We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Place”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
67 reviews
Gym at the Clubhouse
Gym at the Clubhouse
Clubhouse
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Newcastle, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 67 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
David M
Portglenone, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Place”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Just back from a very relaxed and enjoyable week with the family. The Cottage is situated in the grounds of Tollymore Forest Park. Which in itself is just beautiful, The Gatelodge is extremely comfortable with everything you might need. The garden at the back is a sun trap and we were lucky to have amazing weather for the week.

I would and have reccommended it to friends and family. It is a place you would certainly go back to.

One small draw back is if you have teenage kids the tv reception and wifi isnt great and on our next trip with the kids I will bring a external dvd player or a usb stick full of movies for them to watch......however, this is just a heads up and not a criticism of the Cottage. There are plenty of things to do for those who dont care about this sort of thing.

The Cottage is very well kept and extremeley clean. There are plenty of logs and coal to burn in the multifuel burner or oil if you need it and even when not lit we found it very warm.

All in all a wonderful place to stay and we all agree, we cant wait to go back.

Places to check out...'One Life', in Castlewellen for adventure activities and the 'Mourne Archery centre'. Great value for money and just a drive up the road.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Its location
Liked least: TV reception
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2014
The park is just beautiful in the full glow of summer and prefect for small families to explore together. Glad you loved your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidSBea...
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Amazing location”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

A beautiful place to stay, right in the grounds of Tollymore Forest Park. No better base for walks in the forest. Great to find a dog friendly place to stay!

The gate lodge is well equipped with everything you could possibly need during your stay.

Beautifully furnished and to a high standard, e.g leather recliners in the lounge, solid wood beds and furniture.

The garden an added bonus, with benches and a table and BBQ. The garden is not currently secure for dogs but this could easily be rectified, and the garden could be enjoyed by all!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2014
Dogs are most welcome, I think they love this place as much as their owners. Glad you had a great stay and hope to welcome you back at some stage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica G
Belfast
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Tollymore Forest Park right on your doorstep”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

My wife and I stayed in the Gate Lodge for a weekend in May and we thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The Gate Lodge is very deceiving from the outside and we found it was really spacious and comfortable with everything you need. The building has retained a lot of it's original features that gives it it's overall charm. Tollymore Forest Park is literally on your doorstep which was an added bonus for us as we love the walks through the grounds. We would certainly recommend staying here and we intend to return in the future.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2014
Thank you very much for the good review. We work hard to make sure our guests have a great time - glad we succeeded. You are welcome back any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve S
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent for a relaxing weekend with the family.”
Reviewed 19 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We loved our stay in the Gate Lodge. Nestled beside the exit of the park, the cottage gives you the whole of Tollymore Forest Park as your own garden. A short walk takes you to the main car park area from which you can set off to explore the well marked paths; our kids (both under 12) loved exploring and loved discovering the stepping stones across the river.
The cottage itself is wonderful - old and quaint with thick walls, plenty of design features and oozing character. The bedrooms are sizeable, comfortable and warm. We found everything we needed in the well appointed kitchen and the lounge was a good spot to rest our weary legs. Outside there are some benches which seemed to be in perpetual sunshine!
We'd recommend this to any family, especially as we could take the family dog too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 May 2014
Thanks for staying with us and thanks for leaving the place so spotlessly clean. Much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andik27
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect location, lovely house”
Reviewed 17 May 2014 for a stay in August 2013

I stayed for a weekend and was delighted with my stay. I found the cottage to be so cosey and it had everything I needed. The location is magical with all of the Tollymore walks and cycles on your doorstep. I'll definitely be back

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2014
Cycling here is something special. So many trails that are usually deserted. Glad you had a magical stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing