We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic place to spend with family”
other traveller has booked this property
The Mill @ Lewinshope
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Mill @ Lewinshope
Beautiful light and warm bedrooms
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
The Mill @ Lewinshope
Beautiful light and warm bedrooms
The Kitchen has everything you need.
Tennis Court can be used anytime. Football too!
Plenty of seating area and space to relax.
Ash room with steam shower in the ensuite.
Open plan area and Mezzanine above to hide away and read.
The Beech Room.
Hidden under the Waterwheel a small window in the Ash Bathroom looking onto the hills beyond.
The Elm Bedroom with ensuite bathroom with a the only bath in the Mill with a shower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Selkirk, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
186470Yvo...
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to spend with family”
Reviewed 23 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We have rented many properties over the years, across many Northern European countries, and this was one of the best. It is extremely well equipped and beautifully decorated. A perfect place to totally relax. Whilst shops in nearby Selkirk are quite good, bring as much food as possible and enjoy cooking in the excellent kitchen! We also were able to enjoy the fruits of the resident plum tree, baked in the oven with sugar and cinnamon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Just the overall ambiance, hard to individualise
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2016
Thank you for your lovely review, apologies for not responding back in 2014! I realise now that its important to do this! It might seem a long time ago now! Hope to see you all again another time. With love from The Watson's
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
veryHairy...
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Surpassed my expectations”
Reviewed 22 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Mill in the first week of August and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The accommodation was self contained on three levels with good sized rooms allowing privacy, if required, but large enough to comfortably accommodate all of the party in the lounge.
The kitchen is very well equipped with plenty of room to prepare and cook and two dishwashers built in.
All of the bedrooms are en suite, one with a sauna and another with a steam room, our room had a bath, a wonderful shower and two sinks, so no excuses for not being ready to go out on time! We were able to utilise the barbecue while we were there and sat outside to eat on the patio area which is, like all of the facilities, extensive and went for a walk through the woodlands which surround the property.
The owners are very pleasant and you wouldn't know that they were there if you didn't need anything - we called to ask if it was ok to use the courts and were supplied with raquets and a large container of balls for the duration of our stay. Lulu came across one evening with advice on the best road to take to Edinburgh and we had a chat with her husband Johnnie as we left the tennis courts one night as he was walking one of his dogs.
Fantastic facilities are provided throughout and my wife's only criticism was that there were things provided that weren't identified in the itinerarary so she had taken them with her! Personally I couldn't fault the property, we were all very comfortable throughout, a huge supply of timber meant that we had a roaring fire on a few evenings when the temperature had dropped and a huge supply of games and video's on the upstairs lounge provided plentiful entertainment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Huge rooms, plenty of space both inside and out.
Liked least: Nothing to criticise.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2016
Thank you so much for this review. I apologies for not having replied to you back in 2014. Thank you for coming and sharing your Mill experience on TripAdvisor. Hope to see you all again. Love from The Watson Family x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cara G
Broxburn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First Class accommmodation”
Reviewed 22 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

A fabulous renovation which has resulted in beautiful, unique accommodation. Every room is absolutely beautiful filled with character and so well equipped. The 2 dishwashers, steam room, sauna and bbq were all well appreciated and enjoyed. Everything you can possibly need has been thought of, better than a home from home!!! The lemon drizzle cake was also a lovely welcome surprise.

With one member of our party in a wheelchair we found the Mill perfect for the wheelchair, level access in double doors, plenty of room to move around and a small ramp to get through to the bedroom and bathroom.

The location was also wonderful, so peaceful but still close to Selkirk.

Will definitely recommend the Mill @ Lewinshope in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character and comfort of the property
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2016
Thank you for your kind review. Sorry I never responded back in 2014! Hope you are all well and hope to see you all again soon. Lulu and Johnny.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raghu V
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An outstanding holiday accommodation of very high standards that ticks all the boxes"”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We were two families each with 2 kids between the ages of 5 and 10 yrs, and our stay at The Mill was one of the best holidays we have had in a long time! The hosts were very welcoming and helpful and made us feel comfortable (the welcoming Lemon Drizzle cake made by Lulu, the hostess, deserves a special mention and was delicious).

The accommodation was of very high standards and very well appointed, including all the bedrooms and bathrooms. The fireplace with ample wood and the large kitchen were the places where the adults spent most of their time, while the kids thoroughly enjoyed the tennis court (which could also be converted to football pitch!), the TV/Blu Ray facilities and the outdoors (especially the see-saw). Given the great weather during our stay we were also able to use the outdoor barbeque equipment at The Mill.

The Mill is situated in a quiet and beautiful area with plenty of natural beauty and outdoor activities to do, and only a 1.5 hr drive away from the centre of Edinburgh. We also manged a day trip by car to the Highlands (Aviemore and Inverness) from here, but that needs an early start and a long day!

This is definitely a place I plan to revisit with my family for an excellent holiday experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: High quality of accommodation in all respects
Liked least: Electrified fence near the property
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2016
I know this review was back in 2014! I wanted to apologies for not responding back then. Thank you so much for the amazing review. We hope to see you again in the near future. Lulu and Johnny x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla M
Selkirk
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gorgeous stays year after year...”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Our very favourite place to spend time with the family year after year.

We love the beautiful setting in the spring and the roaring open fire at Christmas time

The rooms are beautifully thought out with personal touches and lovely smellies from "the tub" in the bathrooms which we always take advantage of

Would HIGHLY RECOMMEND a stay at The Mill to all - you will have a wonderful stay!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2016
Thanks Carla for your lovely review. I know you have come back just about every year with your family and you are always so complimentary. Love from The Watsons x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing