We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“"A practically perfect" apartment in every way!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 1/1 Forrest Hill

Comfortable and cosy entire flat available to rent
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Comfortable and cosy entire flat available to rent
elevated ground floor flat
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Comfortable and cosy entire flat available to rent
elevated ground floor flat
Bedroom with comfortable king size bed (all linens supplied)
Spacious living room with stripped wood floors and double sofa bed
Spacious living room with double sofa bed, dining table for four
Spacious living room with double sofa bed, dining table for four
Spacious living room with double sofa bed, dining table for four
Entrance hall
Fully fitted, modern kitchen
Fully fitted, modern kitchen
Direct access from the bedroom to a private, shared courtyard at the rear of the property
Recently refurbished bathroom with constant hot water. Towels supplied.
Bedroom with king size bed
Walk in electric shower.
8 external, wide steps up into the building. The flat is on the ground floor.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Simon M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"A practically perfect" apartment in every way!”
Reviewed 9 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Excellent location, quiet apartment and yet in the very heart of Edinburgh. All facilities/ accessories were provided for in the flat by the owner so we didn't need to buy extras for the week. We'll certainly be returning very soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: spaciousness
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny B
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A perfect place to stay”
Reviewed 14 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We were amazed to discover such a beautiful property tucked away in the centre of Edinburgh. The apartment itself was larger than it appeared in the photos and had everything we needed. A home from home! There was a constant supply of hot water and the radiators quickly heated up - a necessity in November. We loved the fact that there is a courtyard garden at the back, complete with squirrels and birds. The owner was there to greet us and had provided a welcome pack. There was a plentiful supply of fluffy towels and an added bonus is the washing machine and tumble drier,so no need to pack too many clothes.
You are literally 2 minutes from the buses and plenty of attractions and eateries,but the tucked away location means it is pretty quiet. The bed is very comfortable and we enjoyed a good night's sleep every night. We hope to visit again before too long.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The apartment itself and the location.
Liked least: Nothing to dislike at all.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom D
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A High-Quality Well- Appointed Apartment in a Great Location with a Very Helpful Owner”
Reviewed 7 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We spent a lovely few days in this apartment at the end of October. Its location was great. It is situated just a few minutes walk from the Grassmarket, George IV Bridge and the Royal Mile with all the sights, attractions, eateries and pubs that can be found in those locations. The Scottish Museum (free to enter) is just a few minutes walk away and is well worth a visit of a couple of hours. The principal shopping location in/around Princes Street is around 15 minutes away, with the Playhouse Theatre being around 20 minutes walk away, or a fiver in a taxi after the show. We particularly liked the fact that the No 35 bus operated directly from the airport to a bus stop just 50 metres from the apartment's front door (£1.50 per person each way).

Within the apartment, everything that was needed was there- basically it was like a hotel suite without the concierge and palaver etc. and at a significantly lower price than you would pay for equivalent hotel accomodation. Heating and hot water were available on a timed basis, with override outside of the timed periods. The apartment appears well insulated, so we felt very cosy at all times. We used the well-appointed, separate kitchen for teas and coffees (kindly supplied on our arrival by Val, our very helpful owner- more later) but could easily have cooked up full meals there. The bedroom was also very cosy and the bed was very comfortable. Bedding etc. was of good quality, with plenty of very comfortable pillows. The towels supplied in the bathroom were also nice and fluffy.

The lounge/dining area had a comfortable seating arrangement, and the flat screen High Def TV/ DVD player had all the channels we needed (basically all the UK free to view channels). There were a selection of DVDs in the hallway, as well as a couple of dozen novels for quiet reading (I missed these until Day 3 as the bookshelf is above the door level in the hallway). A Broadband Router provided excellent data download/upload speeds across WiFi, and it appeared to provide the usual 4 LAN ports as well.

There was a good range of kitchen preparation and cleaning products in the cupboards, with cleaning products similarly available in the bathroom. The apartment was scrupulousy clean and everything smelled fresh and inviting. The rear shared garden was available to us, but we didn't have time to use it.

Most note-worthy was the attention that we received from the owner (Val) at all stages of the booking and renting processes. We arrived very early on our 1st day and did not leave until late on our last day. Our needs were fully accommodated. Keys were posted to us in advance, but as they had not arrived before we left, Val met us in the apartment at 9 a.m.

In summary, we have stayed in many apartments/villas across Europe over the years (generally booked through HolidayLettings.co.uk) and this experience was one of the best we encountered. We have no hesitation in recommending it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonnyGabr...
Salford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful property - perfect location”
Reviewed 1 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
3
people found this review helpful

The property is brilliant - spotlessly clean with all the utlities you could need during a stay in Edinburgh. It is located right in the heart of the Old Town, only a stones throw away from the National Museum, National Library, Castle, Golden Mile, Greyfriars Bobby and most other attractions you may wish to see during your stay. It is also close to a number of good bars and restaurants and is in easy walking distance of the larger high street shops.

Although the property is very central it is also hidden away, and is reasonably quiet during the evenings and at night and we were very peaceful during our extended weekend.

The owner of the property was always available to communicate with, polite and ensured that our stay in the apartment was an enjoyable one.

I would thoroughly recommend a stay at Forrest Hill if you are visiting Edinburgh.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The central location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Unaca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great apartment-amazing service”
Reviewed 18 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Hi
This is a gorgeous little apartment right in the heart of the old town. Very quaint with everything one could possibly need. Impeccably clean. Couldn't ask for better. The service we go from the owner was so amazing. She couldn't have been more helpful! Loved it all!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing