We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
7 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tony G
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ideal”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The venue was perfect for our 4 families. We felt we could all get together easily and also felt free to do our own thing. The owners and farm helpers were so friendly. They even got our grandchildren out horse poo picking which they loved. Amazing! Our grandchildren felt free and would go to the stables and have a chat to a horse over the gate. All in all ideal for a family get together.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The buildings and the venue
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia...
1 review
“Beautiful and relaxing retreat”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We loved everything about this place, from the lovely horses that we so close by to the well appointed kitchens that allowed us to cook up a storm.

Comfortable and capable of handling our big group easily, we thoroughly enjoyed walks to the stunning reservoir and surrounding hills.

Wonderful attentive staff on nearby made it easy for us to find everything.

Would definitely go again !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dwma1
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great property, lovely surroundings”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Finding a place for a large group of friends is always tricky, but the Happy Horse came up trumps.

As per the info, it is split between three properties that all lie within one building. They are accessed by separate front doors which, although not ideal for some people perhaps, really suited our group. It means you can all socialise in the main house, but have a little bit of privacy and time to relax if you need it.

The place is easy to find if you follow the instructions, and the owners are incredibly welcoming and friendly. Their dogs were a highlight for us, as Hassle and Patrick are wonderfully friendly and not intrusive at all.

The rooms are all done up to a high standard, with comfortable beds and great showers. The three kitchens are all well stocked and great for cooking in, plus there's a BBQ if the weather allows.

Some people may not like that the majority of rooms are twins/bunks, but we didnt mind. It meant we could get a good number of people staying, and there's no lasting damage to a marriage if you take twin beds for a couple of nights.

There are plenty of routes for walks nearby, and the games room in the barn was a great place to disappear to for a bit of table tennis.

Would highly recommend it to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful location
Liked least: Can't fault it
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5Valerie0...
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Our Charity Challenge Retreat”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Our adventure started with a wonderful warm welcome from Nikki and her two beautiful dogs. The barn is at the end of a country lane so you are free from traffic in what is a stunning tranquil location, with beautiful views, the sound of running water and not forgetting our friendly companions the horses. The barns have been converted to a high standard and the beds where so comfortable which we appreciated following a 32.5 charity trek! We were a group of 14 and did not feel cramped as the Happy Horse is divided into three separate barns, and we had the added bonus of all joining together in one of the barns which had a large beautifully decorated open plan dinning room for us all to eat and socialise as one group. We now plan to return with our families, thank you for a wonderful stay and the carb feast chocolate cake.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa B
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage for a large group in a perfect location”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The cottages were all of a high quality and although most of the rooms weren't that big, there was plenty of communal space and enough bathrooms that as a group of 15 adults we didn't feel cramped at all. The enormous dining table was absolutely perfect, as were the picnic benches outside, where we had lovely sunny breakfasts by the stream. Fantastic location - felt nicely remote although reasonably close to pubs and shops. As with a lot of rural Wales, mobile reception was extremely limited, but for us this was generally a plus! Nikki was very friendly and extremely helpful giving advice on walking routes. Far more interesting walks and bike rides very nearby than we had time to do. Absolutely perfect stay - would definitely recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely large dining table and picnic benches outside with plenty of room for 15
Liked least: Slightly irritating that you had to walk outside to get between the parts of the barn
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$587
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing