We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing and comfortable”
other travellers have booked this property
Beautiful listed building in a quiet lane in the centre of town and close to all Angus has to offer.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful listed building in a quiet lane in the centre of town and close to all Angus has to offer.
Large lounge seats 10. Ornamental ceiling, free WiFi, games, books and hand carved oak fireplace.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
49 reviews
Beautiful listed building in a quiet lane in the centre of town and close to all Angus has to offer.
Large lounge seats 10. Ornamental ceiling, free WiFi, games, books and hand carved oak fireplace.
Part of the Heritage Trail this 19th century Home is full of quirkyness and charm.
Newly fitted kitchen, fully equipped, includes d/washer, w/machine and fridge freezer.
New units and worktops, include various dried goods, and larder staples.
We cater for guests visiting for special family occasions.
Special Occasion? We will bake you a cake.
Large entrance hall with maps, local information and carry out menus.
The ground floor family room has double bed, cot and adjacent single room with single pine bed.
This suite sleeps 2 adults, and baby cot, and small room off with adult size single pine bed,
Newly fitted WC and wash hand basin adjacent to the Green Room.
White porcelain 2 piece suite, with mains mixer tap.
Balcony landing with stained glass window.
Large first floor bedroom with antique wardrobe, king size bed and views to Balmashanner Hill.
Another upper floor bedroom sleeps 3, with bunks.
Bathroom with over bath shower. Complimentary toiletries. Shower stool and bath seat provided.
Large basement games room, sleeps up to 3, with pool table, table tennis table and table football.
This has 3 windows opening to the rear, and incorporates its own bathroom.
Roomy bathroom with 4 piece suite and a sit down shower.
View from our upstairs lounge.
Drive easily parks two vehicles. At a push 3.
Paved, gated, and fully enclosed garden.
BBQ Patio and gazebo.
Bike storage.
Blossom in Spring.
Apple tree.
Lovely park not 5 minutes away.
Forfar Loch - a nature reserve and playground. Sailing, canoeing and a leisure centre.
A friendly town where you can explore this lovely area. We look forward to welcoming you xxxx
Our Local pub, antique shop, fish and chip shop and sweetie shop leading through to the town centre.
All ready and dressed for our Festive Guests. We can do other celebrations too.
The Balmashanner monument stands over Forfar, and can be seen, over rooftops from the Blue Room.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Forfar, Angus, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Paringaja...
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing and comfortable”
Reviewed 1 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Thank you Anne for the warm welcome and the delicious welcome pack! What a super home, and that's what it is a home from home..very relaxing and cosy.Lots of space. If you have a large group it's the place to go. Near the shops, everything at hand,couldn't be more centralized yet in a quiet area.There is also a super games room down stairs, safe place for kids to play...all in all a great weekend...Thank you so much.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Apr 2015
Dear Jane it was a pleasure to have you stay. I am glad you enjoyed your break and look forward to your next visit. You will be more than welcome. Kind regards Anne.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy W
1 review
“spacious house in great location”
Reviewed 9 February 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed at Glenisla House over the New Year period. It was great to find a property which could take us all under one roof (6 adults and 3 children). The house was homely but spacious enough that we didn't get in each other's way. It is situated on a quiet street with offstreet parking but only a minute or two walk to the centre of Forfar. We didn't get too much of a chance to explore the surrounding area but this would be a great base.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Feb 2015
Dear Joyce, It was a pleasure to have you stay, and thank you for your kind comments. We hope you enjoyed your New Year with us, and would love to have you back to stay, when you could spend more time exploring. We look forward to seeing you all again. Kind regards Anne and Dave.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrIIffith...
Batley, United Kingdom
1 review
“A lovely house with a warm welcome and homely feel”
Reviewed 10 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here, we got a lovely warm welcome from Anne and the house was clean, comfortable and homely, we are looking forward to staying there again and would recommend it to anyone especially if they are looking for accommodation for a few people, there was 10 of us and we still had plenty of room to have our own personal space

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Nov 2014
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay, and that the Wedding all went to plan. It was a pleasure to have you all visit, and look forward to seeing you again when you next come to Forfar.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EwenS67
St Andrews
2 reviews
“Lovely house in great position.”
Reviewed 29 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

After a very friendly welcome with lots of our questions on what to do, see & eat answered we discovered that this quaint cottage is also situated in an ideal position not just for the town but for Angus. Forfar Loch provides a great way to start the day either walking or jogging and as it was an outdoor break we were looking for we found The Glens almost on our doorstep. Glen Doll cannot be missed! The Cliffs at Arbroath are also stunning and for light relief a trip to see JM Barries birthplace only 10 minutes drive away was also interesting to see what inspired him to write Peter Pan. The house is well equipped and cosy and my son enjoyed the games room in the basement.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and input. Angus is a lovely part of the world, and we are glad that you enjoyed what it has to offer. It was lovely to have to stay, and hope you will be back. We look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Splendid!”
Reviewed 23 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed at Glenisla in August for the AC/DC festival in nearby Kirriemuir.
A beautiful cottage in the lovely town of Forfar, run by a very warm and charming Scottish lady (Anne) who I am now happy to call my friend :-). She catered for our every need and truly made our stay that little bit extra special.
As for the cottage itself - Very spacious, spotlessly clean, fully stocked with all the essentials with the odd treat thrown in (local cheese and bacon, traditional oatmeal cakes and home made patties!).
A perfect base situated at the gateway to the magnificent Scottish Highlands - Glenisla gets a genuine 10 out of 10 from me!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about my stay was just great!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments. It was lovely having you all to stay, and we are glad you enjoyed Bonfest. We would be delighted to see you all next year.. Maybe for a little longer perhaps so you can see all the other things there are to do in Angus. Haste ye back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing