We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The best dog friendly accommodation we've come...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Bodfan

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bodfan, a large traditional farmhouse, viewed from its front garden Front garden and path
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Bodfan, a large traditional farmhouse, viewed from its front garden
Front garden and path
Back garden path from car park
Back garden
Bodfan side garden
Lounge with multi-fuel stove
Dining room with hatch to kitchen
Kitchen eating area
Well supplied kitchen
Kitchen
Twin bedroom
Twin-bedroom
Second twin bedroom
Single bedroom
Single bedroom
Double bedroom
Cloakroom with mixer shower
Bathroom with mixer shower
Back garden
Rural view and front field
Occasional visitors to the field
Sunrise over Snowdonia viewed from Bodfan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Holyhead, Island of Anglesey, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
174Sarah
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“The best dog friendly accommodation we've come across”
Reviewed 7 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Booked Bodfan for a long weekend away with family and four bouncy dogs. The farmhouse was brilliant, met all our needs and more. The dogs had room to race around in the secure field next to the farmhouse. The owner was lovely and approachable. We couldn't have asked for a better set up. I think this might become a regular haunt! Looking forwards to returning.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate R
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Warm and comfortable property in a lovely rural location”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

As a party of 6 on a walking holiday combined with retreat we spent a very enjoyable week at Bodfan. We used it as a base and went walking along the coastal footpaths most days. The central location close to the A55 made getting about easy.. We enjoyed watching the birds in the garden and the horses in the field below.. We found some very interesting books to read in the extensive library. The owner, who lives next door, was welcoming and helpful. We appreciated the Welsh cakes and bottle of wine in our welcome pack. If we visit Anglesey again we would return to Bodfan.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Rural Location
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevore40
Treorchy, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An absolutely wonderful home to stay in”
Reviewed 4 January 2014 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I went home to Anglesey to get married in November 2013.

Bodfan was leased to me for the weekend as a wedding present.

I totally fell in love with the house, the rooms were spacious and homely.
The whole house was warm and inviting and the real fire in the drawing room was a very nice feature that when lit made the house more like a home from home.

The party that stayed were very pleased with the range of activities provided for children and the range of books meant there was something for everyone's taste.

The kitchen was well equipped and the beds were really comfortable.

I would recommend a stay here. The house is situated close to lots of things to do or you can just take in the friendliness of the local area with a nice walk.

I can't thank Gillian enough for a wonderful time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being in a place that felt like home
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amli10
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Bodfan is a little haven of peace and tranquility!”
Reviewed 2 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We stayed here for 4 days and 3 nights. The owners had thought of everything including leaving a very generous welcome pack for us. They were very friendly and knowledgeable.
The house itself was very comfortable and would easily accommodate 8 people. Well equipped and lovely and warm. Our 2 dogs had a fantastic time with all the land available.
We felt the house was ideally situated as nowhere was more than 20 mins drive away.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shambles...
2 reviews
“Country Bliss!”
Reviewed 23 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We had our reservations when booking this location, simply because we were surrounded by little more than farm land for 2-4 miles. However all 6 of our group loved the location and what's more, the house is just as impressive.

A detached, large farm house in the middle of welsh countryside with substantial rooms sizes, perfect for a large group. Local information was provided and a lovely welcome gift of a bottle of wine was waiting for us on arrival.

We will definitely be back to Angelsey and we will definitely be renting Bodfan again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing