We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful apartment for family break in Edinburgh”
other travellers have booked this property
The living room has a home cinema system with flat screen and DVDs, many good books and a piano.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The living room has a home cinema system with flat screen and DVDs, many good books and a piano.
There's a secret door in the house that leads to one of the bedrooms.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
5 reviews
The living room has a home cinema system with flat screen and DVDs, many good books and a piano.
There's a secret door in the house that leads to one of the bedrooms.
The Orient room
The Africa room
The India room.
The India room can be prepared with a kingsize bed + a single behing a lovely screen for privacy
The single bed behind the screen in the Indian room
An older photo before some re-decoration, but showing the Indian room set up with 3 singles.
The Blue room, it has a large double bed and views to the tree tops.
The kitchen has a fan oven, electric oven, grill, hot plate + 4 gas hobs, microwave and dishwasher.
All bathrooms have natural light
The entrance hall
view of Arthur's Seat from Carlton Hill, just above us, a lovely walk!
view of the centre from Carlton Hill, just above us, a lovely walk!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
donaldmay...
Paris, France
2 reviews
“Wonderful apartment for family break in Edinburgh”
Reviewed 18 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We all felt as though we were at home within minutes of arriving. Cups of tea and meals for seven + were shared around the kitchen table after long walks through the city. In fact, we never had to take the car out as one can walk to the Royal Mile in just 20 minutes. The apartment has plenty of beds, and with so many of us staying it was great having two bathrooms. We would definitely book here again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AutumnDol...
Northwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable and quirky in an ideal location for central Edinburgh”
Reviewed 10 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

I spent a long weekend in this apartment along with 7 of my friends. We liked the fact that we were so close to the city centre. We could easily walk into town or to Holyrood and there were good Indian and Chinese Take aways very close by.The apartment was comfortable and very quirky . We would have liked to have access to a freezer as we had ordered our shopping in - including ice - we did manage to store our frozen items in the fridge and it was okay, but would have been more difficult if staying for a week. Also we had difficulty getting the DVD working.The wires behind the TV were very tangled and we had to sort them out. Other than that we had a fab stay.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2017
You have highlighted that we really need to put a freezer in the kitchen! we will do that, thank you for a gorgeous review Autumn and thank you so much for sorting the cables of the DVD.
Best wishes,
Carmen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole R
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Quirky and spacious.”
Reviewed 12 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Stayed here for 2 nights with 3 friends. Having a room each was great and the apartment was spacious. I loved the way it was furnished, eclectic and comfortable. The kitchen was a great size for long slow breakfasts and the sun spilled in to the lounge in the morning. The road side bedrooms were a little noisier with morning traffic but was somewhat managed with earplugs (we are all from a very quiet village and not used to road noise). The 4 bedrooms were delightful although the mattress comfort was varied. We all had to try different beds to see which one each of us could manage. The bed in the secret room is also rather short so if you are all tall, don't count on that one. I would advise the owners to invest in some softer mattress toppers for the back two bedrooms. The bathrooms were lovely and I would definitely stay in this place again. It took about 15-20 minutes to walk from the centre of the new town and literally a 5 minute walk from Holyrood to begin the exploration of the Royal Mile from the lower end to the top. About £6 taxi trip from the centre of new town to the apartment and there are also buses that along that street.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the eclectic style and space
Liked least: the mattress on the bed i was in
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2017
Hello Nicole,
We have changed all the mattresses at last! thank you for your great review.
Best wishes,
Carmen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gill C
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“We all loved it!”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This was a special family get-together at the Edinburgh Fringe. We were 10: 2 grandparents, 4 parents and 4 grandchildren, aged 10, 7, 7 and 3. We were really happy with most aspects of the apartment - it was quirky, lovely spacious comfortable lounge, kitchen with almost everything we needed (small freezing compartment/freezer would have been helpful), location was brilliant, super bread shop very near, buses to all our venues easy to find, beautiful walk into the Royal Mile, lovely housekeeper to meet us and to advise when an electrical fuse blew! Just a couple of downs - ensuite bathroom great for main bedroom, other bathroom very small for 8 other people (we shared the ensuite of course). Otherwise our 3 year old was stunned to be faced with a travel cot (but recovered when we made it possible for him to climb in and out of it) and we could see that there was not enough space for the expected 4th bed in this room. So 9 people would be more pleasantly accommodated (sofa bed in lounge but that would be very limiting to use of lounge) rather than 10.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location and quirkiness
Liked least: small main bathroom
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sianjulia...
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, quirky house in fab location!”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is without a doubt the most unique property I have ever stayed in - if you love antiques and quirkiness then this is the place for you. While it's not located directly in the city centre, the property is very close to Arthur's Seat, Holyrood Palace and is about a 15 minute walk to Princess Street.

There's also a fab newsagents opposite for all your basics and we had a Sainsburys delivery sent before we arrived, which was met and packed away by the lovely house keeper, Fiona. Well above and beyond and much appreciated! I would also recommend doing this as the stairs are quite big so it's a long way up to carry everything! We had an indian takeaway from Easter Road (parallel to Montrose Terrace) on one of the nights and it was so good (Shapla) and noticed a nice cafe and some pubs, so there's plenty to do nearby as well.

I would definitely recommend this to a group of friends - it definitely suited our hen party!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The furniture and antiques!
Liked least: The bed in the secret room wasn't a full double
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$236
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing