We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect base for Cardiff, Vale of Glamorgan and...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Foretop

Entrance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Entrance
Rear view/entrance of property
Lounge Views over Cardiff
Dining Table with views over Cardiff
Kitchen views to rear garden.
Double room with flat screen tv/dvd
Bathroom with bath and shower right of picture
Lounge with 37' Flat screen TV/Surround Sound
Corridor between bedrooms bathroom to left
Twin Room fitted Wardropes
Twin bedroom with flat screen tv/dvd
dressing room table/same in both rooms
View from bedrooms
View from lounge
View from lounge
Front Elevation
View from lounge
Views from lounge
Front elevation
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Cardiff, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
jonesc10
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect base for Cardiff, Vale of Glamorgan and South Wales”
Reviewed 28 April 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We stayed at Foretop between selling our house and waiting for a new build to complete - a period of 10 weeks. We thought we would rather stay in a really nice holiday let rather than rent for a couple of months.
It turned out to be the best decision as Foretop is not only beautiful, different and very well situated, but turned out to be a home as we loved it so much and it was sad having to leave it. The views from the lounge / kitchen / diner and the bedrooms is absolutely wonderful, views from far eastern Cardiff, right across to Penarth Head in the west of Cardiff. On a good day you can see Cardiff Bay, the Millenium Stadium, Flatholme and Steepholme islands (Flatholme worth a visit by boat from Mermaid Quay in Cardiff Bay!) but also across the Bristol Channel to Western Super Mare and North Devon.
The property has everything you will possibly need, extremely comfortable King size bed in master bedroom with two good sized single beds in the second bedroom. The shower / bathroom is beautifully fitted and decorated with a powerful shower.
The kitchen / dining area is large and nicely equipped. There is a good 42" Television with surround sound if required.
Finally, you will be greeted by the loveliest family, the Lewises, James, Sarah and the boys Michael and Morgan. They are exceedingly warm, welcoming, friendly, efficient and will go out of their way to assist in every way. So much so that we all became firm friends and remain so still. There are lots of great walks from the house and there is a riding stables at the end of the lane weekends can be full of trekking parties on horses and ponies hacking locally (open to the public)
We cannot emphasize how lucky we were in finding Foretop and the wonderful Lewis family. We recommend Foretop to couples or small families, for a couple of nights through to a couple of months. Enjoy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Eveything about it.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trueadvis...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful Home with a view unlike any other”
Reviewed 23 February 2015 for a stay in November 2014

We stayed here as a last minute option due to the busy half term. The manager was kind enough to offer me a bespoke package and within 12 hours we were on our way to the house. First impressions..... what a beautiful home. My wife fell in love with the decor and the size of the property. Must say of all the places we have stayed the amenities and facilities provided by the owners for this property were incredible! Everything you would need in a home is here! We were very sad to leave but will hopefully come back. The view of cardiff from this property is awesome!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The facilities
Liked least: loved everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H
Wollongong, Australia
1 review
“Couldn't be better”
Reviewed 21 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We were planning a big trip from Australia via Dubai, Wales, Vancouver, Alaska and the USA. The Foretop's close proximity to my family in Cardiff was the selling point, but when we arrived we knew that we had struck gold. It was the best accommodation for the whole 2 months away from home and we stayed at some high priced places. I would have no hesitation in recommending it and will try to book in on my next visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The peaceful atmosphere and the outlook
Liked least: The parking space.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dewdneyk
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Perfect - comfortable and beautiful”
Reviewed 19 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Really great find. Perfectly positioned for visiting Cardiff, the Bay and the valleys of South Wales. It's beautifully presented and appointed. Kitchen can prepare a major feast with the equipment provided and living areas and bedrooms are very comfortable. Great value accommodation and a friendly family who own the property live next door - top marks to youngster who jumped into action to carry our bags when we arrived. Would definitely recommend this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious and comfortable - luxury quality
Liked least: Carparking - tight and difficult lane to navigate.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theboyrya...
Ieland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“great base for trip”
Reviewed 5 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Stayed here with my wife and 2 year old in early July. Lovely place quite but very close to Cardiff. Good views of the city and easy to get to anywhere. extremely well furnished and maintained- highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2013
Hello Tim
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on your stay at The Foretop.
Look forward to seeing you again.
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing