We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great find”
other travellers have booked this property
Living Room/Dining
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room/Dining
Entrance Living Room/Dining
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
186 reviews
Living Room/Dining
Entrance
Living Room/Dining
Living Room/Dining
Living Room/Dining
Living Room/Dining
Living Room/Dining
Living Room/Dining
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Living Room double sofa bed shown pulled out
Double Sofabed Opened
Hallway
Bathroom showing bath
Bathroom showing shower
Double Bedroom
Double Bedroom
Garden
Garden
Garden
Garden
Garden
Lobby
Street
Street
Front door to our New Town Central Apartment
our central apartment
View from front door looking towards St Andrews Sq and the airport tram
view from top of Dublin St
Street
Entrance Hallway
Lounge area
Comfortable leather sofabed
Kitchen area
enclosed private back garden for outside eating
Military Tattoo at the festival
night time view of castle from Princes street
St Giles cathedral from the Royal mile
The Mound in the snow
Castle on a winters night
The Old Town
Princes St Gardens
Arthurs seat
Edinburgh Nights
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 186 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
DandDYork
York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A great find”
Reviewed 27 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We stayed here to visit the Fringe. The flat is within a few minutes walk of Princes Street, so ideally situated to access most of the Fringe venues, but in a quiet neighbourhood. It is a basement flat & although the bedroom was a little dark the lounge area had plenty of light as there are two windows. The whole flat was really clean & very well equipped. We were also pleasantly surprised by all the thoughtful touches (eg milk, tea & biscuits on arrival; bottled water by the bed). All in all a great stay - so much so that we have booked for next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Super comfy bed, great shower
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2013
Delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the festival shows and atmosphere.Thank you for leaving us a review and we look forward to welcoming you again in 2014.
Thanks Fiona and Alan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny1002
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great apartment”
Reviewed 21 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Dublin street apartment close to all the festival events . Very well cared for by Fiona and Alan who have thought of everything. Apartment comfy and well equipped. Just what you need after a day in town!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely bathroom, bedroom and kitchen
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2013
Thank you for leaving us a review it is appreciated and we are pleased that you had a good time and enjoyed your festival stay.

Thanks Fiona and Alan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valletta Malta
Reviewed 15 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
15 Aug 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review it is appreciated and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in the city at this exciting ( although busy) festival time of year and that the apartment proved a good base.
Thanks
Fiona and Alan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sea-Jett
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place, great people”
Reviewed 3 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

I have rented a lot of apartments for vacations throughout Europe, but this was one of the best. The owners, Fiona and Allan, are lovely, super-accommodating people. Not only did they not mind that we arrived at 9:30pm, but they made sure there was milk in the fridge for the morning! They were very helpful in letting us know what might be open and provided well-marked maps. They were extremely thorough at explaining everything in the apartment and provided a phone number to reach them any time. They also provided guide books, maps, history books, DVDs, pamphlets, transit information, and anything else one could use to learn about a place and how to negotiate it.
The apartment itself was spotless, well stocked, and had very nice appliances. The furniture was comfortable, and the neighborhood was pretty quiet. The apartment is located below ground level and so does not have any great views, but does get light from the outside. We had access to the building's garden, which was beautiful and a great place to hang out in the evening. We also had access to the Queen's Gardens, which were very nice to walk through. One minor glitch was that we discovered after the owners left that the microwave didn't work. When I called the next morning, they had it replaced by the afternoon, which I thought was very responsive. They were very apologetic.
The location is prime. We appreciated not being in the thick of the Royal Mile to have some peace and quiet. But it was an easy walk there, and there were some very nice restaurants and pubs within about 2 blocks of the apartment in either direction. The National Portrait Gallery is at the top of the street, just a few doors away. The neighborhood felt very safe as well and had easy access to buses. There is a tram system being built that will operate on the intersecting street.
It should be noted that there is no elevator, so the apartment would not be suitable for anyone who cannot walk the one flight down (and back up).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and comfort of the apartment; great owners
Liked least: No view (but none was advertised)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2013
Thank you so much for leaving such a detailed review it is very much appreciated that you took so much trouble to leave us this review.
Most heartening is that you enjoyed your stay with us and the area which is well placed for hostelries as you say but also close to the attractions and public transport, with its own history.

Thanks Fiona and Alan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay2000
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent presentation and facilities”
Reviewed 18 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

My husband and I have just enjoyed 4 nights stay in this delightful apartment, which more than lived up to our expectations. We were met by Fiona, who made us feel most welcome, providing helpful suggestions about things to see and do.
The location and facilities were all and more than we needed, with the city centre a short 10 mins walk away and several nearby restaurants if we didn't feel like cooking. We particularly liked Zest, an Indian restaurant literally just up the street.
The private garden behind the flats were a bonus we didn't expect or get to fully utilise, but lovely nevertheless.
After taking almost 40 hours to reach Edinburgh from our home in Australia, we were so glad to be able to have enough room in which to relax, and to be able to do it in our own time. In a B&B or hotel we'd have had to be up and out and follow someone else's timetable.
Great shower, comfortable bed, lovely thick towels and quite a few 'niceties' (shampoo,body lotion, etc) added to our comfortable stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Pillows - not my preferred type.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2013
Thank you for leaving us a review it is appreciated. Glad that you had such an enjoyable visit and enjoyed the apartments central location and the local restaurants added to your visit.It was a long journey here and we are delighted that our amenities suited you so well.
Thanks Fiona and Alan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing