We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“home from home”
other travellers have booked this property
Beautiful listed building in a quiet lane in the centre of town and close to all Angus has to offer.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful listed building in a quiet lane in the centre of town and close to all Angus has to offer.
Large lounge seats 10. Ornamental ceiling, free WiFi, games, books and hand carved oak fireplace.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
47 reviews
Beautiful listed building in a quiet lane in the centre of town and close to all Angus has to offer.
Large lounge seats 10. Ornamental ceiling, free WiFi, games, books and hand carved oak fireplace.
Part of the Heritage Trail this 19th century Home is full of quirkyness and charm.
Newly fitted kitchen, fully equipped, includes d/washer, w/machine and fridge freezer.
New units and worktops, include various dried goods, and larder staples.
We cater for guests visiting for special family occasions.
Special Occasion? We will bake you a cake.
Large entrance hall with maps, local information and carry out menus.
The ground floor family room has double bed, cot and adjacent single room with single pine bed.
This suite sleeps 2 adults, and baby cot, and small room off with adult size single pine bed,
Newly fitted WC and wash hand basin adjacent to the Green Room.
White porcelain 2 piece suite, with mains mixer tap.
Balcony landing with stained glass window.
Large first floor bedroom with antique wardrobe, king size bed and views to Balmashanner Hill.
Another upper floor bedroom sleeps 3, with bunks.
Bathroom with over bath shower. Complimentary toiletries. Shower stool and bath seat provided.
Large basement games room, sleeps up to 3, with pool table, table tennis table and table football.
This has 3 windows opening to the rear, and incorporates its own bathroom.
Roomy bathroom with 4 piece suite and a sit down shower.
View from our upstairs lounge.
Drive easily parks two vehicles. At a push 3.
Paved, gated, and fully enclosed garden.
BBQ Patio and gazebo.
Bike storage.
Blossom in Spring.
Apple tree.
Lovely park not 5 minutes away.
Forfar Loch - a nature reserve and playground. Sailing, canoeing and a leisure centre.
A friendly town where you can explore this lovely area. We look forward to welcoming you xxxx
Our Local pub, antique shop, fish and chip shop and sweetie shop leading through to the town centre.
All ready and dressed for our Festive Guests. We can do other celebrations too.
The Balmashanner monument stands over Forfar, and can be seen, over rooftops from the Blue Room.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Forfar, Angus, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
ronaldcon...
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“GLENISLA HOUSE FORFAR”
Reviewed 20 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The house was a perfect size for our family of 5 adults and 4 children.It was well equipped.Forfar was a good location for our short visit.Unfortunatly the house was not very clean the kitchen equipment was very greasy and we had to wash most things before we could use it.The children had to wear their outdoor shoes indoors to avoid ruining all their socks as the floors and carpets were rather dirty it was such a shame but because of that we will probably not visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2017
Dear Ron, Thank you for taking the time to review Glenisla House. I am glad the house was able to accommodate you all so easily, and that you appreciated the lovely area we all live in. As for your other comments, I must admit I was rather taken aback to be honest. So I will make a few comments in reply. We had spoken on the phone twice prior to your arrival, during which I had asked you about any specific requirements. You explained you were bringing a very young baby, and would be using our baby cot. The second call was to give you directions and make an appointment with you to meet you personally to show you round the house and hand over your keys. You all arrived and I was greeted with smiles from you and your daughter and the children, albeit an hour late. Your wife did not introduce herself and was abrupt to the point of rudeness. I was so puzzled, remember, that I asked you if I had done anything to upset her. She told me the children were hungry, so did not come round the house with us. I pointed out our welcome pack which included Forfar Bridies, bacon, eggs, sugar, tea, milk, coffee, cheese and biscuits, bread, jam, wine, fruit, and juice for the children. I don't remember being thanked. As she and the other adults went for fish and chips. I showed you round the rest of the house. When she returned, she looked through all the cupboards for plates to serve food on and where everything was kept. She was happy to serve food on our crockery and use our cutlery. I would have thought she would have said something about their cleanliness seeing I was still standing in the kitchen at the time. As for the carpets being dirty, we only have 2 carpets in the house in 2 of the bedrooms, the rest is hard flooring. The carpet in the green room is brand new this year, and the blue room one is only 3 years old. Both are shampooed between guests. We do have scatter rugs. If you remember, when I took you in to the upstairs lounge, the floor was still drying from my just having washed over all the hard floors with Flash and Zoflora. The rugs also had been shampooed, and sprayed with Dettol spray. We were very aware prior to your arrival that you were bringing a small baby with you. We therefore took the opportunity, a few days before your visit, to do a deep clean of the whole house seeing we had no guests that week. I supervised personally in that procedure. Every plate, cooking pot and utensil was washed in our dishwasher supplied. Every cupboard was emptied, disinfected and restocked. The fridge and freezer got the same treatment. All our rugs were shampooed on the basis that we are dog friendly and we paid particular attention to that. I paid 4 cleaners for 4 hours each to go over the house with a fine tooth comb. I know you brought your own baby bedding with you. Ours we supplied however was new. Our teddy bear was washed at 60 degrees. We supply cleaning materials and soap powder free of charge.The majority of our guests do take their shoes off when they come in, as we do. I suppose that is courtesy. The fact you thought it was appropriate to wear your outside shoes throughout our House, given that often you would have being carrying dirt in in the rain you had during your stay, does show a certain lack of consideration towards us and future guests. We supply a hoover and floor cleaning equipment for guests use. There was certainly consternation when we found a child's pink outside shoe in our baby cot on our new bedding. I will be happy to return it to you if you supply an address. I did call you the day after your arrival to see if you were happy with everything. You did not return that call or another subsequent one. At no point during your stay did you contact us to express any complaint. You sent a text on departure to let me know you had left. Luckily we inspected the property a few hours after that. We found that although you had locked the door, you had left the ground floor green room window unlocked, and open by 6 inches to the Lane. Had we been burgled, that would have negated our contents insurance. Nevertheless your deposit was repaid in full. I appreciate your comment that you will not be staying with us again. Regards Anne.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas M
2 reviews
“home from home”
Reviewed 19 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

stayed for two weeks when working away from home great place .and thank you Ann the welcome was fantastic made our stay very homely

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2017
Dear All, It was really good to have you all stay with us, and that you felt it was a home from home. That is what we hope it to be for those who come here. We appreciate how well you all took care of the House, and glad that you were able to use the new high speed WiFi, which was installed the day you arrived, and test it to the full. I am not sure if you had time to take advantage of going fishing, but will make sure we can sort that out for you locally the next time you are here. We look forward to seeing you again. You will always be welcome. Kind regards Anne.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 May 2017
Dear Dawn, Thank you so much for your kind comments. Our wee Team does work hard, so your feedback is really appreciated. The house is quirky to be sure. It does have a 200 year old history. We are so glad you had fun at Bonfest, and we are very lucky to be in the midst of such a friendly community. Hopefully, the next time you stay with us, you will have time to explore all the other attractions which surround us. You were lovely guests and we look forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards Anne.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rob B
Peak District, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Glenisla House revisited”
Reviewed 26 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Just back from a weeks holiday in Forfar, and used Glenisla house as our base. This was our second stay there, and enjoyed the facilities of the house and the convenience of it's location. Our dog also enjoyed the garden. Thanks Ann for your welcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house is peaceful, yet close to town centre.
Liked least: Very hot water
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Nov 2016
It was lovely to have you and Ruth back to stay again. I hope you and your family enjoyed your break . It is always a pleasure to have previous guests come 'Home'. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind regards Anne.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deva S
1 review
“Great place to hang out with Friends”
Reviewed 17 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Handy location, helpful owner and nice house to hang with Friends. Games room is a load of fun. Its all good.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2016
It was lovely to have you all stay with us, and are glad you had a good time. You were charming guests, and appreciate the care you took of the House. We would like to welcome you back again in the future. Kind regards Anne.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing