We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pub Desk package is excellent”
Review of The Sweet Chestnut

The Sweet Chestnut
Ranked #3 of 33 Quick Bites in Dunfermline
Cuisines: British, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: From classic British carvery to legendary pub favourites, our food is fresh, hot, and served daily. There’s something here for all the family, whether you’re bringing Nan and Grandad, fussy teenagers, or toddlers and little ones. Our drinks range is just as brilliant. Relax with a real ale, premium draught beer, or a glass of wine. Or grab a coffee to go with one of our delicious desserts!
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Thanks to the Pub Desk package I worked from Sweet Chestnut for the day and cannot fault the experience. The staff were friendly and attentive without being overbearing, and the food and drink was great value. The package is only £10 and includes space to work (with a plug!), parking, lunch and up to 5 hot or soft drinks throughout the day. So worth it! With good background music (not too loud) and a bit of chat there was a lovely buzz about the place. Highly recommend for anyone looking for a change of scene instead of working from home.

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 737sjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aj5leggett, General Manager at The Sweet Chestnut, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear 737sjd

Thank you for your lovely review. We always endeavour to ensure our customer have a excellant experience while visiting The Sweet Chestnut. Thank you also for the recommendation, and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards
Andrew Leggett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (731)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 731 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2021 via mobile

Arrived with our dog to a lovely friendly welcome… Due to weather we sat outside, and order our food and drinks using the app….
Quick service for our drinks and not long after our food arrived . Ordered the mega burger with cheese and bacon to share with the dog.. She had it finished in no time and loved every bite…. So did I !
Great place for a meal and a drink, definitely be back !!

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank clare24569
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aj5leggett, General Manager at The Sweet Chestnut, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear clare24569

Thank you for your review. We always endeavour to ensure our guests have a great experience when they visit our restaurant. Glad your dog enjoyed the burger. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.


Kind regards
Andrew Leggett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2021 via mobile

We were in Dunfermline on business. Stayed at Premier Inn. This place was across the retail car park, about 120metres away.
Not good. Terrible dried meat at carvery. Soggy veg. Atrocious. The chef cutting the meat looked embarrassed- he should’ve refused to serve the roast beef that was crumbling. Turkey too. Not a nice experience. A proper let down. And staff obsessed with masks between sitting and sitting again - but they’re rules - they just assume no-one is exempt. But a side matter to the worst ever carvery in 50 years. I won’t be going back.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank FlatEricAscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aj5leggett, General Manager at The Sweet Chestnut, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2021

Thank you FlatEricAscot for your feedback, we always try to endevor to serve the highest quality foods in the restaurant. We are sorry that this was not to your liking on this occassion, we will endevour to reach all of our guest standards.
With current legistlation face coverings are still mandatory, we are trying to keep all of our staff and customers safe.
Kindess regards
Andrew Leggett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2021 via mobile

Staff very friendly and helpful. The tables were clean and tidy. The meal was hot and lovely but the peppercorn sauce was thin and like water. A very poor sauce.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank J9983KVthomasd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aj5leggett, General Manager at The Sweet Chestnut, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2021

Dear J9983KVthomasd,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff and the restaurant. We always try to endeavour to serve the highest quality foods in the restaurant. We are sorry that the peppercorn sauce was not to your liking on this occassion.

Kind Regards
Andrew Leggett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2021

Booked a table on the website for 11am. However when we arrived we were told they weren't serving food. Breakfast had finished and lunch didn't start until 12. We were famished. Fortunately a lovely lady was waiting at table who arranged some toast for us until the kitchen was open again. She was a credit to the company. So pleasant and helpful.
Food was nice with the exception of the soup which looked too much like baby food to contemplate.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Coral M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aj5leggett, General Manager at The Sweet Chestnut, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2021

Dear Coral M

Thank you for your kind comments regarding a member of our staff, and she was able to arrange some food for you. We always try to endeavour to serve the highest quality foods in the restaurant. We are sorry that the soup was not to your liking on this occassion, we will endeavour to reach all of our guest standards.

Kind regards
Andrew Leggett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Sweet Chestnut also viewed

 
Perth, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to The Sweet Chestnut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.