We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location”

Review of Tantah Croft

Tantah Croft front
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Tantah Croft front
Front and porch Rear patio garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Tantah Croft front
Front and porch
Rear patio garden
Rear patio garden
Rear patio garden looking west
Living area
Dining/kitchen area
Kitchen area
Kitchen area
Hallway
Double bedroom
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Peebles, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
StanissaB
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location”
Reviewed 14 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Great holiday let. Lovely, warm, modern and clean. Perfect location for mountain biking in Glentress. Also great walks from the garden gate in the surrounding countryside. Being from the Lake District it takes a lot to impress us when it comes to scenery/views, I can definitely say that the countryside surrounding Peebles is stunning and the view from the cottage was lovely. A gem of a place. Our children enjoyed the visiting chickens in the morning and loved the cottage. Pity we didn't have warmer weather to enjoy the new decking area! We will definitely consider staying again for another biking holiday with the children. Peebles is a lovely town with good parks for the kids and a good swimming pool.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2017
Thanks so much for your kind review, we'll work on getting better weather for your next stay! Mike and Les
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kraziekat...
Armadale, United Kingdom
1 review
“Birthday Bliss”
Reviewed 21 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Amazing hidden gem of a place! Went up last weekend with my husband, 3 friends and the 2 dogs for my birthday! Really nicely set out inside with cosy wood burner, perfect for this time of year and free, free range eggs from the owners which were delicious! And beautiful country walks, right outside the back gate!I would definitely recommend a weekend away at least and we are already planning our next visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2017
Hlad you enjoyed your stay and the eggs, we'll make sure the ladies are laying for you next time you come! Mike and Les
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry S
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Relaxing weekend ”
Reviewed 30 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We've just spent the weekend at tanta croft, I have to say it was a fantastic place to stay, plenty of indoor and outdoor space, a great base for exploring the local amenities. on arrival Mike greeted us with a warm welcome and showed us round the house,3 very nice bedrooms, 2 bathrooms,large open plan living/dining area , all excellent outside the patio area had loads of space for the bbq and tables, chairs etc . We had our dog with us an he too had plenty of space to run around and enjoy the place. I have no hesitation in recommending tanta croft to anyone visiting Peebles for a relaxing break or a base when you are mountain biking, walking, fishing etc. Thanks Mike we'd love to return at some point.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2017
Thanks so much for your kind review, really appreciated, look forward to seeing you again soon. Mike and Les
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacktimbe...
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good location but needing attention inside house”
Reviewed 21 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Approach to this house was spoilt by a very untidy little garden however inside was fine but needing some attention eg some kitchen utensils past their best and some areas needing a good clean. Linen,towels and beds were very good but our biggest upset was the lack of curtains or adequate blinds in the bedrooms.
Mike, the owner resolved the lack of Olympic coverage for us very quickly and eventually an aerial was added to fix the problem. We appreciated the eggs and tea bags etc.
The rear of the house was lovely with direct exit onto the beautiful hills around Peebles. Excellent walks for those who were fit. We enjoyed our week there especially the peace and lovely views.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location,views .
Liked least: Bedrooms
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2016
Dorothy thank you for choosing to spend your 80th birthday with us at Tantah Croft and thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

Tantah Croft is equipped with a Smart TV and Apple TV. This provides our guests with full access to BBC, ITV, Channel Four, Chanel 5 etc. It also provides our guests with free access to Netflix.

On your arrival we set up your mobile device with Tantah Croft's smart TV and Apple TV which gave you full access to all the BBC's coverage of the Olympics.

We were clearly aware that you would be more comfortable using a more conventional system. In order to make viewing of the Olympic coverage easier for you and potentially future guests that may have a similar preference for how the access TV, we installed an additional TV system.

Within 24 hours we arranged for an engineer to install Free View TV while you were out so as to not interfere with your stay.

We are particularly disappointed with this review, as, we take pride in responding to all our guests’ requirements as is evidenced by the effort we went to in providing you with an additional TV system that you would feel more familiar and comfortable using. We can assure you that we would have dealt with other issues you were unhappy about with the same enthusiasm as we did in solving your difficulties with our TV system.

We will contact you directly to discuss your specific points so we can address them. In the meantime, as this review is now available online to read, our immediate response to the specific points are below:
· The ‘garden’ at the front of Tantah Croft Eco-house is actually a wildflower meadow, containing dozens of Scottish native plants and it has been carefully cultivated over the past 4 years to attract the bees from our hive and other wildlife. Anyone who has tried to grow a wildflower meadow will know how tricky they are to manage and how they can often look bedraggled and untidy, particularly after a period of heavy rainfall, as was the case in this instance.
· We would appreciate more specifics on the kitchen utensils as we recently replaced much of the stock and there was nothing which appeared unsafe or unusable when we did our pre-guest checks, so keen to understand if we missed something.
· We would also appreciate more specifics on what areas you felt required more cleaning, as again, the Croft passed our pre-guest inspection, so again, we're keen to understand what we missed or may need to add to or pre-guest inspection check list.
· Not sure why the bedroom blinds were considered inadequate. We have full length panel curtains in all the bedrooms that cover the windows completely and offer complete privacy whilst letting in a certain amount of daylight – would ‘black-out’ panel curtains be preferred?

We have your email address and will follow up directly with you in the next day or two. Thanks again for your input, Mike and Les
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mdw85
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect spot for a Mountain Biking Weekend”
Reviewed 26 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I booked Tantah croft after finding it on Trip Advisor. It served as a base for myself and four friends for a weekend of mountain biking. Very very nice experience. The owner helped with logistics to make sure our arrival was smooth. We had ample space to store and clean lots of bikes. Really enjoyed picking fresh veg from the veg plot for cooking on the saturday night and had lovely poached egg from the hens one morning. The croft was very warm and light. Highly recommended

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hens, Garden, light seating area
Liked least: Woodfired hot water stove takes a bit of care, but works well with the right attention.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2016
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and would like to thank you for your wonderful feedback. Hopefully we'll see again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$140
/ Night
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing