunning views and utter tranquility
Liked least: I nearly lost a trainer to a hidden bog near the back of the land - explore with wellies!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
64Shelley...
Wantage, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect hide away”
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

An amazing place to stay. The home comforts and wonderful welcome gifts made it memorable. We were lucky with the weather and enjoyed the changing scenery. The owner is very knowledgeable and informative about the area. A joy to have stayed there. My only problem is it is too far to pop back to.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was modern but had it's unique history still.
Liked least: Lack of wildlife - we were just unlucky
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purplewol...
1 review
“A perfect getaway”
Reviewed 27 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Rowan cottage was absolutely fantastic. Amazing location, charming log cabin and incredible 'garden'. Everything needed was there and more. Loads of brochures and info on area meant we had plenty to do. There was a nice welcome of drinks and snacks and the owners were incredibly helpful. We didn't have the best weather and yet loved every second of our holiday. The cottage was a fantastic place to go back to after a day's exploring this amazing area. Thank you xx

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
509christ...
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous”
Reviewed 22 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a super week exploring the region from this lovely little house.
Well equiped and made to feel very welcome.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra E
1 review
“A truly magical and peaceful place ...”
Reviewed 13 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

If you are looking for the ideal hideaway, an escape from "the norm", Rowan Cottage is it. The moment you walk in you feel immediately at home. The owner is truly lovely and welcoming, as are the locals. The view is spectacular and a haven for hikers, dog walkers. Our dogs had a ball! Our only regret is that we could not stay longer and explore a little bit more. The surrounding area and wildlife was a real treat to see and we left feeling very warm hearted. We hope to return there again some day ...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Both the location itself and the cottage
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing