We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh Murrayfield(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$252
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Grassmarket Hotel(Edinburgh)
US$235
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$114
ibis Budget
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
West End Hostel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveller rating
62
28
7
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
62
28
7
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdecanter of sherryprivate bathroomkipperstop floorthe royal botanic gardensbus informationeasy busattic roomcity centreprivate parkingcooked breakfastnumber busroyal yacht britanniawhilst visiting edinburghset us up for the daycomfortable bedminute bus ride
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 102 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2018

My wife and I recently stayed for 2 nights and enjoyed our stay with no issues. The property is very well maintained and tastefully decorated. Our room (no. 3) on the first floor overlooked Victoria Park and was compact but well equipped with complimentary toiletries, tea/ coffee etc. plus the additional bonus of a Tunnock’s Caramel bar and sherry. Small TV on wall. WIFI connection good. The bed was very comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. The owner (Gill) and the lady helping at breakfast (sorry name not known) were very welcoming and friendly. The house is within easy walking distance to Leith sea front (Royal Yacht Britannia) and Newhaven (harbour and restaurants) and bus stops into Edinburgh city centre are just down the road.

One tip – the Great Junction Street stop (no. 8) on the Majestic tour bus is not far away and if you have purchased one of their tickets (e.g. The Royal Edinburgh 48 hour ticket) then you can travel into the city centre (and return journey) with that ticket at no extra cost, although the Majestic tour only operates every 30 minutes during the day. Local buses are more frequent.

Room Tip: Some rooms overlook a park.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DJF100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018 via mobile

What a wonderful time we had at The Bonnington Guest House.
Our hosts Jill and Ian were so welcoming and helpful. Very comfortable rooms and fantastic breakfast!
The Bonnington is ideally situated next to Victoria park and is just a short walk from Leith and the city centre. Could not fault it.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed a wonderful stay here for the Hogmanay celebrations. The owner Gill was incredibly welcoming and friendly, and helped us out with local maps and restaurant recommendations. There were lots of lovely little extras such as the sherry and chocolate bars in the room, and everything was spotlessly clean. Breakfast is cooked to order and delicious. The guest house itself is about half an hour's walk from the city centre but there are regular buses from just across the road and it is nearby to a good selection of restaurants and bars for the evening. Everything was wonderful and we were very sad to leave - thank you Gill, and hopefully we will be back soon!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank sarahvining
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2017

A really comfortable, clean guesthouse. We arrived in Edinburgh very early and Gill very kindly let us have our room at 9:30am. The guesthouse is a bit of a walk from Waverley bridge but the no.11 bus goes from Princes St to almost right outside the guesthouse, which is really convenient. Our room was a nice size, comfortable bed and the complimentary Tunnocks and sherry were a nice touch. We loved the breakfast. There was good variety and the Bonnington grill was a really good size for starting the day. Gill also let us leave our luggage there on our last day and gave us a front door key so we could come back in and get it. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhys P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night with our young son. We stayed in a double room with private bathroom. Room was lovely and well laid out and even had a welcome decanter of sherry. Bed was quite small, but we are used to a king size at home so that is most likely the reason. Bathroom was across the hall, which whilst not the most convenient, wasn't unexpected. Bathroom had a few hairs around bathtub but otherwise clean, as was the room.

Private parking was a must for us, transport links are frequent and easy. There's Victoria park just a 1 minute walk away which is nice with kids.

Breakfast was the bigger let down of the stay with everything just being so-so. It didn't feel like farmer quality meat was on offer. A selection of cereal, fruit, cheeses and juice available and porridge, kippers and a full breakfast available to order.

Gill was very friendly and we got the impression the she couldn't do enough for you. Helped us with some dinner selections, bus information etc.

Would come back again if we were in the area and would recommend to others.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews