We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“First class accommodation in wonderful location.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Pinewood

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Fort William, Lochaber, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice house - owner cannot be contacted - someone entered the house in our absence”
Reviewed 7 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This house is really OK (even nice), with a nice view on the lake,

But:

- The shower can hardly be used (almost no water).

- During the stay: no contact possible with the owner: mails are not answered.

- One day we were on a trip, and when we came home someone had controlled all our personnel things. Things were put on another place, and every room was "visited". A part of the wood we bought (for the fireplace) and stocked in the livingroom had disappeared.

We sent an alarming e-mail about this creepy experience to the owner, who didn't give any reaction.

We will never return.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frances D
Borders, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“First class accommodation in wonderful location.”
Reviewed 27 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The house is very spacious and well equipped. Ideally situated for a climb up Ben Nevis
or many other walks nearby. The gondola up Aanoch Mor was well worthwhile as I couldn't
do the climb.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Felt fully relaxed
Liked least: Shower - seemed to lack power
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2016
I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay here. As you put Aonoch Mor is ideal for everyone and has the most spectacular views. We hope to see you back again. Take care Anita
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
288ian
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
“Great place to stay over Christmas”
Reviewed 11 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We had an excellent stay at Pinewood over the Christmas period. The cottage is ideally placed for time spent in the snow at Glencoe or the Nevis range. The property is in an isolated area thus a car is essential. All facilities worked well and we loved the peace and quiet of the location.The owner provided us with a Christmas tree and firewood for a fire on Christmas day.The only negative was on arrival when we could not find any signage directing us to the cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Liked least: Trying to find the place
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2016
Many thanks for your lovely review. A new sign is in place now. Hopefully you will be returning. Take care
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daffoy
Immingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely location”
Reviewed 6 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Had a lovely time with family the cottage was very homely and comfortable, lots of places to see ,I would definitely go back

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: There was nothing I didn't like
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Nov 2015
Thank you for your lovely feedback. We hope to see you again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cate1405
Bo'ness, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Wonderful location”
Reviewed 21 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

One week here and left relaxed and ready to take on the world again. Beautiful location, views wonderful - as only in Scotland we had every season in one day - rain, sun, snow, hail,windy but end of week the sun was splitting the trees. The house is a great size with plenty of room for everyone. Comfotable beds and beautiful linen. Very quiet and the two dogs had great time exploring the canal and surrounding area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Kitchen
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Nov 2015
So pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing