We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Spacious, Comfortable and Very Well Located...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Moorings

Master bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Master bedroom
Outside view Kitchen - very well equipped with all mod cons!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Master bedroom
Outside view
Kitchen - very well equipped with all mod cons!
Blue room
Blue room
Spacious bright Hall
Hall
Hall
Master bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
a_travell...
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Spacious, Comfortable and Very Well Located Accommodation”
Reviewed 26 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Having discovered the Leith area on a previous visit to Edinburgh, we were keen to enjoy its competitively priced and well-connected facilities once more, so settled on The Moorings after finding it through the Trip Advisor site.
Three of us stayed here in March and the flat did not disappoint. Well located for public transport and with a fine selection of local shops and restaurants a few minutes walk away. The property itself is spacious enough for everyone to relax comfortably if the weather is not great, but arranged well for people to eat and socialise together, as well.
Well equipped, clean and well maintained, I would recommend to anyone looking for a family-sized property where you can leave your car safely for the week and explore the city from the numerous local buses.
The owner clearly cares about the welfare and enjoyment of their guests and the wealth of positive comments, demonstrates that visitors are keen to return once they have experienced this fine holiday home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Road outside sometimes suffered with traffic noise at night.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
East Bergholt, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size, space and quality of fitments
Liked least: Nothing bad at all.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Mar 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely informative review. So glad you all had such a lovely stay and look forward to actually meeting you all next time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
loopy l
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect - everything we needed from a holiday apartment”
Reviewed 14 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013

We have just returned from a long weekend at The Moorings. From the point of contact Diana was incredibly helpful and answered all our questions promptly. The location was perfect, leith is a great place and is full of quirky bars and fabulous restaurants. We had immense breadfast at the Isobar and the Haven and spectacular dinner at juliannas. We were a quick cab ride away from the centre of Edinburgh but we also jumped on the bus a few times which stopped 2 mins away from the apartment entrance. Can recommend a visit to the castle too.

The apartment was probably the most fully equipped we have ever stayed in. We were travelling with young children who loved the toys and DVDs provided. From our point of view we had every utensil to hand that we would need and more besides. It was so spacious - there were 6 adults and 2 children and we didn't feel squashed together, the hall way was big to leave coats, boots and umbrellas in and all 3 bedrooms were of a really good size.

My only complaint would be that we would have liked to have stayed longer!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space.
Liked least: Carrying the pram up a flight if stairs but it was worth it!!!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Feb 2013
Jo, Thank you so so much for your lovely review. I am so glad everything went well for the wedding and you managed to find some new eating places even for me. Cant wait to try them! Hope to see you all again. Di
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelso, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The interior and lay out of the flat and the location also easy free parking
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
14 Feb 2013
Thank you so much Gillian for your lovely review! I really appreciate you taking the time to do that and so glad you all had fun. Do come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing