We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (473)
Filter reviews
473 results
Traveller rating
136
142
82
62
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
136
142
82
62
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviews highland heritage coach driver ian cleaver coach holiday sea view long journey coach parties evening entertainment breakfast and dinner seil island lovely position oban bay biscuits bar prices twin beds fantastic views single room
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 473 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2018

This is not a hotel to go to if you are independent travelers. This is a coach trip orientated hotel and everything about it is geared to coach holidaymakers.
The room
We stayed in room 2. £496 for three nights b&b
Beautiful room with wonderful sea views.
Clean and tidy, plenty of storage.
Curtains would not draw fully as have been hung incorrectly and it would be easy to see the mistake and rectify it but I am guessing no one in management is reviewing the rooms. It sounds petty but it disturbed our sleep.
Bed was comfortable and clean. Good stocked hospitality tray.
The biggest let down was the bathroom. Very small. Door cheap and cheerful and very thin! No where to put personal toiletries . Very lose toilet seat. Cheapest toilet paper you could imagine. Very hot water. Daily towel exchange.
Considering this was an executive room there was no clock and NO PHONE!
The restaurant
Looks impressive and comfortable.
Set up for coach trips. Independent travelers, in our opinion, were almost second class guests.
Breakfast
Cold and coagulated is about the best you can say.
Twice we had to send tea back as it was delivered to our table cold.
I was in the middle of eating when the waiter tried to take my plate away.
Dinner
We only ate dinner in the hotel once, could not tolerate another night.
The menu is very limited set menu for the coach trips. No a la carte menu.It is not even published until mid afternoon. We asked for the menu in the morning but reception said they had no idea until after lunch! We ate there on our first night. Waited ages to have order taken as coach travelers given priority. When the food did arrive the order was mixed up. The food was cold, it appeared we were getting after the coach trips were served and am guessing much of it is pre plated and left sitting before it is served.
The bar.
The bar area is small. One bar tender when lucky as often unattended.
The prices are reasonable.
The three nights we were there there was no draught beer. No one seemed bothered or could give an explanation why or when it would be fixed.
The entertainment
One singer singing to recorded backing track. Same singer with same songs every night. She did her best!
The staff
Language is a problem.
The staff are from all over and some with limited english. It was difficult to make ourselves understood at times.
We do believe the staff tried their best but it was clear from the start both in restaurant and general duties their was no direction, no supervision and certainly no training. Summed up simply appalling.
Should there be no one on reception just go out the back door, seems to be the staff smoking area.
To sum up we paid way more than what we received and it was certainly not value for money. The best thing about it for us was the view from the room,location and adequate parking.
We would not even want to do a coach holiday here let alone book again as independent travelers.
Very let down and disappointed.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel
Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank ages698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mihaela P, General Manager at Muthu Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments on your recent stay with us. On behalf of our entire team, please accept our apologies for not being able to meet your expectations. Our customers satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback that you gave us to implement improvements and to ensure we offer a better experience for our guest in the future. I hope you will consider in staying with us again in the future so we can have the chance to show improvements.

Kind regards

Mihaela Penciu
General Manager
Muthu Alexandra Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018

Well appointed Hotel but spoiled by atrocious service. Good food but buffet breakfast ran out of items every day. One day there were no plates! Room was ok, bed very comfortable but no beakers in bathroom and no tea bags or biscuits were left on 2 occasions. In the dining room the window box plants were dead or dying due to lack of water. Neither the advertised swimming pool nor ballroom were open. The entertainment was minimal and disappointing. The lift broke with 6 people inside and was not repaired for three days. A disabled person who needed the lift was not offered a change of room on the ground floor until The manager was repeatedly hassled. A woman who had a heart attack was shown little concern or help by the Manager. There seemed to be a total lack of management and direction of staff. We stayed here in 2015 and had an excellent holiday with no complaints. Since changing ownership it has sadly gone downhill.

Room Tip: Room with sea view (supplement)
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank _jspaseng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mihaela P, General Manager at Muthu Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2018

Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments on your recent stay with us. On behalf of our entire team i would like to apologies for all the inconveniences that you had during your stay with us. Our customers satisfaction is important to us and i can assure you that we will take this matter further and we will use your feedback to implement improvements and to ensure we offer a better experience to our guest in the future.
We hope you will not let this to mark your perception on the hotel and you will give us the opportunity to show improvements.

Kind regards,

Mihaela Penciu
General Manager
Muthu Alexandra Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018

We asked for a sea view room. When we arrived was a sea view room but one tiny window..The room was only fit for a single person. The bed only 3/4 size . There was no wardrobe and no coat hangers. We complained but had to pay for an upgrade.. we did then have a suite which was excellent with a lounge plus superior bedroom!
The hotel has been refurbished to a good standard. The food on the whole was good, although certain people said it was cold when it arrived. The organisation in the dining room was shambolic! They would take your order and then have no idea what you had ordered when it came to table. They really need to train their staff!
My husband hadron go to reception,there was no one there, He went through to the back and they were just sitting talking.
This hotel has a lot of potential but needs good management,

Room Tip: Seaview. The suites are excellent but I don’t recommend one of the back rooms
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mihaela P, General Manager at Muthu Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2018

Dear Sue K

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback on your recent stay with us. On behalf of our entire team i would like to apologies for not being able to exceed your expectations.Our customers satisfaction is important to us and we will use your comments to bring improvements and to ensure we offer a better experience to our customers. I can assure you that i will investigate all the points that you have mentioned and will bring them to the attention of our team. I hope you will consider in staying with us again so that we can have the opportunity to show improvements.


Kind Regards

Mihaela Penciu
General Manager
Muthu Alexandra Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018

The service was not organised had to get knives from trolley ,as hey were not on the table for toast some people got served on a table others did not .I waited one night 1hour and 15 mins ,had to complain quite a few times for various things that was wrong .I went with Highland heritage tours never again ,I was on my own one trip on a train I was not seated with the group ,I was seated with foreigners no one to talk to I thought that was disgusting never again

Room Tip: Do not eat there
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barrassmuriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mihaela P, General Manager at Muthu Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2018

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time lo leave us your comments on your recent stay with us. On behalf of our entire team, i would like to apologies for all the inconveniences that you had during your stay with us. Our customer satisfaction is very important to us and we will be using your feedback to bring improvements and to ensure we offer a better experience to our guest in the future. I hope you will consider to visit us again so we can have the opportunity to show improvements.

Kind regards

Mihaela Penciu
General Manager
Muthu Alexandra Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018 via mobile

My husband and I stayed 3 nights in this hotel. We had a second floor corner room and we got a perfect view. The hotel is older and there have been some updates. There is a bathtub which is a plus. There are definitely some improvements that can be made. The hotel needs a detailed cleaning. There was dust on the curtains and the bathroom smelled.

The food could also be improved. There times that items were run out. They ran out of milk so no one could have cereal. They did not keep track of what was running out so they could replenish in time for people coming in to eat.

We tried having dinner one evening and there was no one to greet us so we left. Never got to eat diner there.

The staff are friendly and helpful.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mihaela P, General Manager at Muthu Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2018

Dear Nancy

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor. We are happy to see you have enjoyed the surrounding views of our Hotel. On behalf of our entire team i would like to apologies for not being able to exceed your expectations. I will take your comments further and will inform our team about the negatives that you have found during your stay with us. Our customer satisfaction is important to us and i can assure you that we will use your feedback to show improvements. I hope you will visit again in the future and you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a superior service.


Kind regards

Mihaela Penciu
General Manager
Muthu Alexandra Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews