We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We wanted to stay longer!”

Review of The Bull Pens

The Bull Pens- Upper Decking
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Bull Pens- Upper Decking
The Bull Pens Upper Bull Pen kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
The Bull Pens- Upper Decking
The Bull Pens
Upper Bull Pen kitchen
Lower Bull Pen kitchen
The  contemporary upstairs living room in The Upper Bull Pen
The downstairs living room
Double bedroom in the Upper Bull Pen
En-Suite Bathroom
King Bedroom
King Bathroom
Twin room with view of the farm and surrounding hills
En-Suite Shower Room
Dining Room area of Lower Bull Pen
Spacious dining area with the Upper Bull Pen
View of the barns
Our resident bull - Eclipse
The view at the top of the farm
Llanfihangel Nant Bran Village
The New Play Area
Upper Bull Pen Hot Tub
Upper Bull Pen Hot Tub
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Knoxy155
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We wanted to stay longer!”
Reviewed 17 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Fiona was so helpful throughout, from permitting a one night stay which is unusual for a cottage and for letting us in early to stock the fridge. We booked the two adjoining cottages and were excited about our stay, having seen the photos and reviews, but it was even better than we expected.

We felt so welcome. The cottages were clean, well furnished and everything we needed in the kitchen was provided. We were big fans of the hottub which was undercover so would be perfect no matter the weather! Having a BBQ was also a big bonus for us.

We loved the location and if we could have stayed then we would!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 4 June 2015 for a stay in August 2014

We arrived - two adults and two children - late on a Saturday night having spent the day frantically dealing with a broken wrist I had sustained that very morning. Despite the broken wrist we were determined to travel to Brecon for our weeks holiday. All the stresses of our day fell by the wayside on arriving at the Lower Bull Pen - a stunningly converted barn, done with real attention to detail, impossible to fault. Fiona and Brian, the owners, were very welcoming and they went out of their way to help me organise various hospital appointments over the duration of our stay. Knowing how badly we needed our holiday I had spent a lot of time online looking for somewhere for us to rent. When I discovered the Brecon Cottages website and found the Bull Pens I knew we wouldn't be disappointed and we weren't. Our children had a great time and very much enjoyed the hot tub and the tractor ride with Brian around the farm. I
can't recommend the Bull Pens highly enough. It was our first holiday in Wales and we hope to go back again one day and would most definitely head back to the Bull Pens - hopefully without a broken wrist next time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wonderful accommodation and the surrounding landscape
Liked least: The rain!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren G
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Great property, great location, great weekend!”
Reviewed 25 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I stayed at the Bull Pens (Upper and Lower) as one of a mix group of 10 friends, aged 24 to 32. We all had great time at the property and were highly impressed by the presentation and quality of the properties.

We were lucky enough to have fantastic weather so were able to spend a lot time outside on the terraced decking but had we not been so lucky there was still plenty to do; the hot tub is undercover and inside features two large dining tables perfect for big groups to eat and socialise together, as well as a large lounge with modern entertainment features.

Given its remote location, the Bull Pens can be a little tricky to find using a tradition sat nav so I'd reccommend using Google Maps direct from the property's website. Also, and again due to its location, the internet can be 'slow' at times (but I am basing this on being used to inner-city fibreoptic speeds) - the owner in fact informed me that their property is at the end of the BT phone line for the area!

The owners were extremely attentive to our needs, even so after leaving when it transpired that a member of our group had left her make up at the property. The owner was more than happy to post this back to us - customer service that is a rare find these days!

If you are contemplating booking the Bull Pens, stop thinking and just do it - you won't regret it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and scenery.
Liked least: Slow internet speeds but this purely due to the location.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed K
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely!”
Reviewed 28 April 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Amazing trip into the beautiful, untouched heart of Wales. The scenery was stunning with snow on the hills and clear blue skies.
The impeccable hosts (Bryan and Fiona) clearly run a very efficient set up and always go the extra mile with their clients maintaining their ethos to 'undersell and over-deliver'. Very friendly reception and almost felt as if we were staying with friends as opposed to paying guests.
The accommodation is warm, comfortable and steeped in history as it is the site where Bryan kept his Bulls. I traveled with my girlfriend and hope to return as the 2 of us or with friends.
Definitely take comfy walking boots as the hills are steep but worth the climb for the outstanding views.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
722tom
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very comfortable, lovely location and very friendly hosts.”
Reviewed 26 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Grandfather, daughter and two grandchildren loved our stay at Lower Bullpens.
Everything within the accommodation was top quality and fitted out to a very high standard . Beams and timbers incorporated into the fabric gave it a very atmospheric atmosphere.

Fiona and Bryan were very warm hosts and Bryan’s quad and trailer tour of his fields was one of the highlights of our holiday as we looked from 1200 feet at the lovely Beacons scenery surrounding us. We were also introduced to the show calf called Strawberry Split and her companion and the children allowed to pour the feed into her trough.

We were very lucky with the weather over the last week of the Easter holiday - day after day of glorious Spring sunshine so it was a real bonus to have the children’s swing and play area so close to the front door.

The Bull Pens are a great venue for exploring the Brecon Beacons, well situated for exploring the area from the Sugar Loaf in the east, waterfall walks in the centre and the castles to the western edges of the beacons, all of which we did.

A memorable week.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$808
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing