We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Spacious, Pampered, practical & high-class...”
other travellers have booked this property
Keiss Harbour House, built in 1833.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Keiss Harbour House, built in 1833.
House and Harbour View of the house and harbour, looking across the sea
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Keiss Harbour House, built in 1833.
House and Harbour
View of the house and harbour, looking across the sea
House and Harbour
House and Harbour
House and Harbour
Great Room - soaring 6 metre ceiling with an open fire at one end, and a wood stove at the other.
Great Room - various comfortable areas to relax after exploring the beautiful Caithness coastline.
Wood stove in Great Room.
Great Room - dining table seats 14 or 16 comfortably. Child's high chair provided.
Open fire in Great Room.
Harbour views
Breakfast Room - relax by the open fire, or try a jigsaw overlooking the sea
Breakfast Room and stairs down to bedrooms on lower level (stair gate at top of stairs)
Front entrance
Open fire in Breakfast Room just off the kitchen
Kitchen with island seating for 5.
Enjoy cooking with friends and family while overlooking the magnificent sea views.
Well-equipped kitchen with two fridges, freezer, wine fridge, double oven, microwave, dishwasher
Downstairs corridor
Bedroom 1 (Kingsize bed)
Bedroom 2 (Kingsize bed and cot) with balcony.
Bedroom 3 (Kingsize bed) with balcony.
Bedroom 4 (Two single beds)
Bedroom 5 (Two sets of bunk beds, sleeps 4, suitable for adults).
Shower and Steam Room
Family bathroom - bath with handheld shower
A bath with a view!
Another view from the bath...
Main floor shower room
The Harbour
Dramatic nearby coastal cliffs
Keiss beach, 10 minutes walk from the house
Old Keiss Castle, 10 minutes walk from the house - you will pass ancient brochs and WWII pillboxes
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Wick, Caithness and Sutherland, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
DaveWill1...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Spacious, Pampered, practical & high-class accommodation for 2+ dogs”
Reviewed 3 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

As a well travelled visitor to Scotland's far flung places I was aware that a 10 day visit to Caithness in Oct was unlikely to be a stroll in the sun but more likely to provide more long lasting memorable moments/experiences. And so it was that after being blown North from Leeds for 9hrs by a SE'erly gale we made our dramatic arrival at our storm lashed venue with waves, spray & spume leaping over the harbour walls whilst the local's vessels lay snug in the inner sanctuary. For the next few days, from our sanctuary of Harbour House, we had a "Ring side seat" to see and feel the power of nature (A First.... seaweed on bedroom windows!!) whilst being able to retreat to the indoor luxuries so adequately described in previous reviews. From its situation next to the harbour it is clear that this was, & indeed, continues to be a very special building, in a special part of Britain..... maybe this contributes to one feeling, quickly, at one with the community..... from passing Hello's to the locals, to more lengthy chats with the man who caught the crabs, from the boat below the windows, that went into the sandwiches on sale in the village shop..... lovely. After the storm there was calm and an email enquiring about playing opportunities to the secretary of Wick Golf Club produced a prompt response which lead to an enjoyable round in the company of friendly locals who signed me in at guest rates, ...... bonus :-) From dog walks on the beach and woods to visiting the Orkneys to see buildings older than the pyramids at Scara Brae this area offers such diverse experiences/opportunities and all from, what can only be described as "An Iconic Property" Keiss Harbour House!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All inclusive, high-end luxury in a unique location
Liked least: Leaving:-(
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellice
Dundee
2 reviews
“Cosy, beautiful house with amazing view to the sea”
Reviewed 10 September 2013 for a stay in May 2013

10 of us stayed for two nights at the Harbour House. The property has a large, comfortable, freshly renovated cosy living room, which is perfect for socialising. The furniture are new, there are cards , board games and all the necessary tools provided, to let us forget that there were no internet connection.

The best part of the house is the layout of the rooms. All the bedrooms are located downstairs, separated from the social areas, keeping some peace for those who want to have some rest. We didn’t even feel that 10 of us were staying in the house, it was that huge.

The equipment of the kitchen is excellent. The size of the fridge is perfectly enough for storing plenty of food and the kitchen encourages the visitors to stay in and cook instead of going out.

The village itself it not that attractive, but Wick is close for shopping and most of the spectacles of this area easily accessible by car. The morning view from the harbour is priceless especially in clean weather.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Reasonable price for excellent service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anniemhb6...
East Linton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great place to stay to explore Caithness”
Reviewed 28 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Brilliant location easy access and fabulous views, we had elderly relatives with us who enjoyed the space in the house and the great vistas from all windows, the dog enjoyed the freedom of the quiet setting and the beach walks. The house was well equiped and made our stay in the area very comfortable indeed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Constant wind
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clachanba...
Wick
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ideal place for a get together! It was everything we wanted and more...”
Reviewed 19 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

My friends and I are just back from a weekend in Keiss Harbour House. We came here to celebrate my sister's hen weekend. It was just perfect! The Friday night we chilled out in the sitting room after getting some treatments done. It was bliss. A beautiful cosy fire, comfy sofa, large tv, an ipod doc and a huge table to all eat around.
On the Saturday night we invited people to the house for a party and everyone was so impressed! The steam room & the large bath are fab along with a nice shower room upstairs. The kitchen was fully equiped with everything you need as were the bedrooms/sitting room.
We will definitely be returning again. We are just vexed that it books up so quickly!!

Thanks again Keiss Harbour House!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size of the house
Liked least: That it's going to be hard to get booked in for a weekend again!!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Apr 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words, I'm delighted that you enjoyed your weekend in the house and that you all had a good time. I do hope that you are able to stay again some time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maceyfred
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place for a party”
Reviewed 5 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed here for an extended weekend for a family birthday. We were lucky with the weather, so we had some great walks and a bit of touring too. But the star of the holiday was the house. It was comfortable and warm, so if the weather hadn't been good it wouldn't have mattered. We had other friends join us and we had a brilliant party - so much room!! We could easily have cooked Sunday lunch but a short walk took us to the Sinclair Arms for a very reasonably priced meal, was well worth it! (Recommend booking).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being there
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Apr 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words, I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the house. Of course the weather always helps too. And I'm very glad you visited the local pub!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing