We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent holiday accomodation for couples/family”

Review of Y Neuadd Lwyd

Grade II Listed Welsh stone cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Grade II Listed Welsh stone cottage
Living area with beamed ceiling & inglenook fireplace with wood burning stove.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Grade II Listed Welsh stone cottage
Living area with beamed ceiling & inglenook fireplace with wood burning stove.
Perfect for cosy nights in front of the fire.
Living area with beamed ceiling & inglenook fireplace with wood burning stove.
'Slouchy leather sofa's to relax in.
Open plan living - view from living area to kitchen/diner
Modern fitted kitchen with ceramic hob, electric cooker and dishwasher.
Modern fitted kitchen with granite worktops.
Individually designed Bedroom 1
Views over the Snowdonia countryside from bedroom1
Bedroom 1 with modern en-suite shower room
Bedroom 1 en-suite shower room
Bedroom 1 en-suite shower room
Individually designed Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2 with modern en-suite shower room
Bedroom 2 en-suite shower room
Bedroom 2 en-suite shower room
External utility room also doubles up a secure lockable storage for bikes.
Patio doors from living area onto timber decking and private courtyard garden.
Relax and appreciate the peace, quiet and stunning scenery.
Dolwyddelan village at the foot of Moel Siabod and Snowdon in the background.
View of Lledr Valley with Dolwyddelan in the distance.
Dolwyddelan Castle - 15 minute walk from the doorstep.
Grade I Listed 15th Century St. Gwyddelan's Church - 2 minute walk from the doorstep
Well situated for walking and mountain biking.
Zip World Velocity is the fastest zip line in the world - 45 minute drive.
Snowdon Mountain Railway - 40 minute drive.
Bounce below is set in a disused slate cavern - 10 minute drive.
Bodnant Gardens - 20 minute drive.
The coastline of North West Wales with it's safe sandy beaches are easily accessible by car
Stunning local scenery within walking distance from the doorstep.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
judeandth...
Bedfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent holiday accomodation for couples/family”
Reviewed 31 August 2011 for a stay in April 2011

There is not much I can add to the other reviews of Y Neuadd Lwyd. The cottage itself is lovely, clean and well-stocked. It is very well located for the bus and train, and a great base for exploring the area. The owners are friendly and helpful- but also give you the space and privacy to do your own thing. If you have a special occasion, Helen also makes lovely cakes- my son loved his chocolate birthday cake! Definitely a place I would recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location of the property
Liked least: Lack fo bath, only showers
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JudyD1862...
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceeded our expectations”
Reviewed 12 July 2011 for a stay in July 2011
1
person found this review helpful

A fantastic cosy cottage. The owners live in the adjoining property and are there to help if needed, but respected our privacy. There are 2 equally sized double bedrooms which are tastefully decorated, each with it's own ensuite bathroom. There is a delightfull garden with a large decked aea. The website pictures do not do the cottage justice. There is an excellent village store within 2 minutes walking distance. The location is perfect as a touring base for North Wales.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewCa...
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage and a memorable stay”
Reviewed 5 July 2011 for a stay in June 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the cottage for a week and found it to be extremely cosy with its log burning stove and extremely comfortable beds. It also has great, modern facilities to provide a real home from home which means you don't have to bring the kitchen sink.
Our two children also loved the books provided as well as playing with the two cats that live next door.
The cottage is ideally placed to tour Snowdonia as well as reasonable driving distance to Lllandudno and Rhyl on the North Coast, with Anglesey, Porthmadg and Harlech also being within good driving distance.
We would definitely consider returning to the cottage and would loved to have stayed longer!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drewhouse...
Felpham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cottage set in the heart of Snowdonia”
Reviewed 3 July 2011 for a stay in June 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely stay in this beautiful cottage. Helen made us feel very welcome upon arrival.

The cottage is finished to a very high standard and includes lots of details that create a 'home from home' feeling. The fire was ready to go when we arrived which was much appreciated and there was plenty of kindle and fire wood to keep us going all week. The beds were very comfortable and we slept really well all week. Privacy is important for us and we loved the fact this cottage has fields behind and next to the property (full of sheep!)

This is the perfect base for us to explore North Wales. Would highly recommend, particularly for walkers or romantic getaway.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welshbird...
Co Armagh
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Accomodation!!!”
Reviewed 20 June 2011 for a stay in June 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Fantasic Cottage with all the home from home comforts. Beautiful views of the snowdonia mountains from the decking out the back. My husband and i arnet 'walkers' but we like to travel around and see the sights. There is plenty to do in the surrounding area. The village shop has all that you need, but we feel the village could do with a 'take away' of some sort (fish & chips etc) altho there is a local pub which does food, we didnt try it. Betwys y Coed is a 10 minute drive and is a lovely village with lots of shops and places to eat. Helen, the owner of the cottage lives next door, she has fantastic taste and the cottage is decorated beautifully. There are lots of books in the cottage on the surrounding area, castles, birds, history etc ... All in all a really lovely cottage which lives up to its 4 star accomodation! Would visit again in the hope the Welsh weather was a little kinder. If your looking for a peaceful retreat in a wonderful clean and modern home from home cottage, please dont pass this one by ... I'm so glad we didnt! You will not be sorry!!! Thank you Helen for a fantastic stay in a fantastic cottage ... hope to see you again soon ;o)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$105
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing