We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Outstanding property in great location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Craigie View

Front of house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of house
View from the house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
58 reviews
Front of house
View from the house
Living/dining room
Kitchen
Bathroom
Bathroom
Master bedroom
Bedroom 2- twin beds
Bedroom 3 - bunk beds
Front toilet
Front toilet
House, parking
Back garden
Master bedroom - patio doors to garden
Enclosed, private back garden
Patio
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
James D
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Outstanding property in great location”
Reviewed 5 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

For once, the property was actually far better than the website had indicated. The sitting room / dining room was comfortably large enough for 7 adults. Kitchen had decent oven, loads of pans, trays, utensils + microwave and more plates/mugs/glasses than we needed. Master bedroom is massive with loads of storage, and the bathroom was also a good size, with a decent shower.
We arrived just after xmas & stayed for a week, but for summer visitors there is a decent-sized backgarden with outdoor furniture, barbecue & great views over cairngorms.
There is a really convenient footpath to Aviemore centre - only 10 mins walk away. Hi-Fi came with 1.5mm jack for plugging in ipods etc, and there was a really large selection of DVDs. There were also some good maps for walking/mountain bikes, and books on other activities for the area. Best pub is the Old Bridge Inn - good atmosphere, beer & food.
This is the first time that I have left a review, which may indicate how highly I regard this property & would not hesitate to recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RUTHPAXTO...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“I cannot recommend Craigie View highly enough!”
Reviewed 28 December 2012 for a stay in December 2012

I visited Craigie View as a place to retreat for writing, and it was a totally ideal way to live for three weeks of calm isolation, with epic scenery surrounding. The convenient walk connecting the house to the centre of Aviemore (Tesco / Cafes / Pubs and Restaurants etc), is really very charming. The house itself is extremely cosy and relaxing to stay in. I felt secure and warm at all times. A brilliant modern bathroom.

I was there alone, however it is clear that the house can accommodate a family or groups of friends and still feel spacious and relaxing.

The owners of this house will go above and beyond, to ensure that your stay is a happy one. I highly reccommend this holiday rental if you are planning a visit to Aviemore.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gill h
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Our stay couldn't have been better”
Reviewed 17 October 2012 for a stay in August 2012

The house was easy to find and had everything we could have wanted for our stay. We had the best bbq ever on sat night while enjoying the wonderful views of the cairngorms from the peaceful garden. The bedrooms were all very comfortable and quiet. Everything in the house is to the highest standard and contact with the owners was easy and answered any question immediately. The amenities are excellent nearby and have everything you could need for a break in the highlands. We plan another break next year and recommend you do the same!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Arriving
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elliec98
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Ideal base for family holiday”
Reviewed 14 August 2012 for a stay in July 2011

We have stayed in this property a number of times now and have thoroughly enjoyed every visit. The bungalow is ideally situated a short walk from the town centre along a country foot/cycle path. It is very clean, warm and comfortably furnished with everything you could need - including games/DVD's and a visitor guide with tips on where to eat!

I adore this area, I've really grown to love it as there is so much to do. We've been cycling to Loch an Eilean, fishing at Rothiemurchus, ski-ing on Cairngorm. We've climbed hills and mountains, watched the ospreys at Loch Garten and we have even driven up to Chanonry Point a few times to watch the dolphins. It's a short drive from "Craigie View" to "Landmark" the outdoor adventure park which the kids loved.

We've still to try the kayaking/canoeing on Loch Morlich/Loch Insh and will definitely be back sometime. We wouldn't hesitate to book Craigie View again, it's an ideal base for a family adventure holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace & quiet and beautiful location
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rmm39
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect Rental”
Reviewed 2 August 2012 for a stay in April 2012

We had a weeks walking and sightseeing, basing ourselves at Craigie View. The house is extremely well appointed, good sized bedrooms and very warm and welcoming. Great location, easy walking distance to the town centre. Fantastic views of the mountains from both sides of the house. Looking forward to going again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing