We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Have recommended to my friends.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Capel Pennant

Capel Pennant
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Capel Pennant
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Capel Pennant
Archway in bedroom with view down into the sitting room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Converted chapel -
1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
Llangollen, Denbighshire, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tracey D
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Have recommended to my friends.”
Reviewed 10 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Booked the Chapel for husbands' 50th birthday. Was not disappointed. Cottage as described and featured on Tripadvisor. Wood burning stove a little tricky to get going but once burning the cottage was warm and cosy. Lovely views across the countryside. Would not come here on a walking holiday as the area was very steep at times; a car is a must. Enjoyed a day on the canal which was excellent value. Had a meal at The Hand at Llanarmon which although we enjoyed we would probably not return to. Overall we had a lovely short break and we would love to return.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2016
Thanks very much for your feedback Tracey. Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you both again soon. Nick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L3rxst
Wirral, Cheshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful, secluded, perfectly clean and we'll equipped - sanctuary”
Reviewed 2 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Great place, hosts and perfect for chilling and relaxing for a few days.
Well equipped kitchen, log burner with tonnes of logs and proper heating and hot water when you need it.
Would give it 5 but we didn't get on with the bed at all (others did say it easy great, so personal taste on that one), and parking was remote from the accommodation if you are precious about that kind of thing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Peaceful and fabulous location
Liked least: The bed didn't suit us at all
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2015
Sorry you didn't get on with the bed Iain - we invested in a very expensive mattress and everyone has commented how comfortable it is so not sure how we can address that. Undercover parking in the cartshed is less than 50 yards from the chapel but it's possible to park next to the chapel to unload luggage etc if that's too far to carry things. Glad you enjoyed your stay apart from these two snags but really sorry you didn't sleep well - that's usually one of the advantages of staying somewhere so peaceful and quiet. Nick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vikpet
Worksop, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect, Peaceful, Heavenly Cottage”
Reviewed 27 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This property and surrounding area was perfect. lovely well thought out cottage, restored and perfectly presented.
Peaceful location with the added bonus of chickens and geese on your doorstep.
Everything you need to relax, fantastic views and no day to day hassle.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bed!!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue B
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“At one with nature”
Reviewed 16 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed for 4 nights and had our 'batteries' well and truly recharged! The stunning location in the hills, peace and nature all around, with only the sounds of birds and farm animals to interupt made for a wonderful break away from everyday life. The conversion of the chapel is beautifully done, with antique furniture, but all mod cons in the kitchen and shower room. Nick was on hand for a chat if required, but respected our privacy at other times. We usually saw him when he was feeding the ducks in the field next to our own private garden and when he gave us lovely new-laid eggs! We were able also to walk round the Manor House garden and admire the flowers and wildlife. Llangollen, however, is only 2 miles away and we enjoyed being 'tourists' and had rides on a steam train and a horse-drawn canal boat. We would also recommend seeing the Horseshoe Falls - a weir on the River Dee created by Thomas Telford to form the source of the Shropshire canal. The whole valley from there up to the famous aqueduct is a World Heritage site.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The characterful chapel conversion in its stunning peaceful location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marilyn L
Fishguard, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Stunning location and amazing property”
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We rented the Chapel for a short break in August and although we knew the area we were bowled away by this amazing property in a lovely hidden valley just outside Chirk. The main house and two holiday let's have been restored and converted by their talented and charming owners and make for a comfortable and restful break. Friendly neighbours and livestock add to the charm. The chapel was beautifully decorated and furnished and included the owners' antiques and collectables. While in a peaceful valley, you can reach Llangollen and Shrewsbury very easily and quickly from this location, although it's so lovely I'm not sure you would want to stray far.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location which is stunning
Liked least: Nothing bad about this unless you don't like the countryside
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing