We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Drom Aluinn”
other travellers have booked this property
The lounge features a log burning stove
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The lounge features a log burning stove
The lounge includes seating for six
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
The lounge features a log burning stove
The lounge includes seating for six
Fully equipped kitchen
Bedroom two with a double bed
Bedroom one features a King sized bed that splits into two singles
View of Slieve Donard and The Mournes from the back garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Newcastle, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
LoveLifeL...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Drom Aluinn”
Reviewed 8 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We are just returning from a week in this beautiful holiday cottage. Me and my husband stayed here with friends inc 3 children aged 1,2 and 6. The house is well sized and immaculately decorated with plenty of parking. The real winner is the proximity to Newcastle and all it has to offer come rain (of which we saw a fair bit... April lived up to its showery reputation) or shine. We have walked with butterflies, cycled around castle lakes, got lost in a maze, drawn shapes on the beach and marvelled at coastal and seaside views. All from a well equipped, well positioned and well designed Base with a view from the kitchen window that will take your breath away. Can't recommend this place highly enough. Where the mountains of Mourne sweep down to the sea...

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100Howard
Hillsborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“ideal spot for RCD golf or Slieve Donard wedding”
Reviewed 5 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We were very impressed with this house.

it is presented very simply but with excellent taste.

The photos do not deceive, the house is compact but very sensibly laid out, we never felt claustrophobic.

The garden works well.

The location is excellent for golf and weddings, and there are 3 restaurants within walking distance, one excellent,Vanilla, and the other two, Spice, and Villa Vinci, very good.

Have no hesitation renting here, you won't be disappointed

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob T
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great base for exploring the mourne mountains and surrounding area”
Reviewed 17 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is quite possibly one of the best places my wife and I have ever stayed in. The house was well equipped with everything you could need. The furniture, fixtures and fitting are all good quality with some really nice local touches such as pictures and paintings. the garden which we didn't get to use looked like it would be great in the summer. Tollymore country park is only 2 miles up the road the main town centre and its amenities literally a five minute walk. The views from the conservatory and kitchen across to the Mourne Mountains is fantastic. This house would be great for families or couples to base themselves for an exploration of the wider area. If you are into golf which we aren't then the links course is on the doorstep. Whilst close to the town the street is nice and quiet. We would definitely return for a longer trip in the future

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greg64201...
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fantastic house”
Reviewed 10 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

It is a lovely house in a good location very close to the town and the beach . With a lot of good bars and restaurants close by. The house itself is clean and nicely decorated. With 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms 6 people can stay comfortably. The kitchen is well equipped and very spacious. The view from the back garden of the mourne mountains is breath taking! Myself and my family had a wonderful holiday in this beautiful house. I would highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the whole experience
Liked least: I have no criticism
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeniseGlo
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect all round holiday home”
Reviewed 27 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A wonderful property,
well equipped with good quality furniture and fittings, fresh and clean, convenient for shops, seafront and golf course, and lovely mountain views.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing