We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable, cosy and welcoming”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Tweed Cottage

Contemporary cottage central quiet  location. Free wifi and real log fire.  Peebles . Dining table 2
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Contemporary cottage central quiet  location. Free wifi and real log fire.  Peebles . Dining table 2
Contemporary kitchen. Glass hob. Microwave. Fridge freezer. Dishwasher. king bed laura ashley. additional single. spacious
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Contemporary cottage central quiet  location. Free wifi and real log fire.  Peebles . Dining table 2
Contemporary kitchen. Glass hob. Microwave. Fridge freezer. Dishwasher.
king bed laura ashley. additional single. spacious
Bathroom Shower over bath.
Patio private area enclosed belongs cottage . Not adjacent to cottage  but steps away
Complimentary Treats every visit .
Eastgate section of Peebles High Street where cottage is situated down a lane.
River Tweed runs through Peebles, Borders. Down hill from cottage one minute walk.
Ruins of Neidpath Castle. Thirty minute walk from cottage along river.
The Bridge Inn Peebles. Lovely Beer garden.
Cademuir Valley Peebles. Great walks all around town.
Town of Peebles . Photo Southside Photography Peebles
Jim Jacks Fish and Chips Peebles, cooked fresh on order. 2 mins walk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Peebles, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Kirgreen
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable, cosy and welcoming”
Reviewed 28 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed for a few days over Christmas 2015 and found this cottage warm and surprisingly spacious - especially the bedroom as there were 3 of us in the family and yet we did not feel cramped. We did not cook, but the kitchen was well stocked and a welcome pack of treats and essentials was left for us, which was a lovely touch.
The owner was easy to contact and helpful and she had decorated the cottage for Christmas, which made us feel especially welcomed. We even had snow on Christmas day! Definitely a place to return to.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2016
Thank you . Yes many places to eat within two minutes walk . Glad you enjoyed .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy E
East Dereham, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy, warm and so convenient!”
Reviewed 28 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I booked Tweed Cottage for a short break away on our own to relax and re-charge our batteries after a busy few months. The accommodation and location allowed us to do this and more. The cottage itself is very comfortable and decorated and equipped to a very high standard, and very homely. All the utensils and equipment worked, and all instructions easy to follow. The heating and hot water worked very quickly when needed. Communication with the owner before, during and after stay has been very easy. The bed upstairs was extremely comfortable with a great mattress and lovely linens. The real fire was such a treat to sit down with while watching Strictly Come Dancing with some bubbles! This was such an excellent location as the bus to Edinburgh is about a minute from the front door of the cottage, as are the rest of the amenities in the town; the shops in Peebles are great for mooching about. The walk along the river, especially in autumn, was wonderful. There are so many great drives in the Borders too! The indian restaurant on the high street and Jim Jack's fish & chip shop had great food, as did the Tontine Hotel...the meal we had there was delicious, their afternoon tea scrumptious and the lounge great for relaxing. My husband and I would definitely return to Tweed Cottage when we next need a little hide-a-way! Parking in the Eastgate Carpark is very close by and very easy to get to/inexpensive.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and bed
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2015
Glad you had a great time. Thank you for your review. Yes the car park is free six days per week and small charge Saturday think 20 p for 3 hours. Pleased to hear you enjoyed a few of the restaurants too.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose21290
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Warm comfortable modern cottage central location.”
Reviewed 27 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Warm and comfortable cottage in town centre. Quiet as quite far down a lane from the High Street. It also has double glazing. Gas central heating but also the option to use the real log fire. Very well equipped with everything thought of , down to even a First Aid Kit. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay , especially supping wine , watching DVDs in front of the log fire. A real treat. Lots to do in the area .

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2015
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarrieL19...
Newberg, Oregon
1 review
“A perfect cottage apartment for a weekend getaway in the Scottish border region”
Reviewed 20 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

I really enjoyed my stay at the Tweed Cottage. It is a 2 story cottage apartment nestled directly in the center of Peebles on the main road. It is walking distance to several dining and shopping options. The apartment features a nice living room with full kitchen and eating nook on the main floor, also providing a clothes washing machine and drying racks. The upper floor features a very large master bedroom with a king sized bed, plenty of storage, and a twin bed next to the window for a 2nd or 3rd guest (would work great for a small family or a girls weekend retreat). Next to the large bedroom is a full bathroom. I was greeted with a lovely welcome basket full of sweets and goodies to make my stay very nice.

My only suggestion (and this is really nitpicking since this place is soooo wonderful) is to provide some throw blankets for the downstairs living space and also an extra blanket or two upstairs for the beds. Because the heating is expensive on the owner to run and they suggestion is to only run it on a limited amount of time, it does get quite chilly in the house. Providing a blanket or two for the main floor will help it become a bit more cozy - especially for guests that do not want to operate/run the fireplace. Other suggestion would be to just type up the instructions book to make it easier on guests to read through the information and possibly organize the information based on category so it can easily be flipped through.

The wifi worked great! Plenty of utensils and basics in the kitchen to make your own meals. Very close to Sainsbury's (popular grocery chain here) as well as a butcher and bakery just across the road. Parking was easy - just up the road at the public parking lot (only have to pay on Saturdays for a small fee - all other days/times are free).

I would definitely recommend visitors to Peebles to stay here at Tweed Cottage. It is a lovely, charming and cozy cottage apartment with all the comforts of home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space/layout of the cottage and the location in Peebles.
Liked least: Quite chilly - just needed some additional blankets in the home.
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Oct 2015
Delighted you had such a good time in Peebles in our autumn/ winter season all the way from California. Yes it is very central and the trees are turning looks very seasonal. Just to add the central heating is unlimited and instant from a combi boiler. Easy instructions to turn on and off in the book. I only request Guests might turn off during the night if they are warm enough. I'm sorry I noticed the thermostat had been turned down on the boiler during your stay ( I have been told the cottage gets too warm before in a review ) , but that is now adjusted back to full so the radiators stay on at full heat. All simple instructions hand written in the house keeping book inside. Just a few pages. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in the Borders and hope to see you back. Haste ye back and thank you for your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norene R
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ideal holiday rental and location.”
Reviewed 15 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Tweed Cottage was a fantastic self catering rental. It came equipped with every home amenity one requires daily. The location was perfect as it was central and very close to restaurants, shops and tourist attractions.There were lots of brochures to tourist attractions and restaurants along with suggestions of popular places to visit. We arrived to a yummy basket of goodies including sweets and coffee. Our hostess had fresh flowers for us on our arrival. She also went above and beyond when we locked ourselves out of our rental by driving a distance from out of town to respond ue us. We would stay there again should we come back to Scotland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Oct 2015
So glad you enjoyed your stay all the way over from beautiful Canada. Thought fresh flowers be a nice touch considering your distance travelled. Also the welcome basket nice to have something on arrival.
Many thanks for your review and do hope to see you back. Best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing