We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Kirkcudbright, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Katrina L
1 review
“Perfect Retreat”
Reviewed 19 November 2018 for a stay in November 2018

A very special place. The West Wing was even lovelier than I expected - the house has a welcoming feel and everything is provided for in terms of comfort and practicality (fantastic appliances, utensils and cookware provided) so that you immediately feel at home. Clear instructions and information, and good communication from the owner made everything easy. Fantastic views (whatever the weather!), walks and wildlife - an absolute pleasure. Thank you!

Date of stay: November 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
2 Dec 2018
Thankyou for the lovely feedback. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the West Wing.
Best regards,
Reid Country Retreats
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018

Date of stay: September 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Sep 2018
Great to hear that you all enjoyed your stay in the West Wing, despite the blustery weather. We hope you can find opportunity to return and explore more of Dumfries & Galloway in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Riding Mill, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Date of stay: August 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
radhamanb...
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magnificent, west wing Knockbrex-Reid Country retraits”
Reviewed 15 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

I visited this splendid, thoroughly taken care of and utterly magical location, the west wing in knockbrex in may 2018, with a few good friends, 6 adults and two children. Mr. Reid delivered what he had promised. The house is very comfortable, I have had wonderfull times preparing our dinners because the kitchen is totally taken care of and therefore pleasant. Our kids also had 'beau times' because the surroundings, the playgound/garden with the hammock is peacefull, large and therefore great fun. The beach and forest are nearby. Staring at the beach with the trees whispering and the birds singing...i simply loved it and whished we could have stayed longer....thanks!

Date of stay: May 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culture68...
1 review
“A gem”
Reviewed 27 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Galloway is one of the best kept secret in Scotland and Knockbrex (west wing) a beautiful, spacious, light, completely renovated grade II listed mansion house. With uninterrupted view over the coastline, it is a warm, wonderful place to stay, very well equipped with everything and anything one can possibly need, comfortable bedding, really like home from home. A lovely walk to many sandy bays, easy access for launching dinghies, surf-boards, canoes..or swimming. A 10 minutes’s drive to Laggan outdoor centre offering, zip wire, grass sledging, clay-pigeon , archery..or to Kirkcudbright harbour for the best fish and chips. We will visit again.

Date of stay: April 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
29 Apr 2018
Many thanks for your glowing review of our beloved stretch of the Galloway coastline. We’d love to welcome you back in the near future.
Reid Country Retreats
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.