We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (965)
Filter reviews
965 results
Traveller rating
351
416
141
27
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
351
416
141
27
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tartan theme kelvingrove museum city centre the main hotel street parking four poster bed west end glasgow university guest house single room within walking distance family room clean bathroom sauchiehall street small hotel breakfast was excellent porridge
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 965 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We booked this hotel for location to hydro it's was both located perfect to this and Glasgow main shopping the staff were lovely the room was clean warm and comfy overall a nice stay

A very located hotel in Glasgow

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArgyllHotel, Public Relations Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you William for your lovely review. We would love to see you back at the argyll hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Room was very large. We had reserved a room for 3 a adults and we received a room with a kingsize bed and two single beds with plenty of space in the room. You could easily have fitted two more beds.
The staff was very friendly and after we spent an hour trying to find a restaurant with an available table, the woman at the front desk told us about a local pub right and the corner, that didn't take reservations. We went there and the food was delicious, very fast serving and good prices.
Bathroom was average in size, a bit small.
The hotel is themed in the colors of clans of Scotland and each floor has a different set of colors, and the rooms are kept in the colors of the clan.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArgyllHotel, Public Relations Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you Michael,We are so glad you enjoyed our hotel decor, we are very proud of our scottish theme.Our staff are friendly they also have the best recommending the good spots in the city so we are glad you agree.We hope to see you back here soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a small hotel in a large old converted terraced house at the western end of Sauchiehall Street, next to Kelvingrove Park and the Kelvingrove Art Gallery, and a short walk from Glasgow University and the many bars and restaurants of Finnieston. From here, you could also walk to Charing Cross in 10-15 minutes.

The check-in was quick and friendly. The room was quite small and traditionally decorated with a lot of tartan. I usually prefer more modern hotels but this one has charm and was still very clean and functional with a relatively new shower room. There was a TV, kettle and wardrobe, and the free WiFi was good.

I didn't spend much time in the hotel on this visit, but the hot breakfast in the basement restaurant was good.

Overall a good choice for a short visit to the city. Not cheap but great location and didn't have any problems at all during the stay.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArgyllHotel, Public Relations Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your very informative review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our scottish theme hotel. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I booked this hotel for an overnight stay, it was very reasonably priced and was very clean and tidy.
The staff were very friendly and helpful
The breakfast was lovely, fresh and healthy.
I would highly recommend this hotel it is total value for money.

Room Tip: Nice coffee and tea making service in room
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 789NeilM789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArgyllHotel, Public Relations Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you Neil! We are very glad you enjoyed your stay here. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

On checking in we realised we had made a mistake but no more rooms were available round about SECC or else we would of checked out then realised this is why money is taken up front so you don’t leave. We were in room (box) 402 and on entry it was claustrophobic stuffy and paper coming off the walls it was so small as it had a sloping ceiling which at 5 ft 2 caused even me a problem the bathroom was nice enough although very small. Bed was tiny definetly not a standard double that’s for sure. Tv was size of laptop and wardrobe rattled as we walked across the tiny bit of floor space we had. I didn’t sleep a wink the whole night constant dripping sound that I could not detect it was driving me mad and at 8am the squeaks started which I can only presume was from someone working within the building. Breakfast was nice enough and staff were attentive. Won’t ever stay again as very run down and scruffy and certainly not worth 92 when crown plaza is only 25 more expensive huge beds and lovely decor sorry but it’s a no from us !

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Richard9675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArgyllHotel, Public Relations Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are very sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay at the Argyll Hotel. We are here 24h a day to help our guests if they have a problem. We could have moved you room if you weren’t happy, just ask it is not problem. We are glad you liked our decor. We sincerely apologise again and would love to see you back at the Argyle Hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews