We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Gilvenbank Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes(Glenrothes)(Great Value!)
US$77
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Acorn Hotel(Glenrothes)(Great Value!)
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Glenrothes(Glenrothes)(Great Value!)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$70
US$67
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balbirnie House(Markinch)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveller rating
45
43
21
16
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
45
43
21
16
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmother's daychilli dipyoung waitresstwo single bedssister's weddinghot buffetstarters and mainsfew occasionsnext morningblack puddingpiefamily roomfull scottish breakfastlovely foodwedding receptionincluded in the pricegreat value for money
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 138 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2018

I attended a Birthday Party on Saturday 6th January. The food & service were excellent especially as there was some 80 guests. The presentation, quality & taste of the food was so much better than I expected. The service was 1st class and couldn't have been better.
The one negative point was that there was a mix up with the room booking which was made on 7th August 2017 through Booking.com and we had to be taxied to & from Kirkcaldy to their sister hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017 via mobile

Very disappointed. UNFRIENDLY STAFF . Given wrong info regarding entertainment in bar area,when booking we asked what would be on and were informed something on every weekend in December . However on night No entertainment even though we asked again the Tuesday before visit to be told would be a singer on. Asking waitress when she served us meals she also said would be something on later?

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017 via mobile

I visited the hotel on business again last week over 2 days. On both days our group had lunch. Food could not be faulted and staff were helpful and pleasant on this occasion. 18 of us and no complaints about food or drinks. We will return.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank maureen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed in room where the charge was £ 70pn ..the furniture in the room was old and weary and worn ..Lack of information booklet in room ..One pillow,asked for an extra pillow,but it never appeared.
Won't be returning

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BigScottFiBigT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

I came over from Belfast to stay here for a wedding. The first night was good we where in the family room so two single beds and a double. At the end of the corridor to keep noise to a minimum. They had a music night on and we could hear nothing at all in the room to suggest it. The 2nd day was my sister's wedding. She had chose to have it all under one roof and Steven was fabulous in making sure everything ran smoothly (I'm sure there's more people behind the scenes bit i don't know their names). Food was fantastic and I would certainly come back if only that. Overall place was great 1 or 2 members of staff need to learn to smile but hey ho not everyone is happy :-)

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews