We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“100% perfect”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Annexe

Living Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room
Living Room Dining Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Living Room
Living Room
Dining Room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Hallways
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
The Building
Garden
The Annexe - Bedroom
The Annexe - Sitting Room (West)
The Annexe - Sitting Room (East)
The Annexe - Kitchen/Dining area
The Annexe - Bathroom
The Annexe - Bathroom - walk in shower area
The Annexe - Bathroom - full length bath
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
vegetaria...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“100% perfect”
Reviewed 2 March 2015 for a stay in September 2014

My husband and I spent a week in The Annexe last September and I have been meaning to review it ever since. The apartment was absolutely perfect and the attention to detail was impressive. It is situated in a quiet lane in a nice part of Edinburgh. A good selection of small shops within walking distance, e.g. newsagents, small Tesco, to buy anything we needed. Regular and quick bus service into the centre of Edinburgh. The owners live next door but, unless you needed anything, you don't really see them. Fiona is warm and welcoming and has created an exceptionally well-equipped and comfortable holiday apartment. Everything has been thought of (including a banana stand!!). Various grocery items are included, e.g. coffee, tea, sugar, bread, breakfast cereals, butter, preserves, milk, fruit, washing-up liquid, plus a few toiletries in the bathroom.

It is beautifully furnished and decorated and bright and spacious. Bed is huge (two singles joined together) with good quality bed linen and very comfortable. Lovely towels. Lots of storage space. Very warm and cosy. Fiona even included four pre-paid tickets for using on the buses. So many thoughtful and useful items included. There was even a docking station for my iPod.

I don't think you'd find a nicer place to rent in Edinburgh and terrific value. Very well situated in a beautiful city with so much to see and do. I can't recommend The Annexe too highly and we hope to stay here again one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention to detail.
Liked least: Not applicable - we liked everything!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Mar 2015
Thank you for such a glowing review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Annexe and I do hope to see you again in the future. Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“City haven with everything you need - classy and homely at once!”
Reviewed 13 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
3
people found this review helpful

This accommodation is much more spacious and comfortable than is indicated by the photographs. It is very quiet and private yet located close to the city with the bus at your doorstep and ample car parking. We used this location as a departure point for city sights as well as travelling to the Borders and the Highlands. Fiona provided a lovely welcome package if you arrive too late to get supplies. We very much enjoyed our stay and would definitely choose the Annexe if staying in Edinburgh again. Many thanks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet spaciousness of the cottage
Liked least: There is little to not like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2014
Many thanks for your kind review and I am glad you enjoyed your visit to Edinburgh. Hopefully we shall see you back in the city again soon.
Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle...
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing hospitality, home from home”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The Annex is a beautifully presented apartment that provides a comfortable home from home. Easy access to Edinburgh City Centre. Fiona is an excellent host, thought of every last detail. Much better than any five star hotel. Will book again for next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hospitality
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, I look forward to welcoming you again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bathroom
Liked least: The weather
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ShaheenSo...
South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We stayed at the Annexe for a week in June. Fiona welcomed us on arrival and showed us around the apartment. It was spotlessly clean and equipped with everything you could possibly need. She even provided the necessities in terms of food and bus tickets to get us started off. We've never experienced such hospitality even in 5 star establishments. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing