We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A hidden gem”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Llangollen, Denbighshire, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

CPM1Bedfr...
Bedfrordshire, UK
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed 26 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We all loved this cottage, it is a cosy size and suited our requirements exactly.
It has all you need and is well situated so within seconds you are walking on the canal path either towards the aqueduct or to Llangollen. Its handy to have a car port you can park under, as when we got there the heavens opened all day and it was nice to be able to get out of the car without getting wet.

Date of stay: November 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Situation
Liked least: Sofa not very comfortable.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Nov 2016
Sorry we couldn't arrange better weather but pleased everything else was as you wanted.
Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Footprint...
1 review
“Perfect Cottage”
Reviewed 14 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

This cottage was absolutely perfect for us. I can't think of anything negative. The location is ideal to use as a base for exploring North Wales or just for a few days peace and quiet. Steve and Karen made us feel very welcome as did Brynn the friendly dog. After exploring in the day it was lovely to return to the quiet cottage in the evening. Woodbank is very well equipped and had everything we needed to prepare and enjoy our evening meal. The beds were very comfortable and I appreciated the lovely walk in shower as my mobility is now a little limited. Woodbank is very well maintained and everything was clean and tidy.The cottage is about 10 minutes walk to the local pub and the canal. A short drive to Tesco to buy produce. There were 4 in our party, all adults, and we did not feel crowded in the cottage. In fact, we are already thinking of a future visit.

Date of stay: October 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2016
Delighted with the review, in fact they have already asked about availability for next Easter!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Date of stay: October 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 Oct 2016
Thanks.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Henjo79
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 25 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This is our second visit to Woodbank Cottage. We loved it so much the first time we visited (June 16) we rebooked straight away for our stay now (23-25 Sept 16). We absolutely adore it, ideal for walks/bike rides. The cottage has bikes and kayaks to borrow. Highly recommend the kayaks they are great fun! The owners Steve and Karen cannot do enough for you and have made us feel welcome from the second we arrived (on both occasions). The cottage itself is home from home, it's immaculate and modern in a county cottage style. Set behind electric gates, in the grounds of the main house it has its own courtyard with small private children's play area (the wooden castle has a working draw bridge!), a brick built BBQ and easy access to canal. The aqueduct is a 5 min walk and a definite must. On accessing the canal from the cottage turn left and you can walk straight to Llangollen (4 mile walk). We did this walk with our 9 year old son it was lovely.

My only negative is writing this review!!! I wish we could keep the cottage as our own private get away. It is so booked up we are now finding it difficult to find another available date!!

Date of stay: September 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2016
Thanks. We are so pleased that you enjoyed it as much the second time no hope to see you again soon.
Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jhchelt
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A perfect stay!”
Reviewed 31 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We have just returned home from a fabulous holiday in the cottage. We were warmly welcomed on arrival and made to feel very much at home during our stay! The cottage is perfectly located as a base for exploring Snowdonia. It is near to the canal and just a short walk from the nearest village. It is very dog friendly and our dog Barney also really enjoyed meeting his new friend Bryn! Karen and Steve have thoughtfully kitted out the cottage with everything you could possibly need and provided lots of information and recommendations as to what to see and do. Our stay exceeded expectations by far and we have already asked to re-book next year. Would definitely recommend!

Date of stay: July 2016
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2016
We are delighted that Jane and particularly Barney enjoyed their stay. We are looking forward to seeing them again next summer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.