We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful place to stay”
other traveller has booked this property
The Mill @ Lewinshope
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Mill @ Lewinshope
Beautiful light and warm bedrooms
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
The Mill @ Lewinshope
Beautiful light and warm bedrooms
The Kitchen has everything you need.
Tennis Court can be used anytime. Football too!
Plenty of seating area and space to relax.
Ash room with steam shower in the ensuite.
Open plan area and Mezzanine above to hide away and read.
The Beech Room.
Hidden under the Waterwheel a small window in the Ash Bathroom looking onto the hills beyond.
The Elm Bedroom with ensuite bathroom with a the only bath in the Mill with a shower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Selkirk, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
IAW2013
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 25 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had booked this accommodation for my sisters "hen-do" and we're not disappointed. The accommodation is excellent inside and out, especially the beautiful kitchen and bedrooms. There is plenty to do nearby for those who like walking or cycling and would highly recommend "Go Ape" as an activity. The owners helped us get in touch with a local business who came to "The Mill" to do reflexology and facials, and the cake and jam waiting for us was a lovely touch too. We had a lovely, relaxing weekend, just what the "bride to be" wanted.!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Luxury accommodation as advertised
Liked least: Signage to property at bottom of the road could be better.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2015
Many thanks. We loved meeting you all.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RebAnders...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I wish I could stay here forever.”
Reviewed 8 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at The Mill the evening before my wedding with all 6 bridesmaids and another friend. I honestly could not have asked for a place more beautiful, inspiring, or peaceful. Every detail of the house has been finished to an exceptional standard, you can tell a lot of love and care went into the design and build of this place. Having 8 females in one house we were delighted to find each room had it's own ensuite (one even with a sauna!)-and ample hot water to supply all...just what a bridal party need! The Mill truly surpassed my wildest dreams. Thank you! X

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2015
What a fantastic group of bridesmaids you all were. Thank you for the lovely review. Tell everyone about us! Lx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie...
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Impeccable quality in every detail.”
Reviewed 8 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I had the pleasure of staying at the Mill over my sister's wedding weekend with seven other's in the bridal party. I can't stress enough how beautiful this property is, from the grounds, to the decor to the host who made us feel so incredibly welcome! From baking us a cake on arrival to finding a solution to our last minute camera emergency, Lulu went above and beyond to make our stay excellent.

The building is a refurb of a sturdy old mill, which has a strong sense of integrity to it, with every detail lovingly constructed to a really high finish. Each room is made from a different wood, remnants of which can be seen in the quaint lumberyard on the drive up to the house. The wood decor not only creates a beautiful aesthetic but subtly enhances your experience with it's dainty scent. Aromas continue with the open fire, which was a great accompaniment to our cosy night in, alongside the luxurious sauna which was the icing on the cake to our evening!

Lulu has paid great attention to detail to create this immaculate house, where there was literally not a speck of dust to be found! (I really did check!) The kitchen was fitted out with top quality housewares and had more than anything we needed, including a very welcomed coffee grinder and two dishwashers! Underfloor heating throughout and luxury bedding played a big role in our comfort that weekend. The decor was minimalist but considered, with unique handmade wooden lamps and furniture adding a personal touch.

The Mill's location is idyllic, and the scenery completely removes you from the bustle of daily life. Horses roam by close to a stunning lake, which can be seen from a large garden table- the perfect view for a memorable breakfast.

If you are looking for a top quality, welcoming, beautiful escape from city life, this is the property to visit. You won't be disappointed!

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Attention to detail
Liked least: A little difficult to find!
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2015
You have all been so kind with your reviews. The photos came out well @ The Mill. Thank you Lx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freda K
Kilwinning, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Luxurious yet comfortable.”
Reviewed 7 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at The Mill as part of our Ruby Wedding celebrations and we couldn't have chosen a better place. The house is beautiful with many luxurious features but yet felt so comfortable we didn't want to leave! The gorgeous kitchen is very well equipped and the living areas very pleasant and relaxing. Bedrooms have lovely feather quilts and crisp white sheets and plenty of thick, soft, white towels. Two stair gates kept our toddler grandson safe and his cot was spotless with excellent bedding.There are lots of small touches throughout the house to make the guests stay more pleasurable. (The yummy cake was much appreciated! As were the marshmallows for toasting). Lulu and Johnny are excellent hosts and although at the end of the phone to deal with queries, left us to our own devices so it was nice, for a short time at least, to pretend the house was ours! Would like to come back to this beautiful part of the country with so much to see and do and would love to come back to The Mill.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Luxurious touches yet comfortable and relaxing
Liked least: Wifi was not working during our stay.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2015
I realised I should have left a review to you. It was quite sometime ago but thank you for your review and I am glad you had such a great stay @ The Mill. Lx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tora M
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beyond luxury.”
Reviewed 9 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Glorious rural location within reach of all amenities needed; Lulu, the owner could not be more helpful and welcoming. The Mill itself is finished to an impressively high standard with faultless attention to detail. Having created this haven themselves it is evident the Watsons are not going to let the decor become tired or dated.
The facilities within make the stay stress free with all ones needs addressed-even those we didn't realise we had!
We lit the fire on all 3 days we were there (plenty of logs provided) and enjoyed it taking in the beautiful open views as a backdrop The Mill provides a tranquil, luxurious base for doing what is inevitable in Scotland-bracing walks, cashmere shopping, marvelling in the wonder of our countryside and winding down at the end of the full day with a wee dram.
Will definitely return with family and dogs!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. Hope to see you all again. Lx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing