We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely fabulous will definately return”

Review of Penlan Cottage

Penlan Cottage, Carrog
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Penlan Cottage, Carrog
Penlan Cottage from the River Dee Penlan river bank and terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Penlan Cottage, Carrog
Penlan Cottage from the River Dee
Penlan river bank and terrace
Lower riverside patio
View from terrace view towards Carrog Bridge
Penlan Cottage from the road
Riverside Terrace looking dowwstream to Carrog Bridge
Upstream view from Carrog Bridge (Penlan on far right)
Living Room overlooking river
Kitchen overlooking river
View from the kitchen window
Family bedroom
Bedroom Two
Bedroom Three
Study with sofa bed
Bathroom
Shower room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Llangollen, Denbighshire, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Julie K
staffordshire
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous will definately return”
Reviewed 25 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

just returned from 5 day stay at Penlan,beutifull cottage in a stunning location with all the facilities you need beautifully furnished and clean.We had gorgeous weather and more or less lived outside on the balcony overlooking the river.There are a lot of stairs so were kept fit going up and down these.the, local pub was happy for us to park there,We ate there twice during our stay ,the food was lovely and not expensive,booking was easy and the Crosby family answered any queries and dealt with our booking efficiently

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the cottage and the views
Liked least: stairs
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
995Louise
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“perfect penlan”
Reviewed 28 June 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Very well equipped cottage in a wonderful location.
Perfect for families with children of 5 years plus. The stairs are steep and toddlers would need to be watched.
Excellent local pub. Great local walks

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: views from the house
Liked least: steep stairs
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohdear_8
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 22 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Penlan Cottage is just perfect, everything you could possibly need and more. Highly recommended for a relaxing holiday. We'll go again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jpsh120
Yeovil, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely superb!”
Reviewed 1 June 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We stayed at the cottage at the end of march, 6 adults, 1 toddler & 1 dog! We arrived during some of the worst snow I have ever seen but we managed to reach the cottage safely. There was also a power cut but the property "helpers" who live just up the road were soon with us offering blankets and hot water bottles to keep us warm. Fortunately the power came back on and the heating soon had the cottage nice and cosy!


After all the excitement of the first day we took it easy on the following day but we did venture out to the pub just across the road to sample their recommended food. It was excellent and between us we tested the roast dinner and the lamb stew amongst other things.

The snow provided some stunning backdrops to the surrounding scenery and as the week progressed we were able to go further afield. There is plenty to see in the local area with something for everyone and you can travel that little bit further to reach places like Chester which is a lovely place and of course snowdonia is well worth a visit.

So in summary if you are looking for somewhere that feels like home this is the place. We are planning another visit where we will hopefully have some sunshine so we can sit out on the patio and fire up the bbq!

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catloverL...
liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful, well appointed cottage. Perfect location.”
Reviewed 24 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013

We went on a girly long weekend in feb to Penlan cottage and had a great time. The cottage is beautiful, perched on the river Dee with stunning views. Everything you could need is supplied at the cottage and the cottage itself is spotless and really lovely and homely. The owner was really accommodating and allowed us to leave a little bit later on in the day as no new arrivals coming in. Would highly recommend Penlan and we can't wait to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The stunning views
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$186
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing