We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whole new perspective on Cardiff and wales”

Cardiff Walking Tour
Ranked #26 of 49 Tours in Cardiff
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Join us for an inspiring walk through Cardiff's dramatic past on the tour lead by Wales' officially accredited and qualified guides. Travel through time from Roman invasion to industrial might and discover the characters and events that have shaped this fascinating city. All our guides hold the Wales Blue Badge (the country's highest guiding qualification) are accredited by the Welsh Government and are fully insured to guide. Visit our city centre tour base in Castle Welsh Crafts opposite Cardiff Castle, where the journey begins.
Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

First time in Cardiff or Wales and was blown away by the history of the region by life long resident bill o'keefe. Extremely informative and enjoyable. A must. He can do any type of tour you are looking for and know everything you need. This is also called planet wales on the web.

Date of experience: October 2016
1  Thank mortaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

3 - 7 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2016

Bill knows everything there is to know about Welsh (and probably British) history, or aat least as much as i need to know along with being entertaining and a good story teller.

The walking tour probably didn't go as far as i expected, but the historical stories went much further.... 2 hours to get from Roman Invasion up to modern day.... wow!

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2015

I didn't realise how little I knew about Wales and Cardiff until I did this tour. Bill O'Keefe was amazing!
To start with, he was very accommodating. I mentioned that my boyfriend and I had a full day ahead, so he offered to start the walking tour an hour earlier than normal to make sure we got in everything we wanted to do. How nice!!!
And he was so knowledgeable about Cardiff - the tour was informative, fun, and very interesting. There is so much rich history I just wasn't aware of. I would highly recommend this tour for anyone that goes to Cardiff.

Date of experience: October 2015
4  Thank mudi424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2015 via mobile

Stumbled across this tour whilst in Cardiff and decided to take part the following day at 11am from the tourist shop. Bill was a great tour guide and provided a lot of information about Cardiff's history. Lots of tidbits of information to take away from this tour as well as a good overview of Cardiff's past. Highly recommended! Thanks Bill!

Date of experience: October 2015
Thank Elizabeth_A_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2015

If you do nothing else, try to get on the Cardiff Walking Tour lead by Bill O'Keefe. To say he is an expert is simply not enough. This tour, guided by him will inform, entertain, and give you a full and detailed history of Cardiff that will enhance all your other visits there. In fact I would suggest it is essential to do this walk before visiting the Castle, Bute Park or the Bay area. It is not a huge trek so fitness is not a problem; what it offers is a glimpse of the past through the story-telling and style of Bill's descriptions. He can answer any question and fit what you ask into the over-all context whether you are visiting like me from north Wales, or, like my sister, from the USA. This walk is really value for money and will make you look at Cardiff in a completely new way - with understanding, empathy, and appreciation.

Date of experience: September 2015
5  Thank lizrowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cardiff Walking Tour also viewed

Cardiff, Southern Wales
 

Been to Cardiff Walking Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing