We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place to holiday family & friends”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Capel Cartref

Exterior of Capel Cartref
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior of Capel Cartref
Spacious and Warm Lounge & Gallery Another lounge photo because I love it there!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
114 reviews
Exterior of Capel Cartref
Spacious and Warm Lounge & Gallery
Another lounge photo because I love it there!
Kitchen & Dining Area - spacious and well-equipped - Now with a large table!
Gallery - now with comfy sofas - must udpate photo!
Main Bedroom, 1st Floor
Twin Room, 1st Floor
Double Room, 1st Floor
Double Bedroom 1, Ground Floor
Double Bedroom 2, Ground Floor
Main Bedroom (Again), showing Balcony
Main Bathroom, 1st Floor
En-suite Shower Room (off main bedroom)
Ground Floor Wet Room with power shower
Heron in River nearby the chapel's river bank
Henrhyd Falls, Brecon Beacons - come stand behind it and just listen...
Rhossili, Gower Peninsula!  Whatever the weather - it's a MUST!
Brecon Beacons in the Snow - what a day that was!
Rhossili Bay - breathtaking views!
PLEASE HELP US END PUPPY FARMING BY SIGNING THE PETITION
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Converted chapel -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Swansea, Swansea County, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 114 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Coral V
Maidenhead
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to holiday family & friends”
Reviewed 24 October 2011 for a stay in October 2010
1
person found this review helpful

The chapel is a unique character holiday home which is spacious, well equipped and very comfortable, and provides everthing you need for an enjoyable holiday.
The property, which backs onto a stream with outside decking and 1st floor balcony overlooking it, is ideally placed for for exploring both the Gower and the Brecon Beacons

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size and uniqueness of the building
Liked least: nothing really
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Nov 2011
Hello and thank you for your review. I believe you visited Capel Cartref twice in 2010 and discovered sights that we had yet to visit. Aberdulais Falls is another place to explore and Afan Park - both breathtaking and not too far from the chapel - fabulous! Thank you once again for your review, kind regards, Marnie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leela789
tadley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic accomodation, beautiful surroundings, an amazing relaxing holiday.”
Reviewed 25 September 2011 for a stay in June 2010
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at the Chapel in June 2010 with a group of friends. The accomodation was really good. The rooms were a good size and the bathrooms were of a high standard. The chapel was very clean and the beds were comfortable. The communal area's were large enough for our our group of six people, to mill around in and not feel confined to one area. The kitchen was fully fitted out with all appliances you would need to cook meals in.
The chapel had a river at the bottom of the garden, which was beautiful. Nearby there were plenty of attractions to explore including a waterfall which was enormous and fascinating to explore.
Overall I would highly recommend staying there. The whole experience was inspiring, I would definately go again.
Lee Scott

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it.
Liked least: There was nothing I did not enjoy.
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Nov 2011
Hello there, I remember your visit to Capel Cartref and I thank you for your lovely feedback. We hope you can return again soon in order to see more of the surrounding area, ie. The Black Mountains, Rhosilli (The Gower Peninsula), Brecon Beacons, Afan Park - there is so much more to see and to enjoy - we're still discovering them ourselves. Thank you once again for your review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liep
Maidenhead
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Amazing self-catering accommodation”
Reviewed 14 September 2011 for a stay in May 2011
4
people found this review helpful

I truly recommend Capel Cartef, a luxurious and modern converted chapel in the heart of Brecon Beacon. This holiday home is extremely spacious and offers everything from dishwasher, flat screen telly, wet room to egg cups! The location is ideal for a walking or cycling (loads of hills!) holiday/ weekend. There is also a good selection of impressive waterfalls as well as the stunning Dan yr Ogof Caves only a short drive away. In case you don't feel like cooking, the Mole a cosy pub/ restaurant is within short walking distance.We can't wait to go back to Capel Cartref.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2011
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. I'm glad you enjoyed your experience at Capel Cartref and I hope that you'll return sometime in the near future. Kind regards, Yonni Wilson and Marnie Slade
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing