We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful stay in the Brecon Beacons!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
7 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nadia A
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderful stay in the Brecon Beacons!”
Reviewed 9 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We had a wonderful stay in the Happy Horse cottage. Situated in a lovely, peaceful location in the heart of the Brecon Beacons, off the road, next to a stream, with horses in the surrounding fields. The house is very comfortable and well equipped to a high standard. The games room was a big hit with the children and adults alike. Nikki was very helpful and gave us great advice on walks and places to eat. A perfect getaway for a larger party or group of families.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Weekend Break”
Reviewed 1 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We have recently had a long weekend at Happy Horse Cottages - our second visit - and just as good as our first a year ago. Our hosts were very welcoming and friendly and the cottages fitted out to a high standard. We had one family in each cottage, and moved freely between the three - a perfect arrangement for a holiday with friends. There was plenty to do to suit all ages (children ranging from 10 to 16) - we did horse riding, indoor climbing, and hill walking. The farm is set in beautiful, quiet countryside, with shops within easy driving distance.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian L
Bath, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great for groups & lot's of horses!”
Reviewed 2 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We were a group of friends with kids. Really enjoyed our stay (a weekend in March) doing a mix of eating, walking and visiting the local waterfalls. The larger cottage had enough space for us to all eat together, both inside at the large dining table, and outside on a row of picnic tables for lunch in the sun. Lots of elderly horses in the surrounding paddocks enjoying their dotage. Nikki was most helpful with suggesting suitable routes for our walks and other things to see nearby. There's no music system though, so if you want tunes you'll need to bring your own. Recommended.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osteogolf
2 reviews
“What a fantastic place to stay!”
Reviewed 17 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

11 of us stayed at Happy Horse for my brother's stag weekend. The barn conversion has been completed to a very high standard and the property is set within a stunning location. The welcome from the hosts and Patrick (Jack Russell) was very warm and the chocolate cake was fantastic! Most of us weren't able to get a phone signal which made our stay feel like a retreat. The surrounding countryside is stunning with plenty of activities to wear you out! For a group of friends or a family group, it's a fantastic place to stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardO4...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottages in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 12 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We have just returned from a fantastic long weekend at Happy Horse Cottages - three families, with children ranging in age from 9 to 15. We left planning our next visit.
The cottages are excellent - warm (there was still snow on the hills); well equipped; good, solid, comfy chairs for collapsing into at the end of a day in the hills; spotlessly clean and a great table in the largest cottage for everyone to sit down together, with views over the valley.
The location is beautiful - a stream (so not suitable for very small children), very quiet and very dark - the best night skies we had seen in a long while.
The children loved the horses (Beau being the favourite) and the table tennis.
The owners are lovely - provided an enormous chocolate cake when we arrived and there at the right time to share local advice, provide maps etc.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Adults - the location; Children - the horses
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$587
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing