We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect, well almost!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
PutneyPat
UK
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Perfect, well almost!”
Reviewed 10 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Situated in a very quiet spot, the lodge is the perfect getaway. It was spotless on arrival and had everything you could possibly need. The only reason for not giving five stars is that on leaving and stripping the beds we found a dog treat/chew in one of the beds. Strange but true! Let's not be unkind - we would stay there again.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2016
Thank you for your review of Heron lodge....Glad to see you had a great stay and holiday and are pleased to see you will return again sometime.
However, we do realise we do strive to ensure Heron Lodge is presented in good order to our guests...but realise that we cannot be perfect every time...... and on this occasion accept we did miss something ! We do try to remove all items that guests seem to leave behind even when they hide things down the chairs, under the sofa and furniture etc... KR Louise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev Dr Da...
1 review
“Home from home”
Reviewed 29 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Warm, clean, comfortable and very well-equipped. Great location for exploring near (e.g. Mabie Forest) and far (Mull of Galloway and Isle of Whithorn). Loved Threave Gardens and Castle (Ospreys) and Red Kites nr. Laurieston. Lovely sea-front paths/walks at Kipford and Rockliffe.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Generally pleased with everything
Liked least: Lack of hooks in bathroom & bedrooms. A grab-rail in the shower would have been helpful.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2016
Thank you so much for your time to review Heron Lodge.....and thank you for sharing your day trips you had whilst there.
I am sure this will be helpful to future guests make their choice to stay @ Heron Lodge and explore the Dumfries and Galloway area as there is so much to see and do for many day trips.
Hope to see you return soon for another stay @ Heron Lodge.

Many thanks

Louise
Heron lodge owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
willj69
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Absolutely Fantastic”
Reviewed 28 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

This is a wonderful place to get away to,ideally situated to all the nearby amenities but far enough away to shut the world out,scenery was lovely woke up to grazing sheep,robins and woodpeckers,would definitely recommend this property and location,high specification,everything you need is provided,will be going back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the peace and quiet
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Dec 2015
Heron lodge is indeed set in a lovely location spot, being an ideal bolt hole for peace and serenity from our fast pave lives we often endure....

So glad it ticked the box for you and you enjoyed a lovely relaxing holiday......and welcome you back for a return visit soon.

Thank you for you review of Heron Lodge.....
KR

Louise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mary m
Fifield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 4 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We loved Heron Lodge. It was very clean and has everything supplied you need. The view at the back of the lodge was beautiful and the seating area very nice. If we had been a little earlier in the year I'm sure we would have made more use of the decking seating. The lodge is perfect for cycling or walking into Mabie Forest and for Loch Arthur Farm shop and restaurant which is just great. Our grandson (8) loved Mabie Farm Park with its great facilities for children of all ages. He also loved the games available in the lodge and his only problem was that the garden was not large enough for football and there was no swing park for him to play in on-site and maybe meet other children. There are so many things to do and see in the surrounding area we shall have to go back again to see the things we missed.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2015
Thank you for your review of Heron Lodge, I am sure it will be especially useful for future families make Heron Lodge number 1 choice for their family holiday.

Heron Lodge is always presented in good order to help guests have a comfortable and relaxing stay, providing all required and more for a self catering holiday.

Many families are always surprised in what is available for their children in the area of Dumfries and Galloway and within a few minutes drive from the lodge.

Heron lodge would like to welcome you back sometime soon.

Kind Regards

Louise
Heron Lodge owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek J
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice place with excellent views”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Very nice cabin well looked after with every thing you need, views from the back garden were excellent

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jul 2015
Thank you for your time to review Heron Lodge. Very pleased you enjoyed the wonderful views from the lodge.

Heron Lodge would like to welcome you back for a return future stay anytime.

KR
Louise
Heron Lodge Owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing