We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Acre Brecon

The Acre Bwlch Brecon, looking towards the Black mountains. Set in two acres of private grounds.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Acre Bwlch Brecon, looking towards the Black mountains. Set in two acres of private grounds.
Master bedroom with super king size bed and additional single. Kitchen, range cooker rustic table seating 8,  open plan with natural light from all aspects.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
The Acre Bwlch Brecon, looking towards the Black mountains. Set in two acres of private grounds.
Master bedroom with super king size bed and additional single.
Kitchen, range cooker rustic table seating 8,  open plan with natural light from all aspects.
Ground floor sitting area with 42' led TV and Wii console, breath taking views.
Ground floor lounge with seating for 8 in comfort.
First floor lounge, with balcony panoramic view's of the Usk valley and beyond.
Utility room comprising off boot rack, washer dryer, dishwasher, door leading to shower room
Utility room with ample floor and wall storage, tiled floor throughout the ground floor.
View from the decking, which has a double burner BBQ and seating for 8, sit and relax.
The decking looking North,a parasol to shade you from the summer sunshine.
The Acre Bwlch, from the top of its grounds looking East at the Black mountains. 2 acres of garden.
Happy guests on the balcony, relaxing with a drink and enjoying the fabulous views.
Kitchen set up for breakfast for 6 more seating available. American fridge freezer with dispenser.
A view from the Black mountains in the same valley as the Acre Bwlch. A walkers paradise.
Walk in shower on ground floor with toilet and wash basin. All towels and bath robes provided.
The lake, under 3 miles away, walk or cycle a bird watchers haven, perfect for sailing & fishing.
Brecon Beacons in Brecon 7 miles away, Hay on Wye a short drive, Green Man festival 2 miles .
Drive and flower bed, the lane leading to the Acre is single track and a dead end road so very quiet
Ground Floor layout
Taken on the 23rd November 2014 fog in the usk valley
The Acre in winter bottom left of the picture.
First floor lounge with balcony doors open in the summer.
Sink and American fridge freezer with plumbed ice and water.
Fresh vegetable boxes with green house for organic supplies.
Patio area with BBQ and plenty of seating,
King size bed with ensuite.
First floor living room with balcony doors closed.
Boot and coat rack for storage after your days adventure.
Travel cot,for the younger visitors.
Patio area with BBQ and water feature. Fabulous view in every direction.
3D 5.1 Blu Ray home cinema system.
Table set for dinner.
Fresh bread made at The Arce.
Snow at The Acre, approaching 1000ft.
Bright warm sunshine on the patio at The Acre Bwlch.
Loads of private parking along with well kept colourful grounds.At The Acre Bwlch.
Our own hens, a great attraction with the younger guests free eggs!
If your visit is in the summer months feed the huge Sun flowers.
Fisherman on Llangorse Lake.
View to the Black mountains with snow from The Acre Bwlch.
The start of our ride back to the Acre Bwlch
Clean sealed floor tiles, american style fridge freezer
utility room from the stairs
Utility room from the kitchen
Floor plan of The Acre Bwlch Brecon
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Khutchx
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 11 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

All I can say is wow,

I was blown away from the moment I stepped out of the car. The views are up there with the best views I have every seen. On entering the house you are hit with the smell of homemade bread and homemade cakes. We are then taken for a tour of the property. In every room we entered all that is said is wow, the views are fantastic from every room you are in ( maybe not the bathroom) the cottage is spotless, clean bedding, towels etc for every room. The cottage has everything you could need from 50 inch 3d TV, board games, washing machine, bread maker, coffee maker, slow cooker.... The list goes on. Every bedroom is spacious and well presented and all needs catered for.

Conway and Steph are the owners and are both very friendly, helpful and approachable, Nothing is too much trouble. I stayed for 3 nights my only regret was I did not stay longer. I have now already looked up for going next year for either 5 or 7 days.

For anyone reading this review, thinking of staying here please do not hesitate you will love it

Keely

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucasMum...
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Endless views from fabulous accommodation”
Reviewed 19 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We've just returned from an amazing two weeks, staying in Bwlch. The area is fabulous for walking, cycling and going down the pub - whatever floats your boat! The house, which was spacious, comfortable and had every mod con from flat-screen TVs to a bread maker, was tucked down a narrow lane in total peace and quiet, yet was just two minutes from the main trunk road connecting you to Brecon and Abergavenny. The surrounding villages of Llangynidr, Llangors, Cwmdu and Crickhowell were wonderful to visit and the outlying areas were awash with castles, farmers' markets and red kites. Conway and Steph, the hosts, were very welcoming and prepared to go the extra mile to make sure we enjoyed our stay - sometimes quite literally, driving ahead of us to take us to the best pub lunches! The very best part of the house was the armchair facing the Sugar Loaf and the mountains around. It was an excellent place to sit and dream. Now, Conway, if you can just do something about that wet Welsh summer ...

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith R
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Idyllic spacious holiday home with magnificent views”
Reviewed 25 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The Acre is a well equipped extremely spacious holiday home with stunning views across the Usk valley. It is an ideal setting for exploring the surrounding area of natural beauty and is situated conveniently just a couple of hundred yards just off the A40 and near a beautiful Lake. The views from the home are absolutely breathtaking and the upstairs lounge has a balcony and there is even a telescope provided which is useful as this is an ideal situation for stargazing. There is also a beautiful big keyboard for any budding musicians.

The host, Conway, was most welcoming and helpful without being intrusive. He and his family lives next door and is on hand and more than willing to assist with any queries. He
provides a fabulous and substantial welcoming pack, makes coffee/tea on arrival, and
supplies fresh eggs daily from the hens in the vast garden. Nothing is too much trouble for him.

The kitchen and utility room are very large and well equipped with an American style ice-making fridge/freezer. There are two gigantic TV screens and games/books provided so there's something for all the family.

We were a family of 7 adults plus a baby and the accommodation was more than ample for us. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and felt relaxed from the minute we arrived in such beautiful serene surroundings.

We'll be back!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

How helpful were the directions to the property?
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron B
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great accommodation, Stunning views and perfect hosts”
Reviewed 14 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This house went beyond our expectations. It had all the amenities you wanted, very clean, large rooms and a very large garden with two BBQ's. The views from the house were stunning. Sitting out in front of the house having breakfast or a BBQ was perfection. The local area is full of great walks and the views again from the peaks are wonderful. We had the perfect hosts in Conway and Steph. They were always on hand to give you advice on where to go or what to do. You have a local pub serving food and drink 500 yards away. I can assure you if you book this accommodation you will not be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from the house
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miljones1
Warrington
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful views in a spectacular setting - with chickens!”
Reviewed 5 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This house was very large and easily coped with our group of 7 - including 3 children. The views from most rooms were spectacular and the amenities (big tellys, huge fridge, and a Wii) made it easy to keep everyone amused even if the weather wasn't great. Lots of good walks from this area and many fine pubs within reach. The kids loved getting the chicken's eggs each day - and the owner was very welcoming! A lovely stay had by all...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing