We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gem of a find..”
The Shepherds Cottage with patio in front
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Shepherds Cottage with patio in front
You will never tire of the view View of the Skirrid
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
The Shepherds Cottage with patio in front
You will never tire of the view
View of the Skirrid
Lounge and stable door
Lounge and dining area
Cottage and view, barbeque and chimnea
View of the Skirrid
View through the window, forever changing
Winter wonderland, full central heating
Kitchen, micro wave, full size cooker, dish washer, washing m/c, coffee maker, the lot
Sunrise over Skirrid, always different
Mezzanine bedroom, double or twin beds
View of the lounge from the Mezzanine, modern TV, DVD player
Lounge and wood burner
Approach to the shepherds cottage
Relax on the patio
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jen B
Clacton-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gem of a find..”
Reviewed 27 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Very local for shops,walks with the dogs at the beautiful lakes,nearby mountains,very clean,breath of fresh air staying at this gorgeous chocolate box cottage,everything you need for a quiet stay,owners are very nice/friendly people,anything you want just ask,ty Mr & Mrs B,and Jack....

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 May 2018
Thank you for your lovely review Jen, we always appreciate our guests enjoying themselves and discovering the area around us. Hope we see you again sometime
Sandra
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouiseMas...
Fareham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed 17 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Stayed for three nights with our two dogs. This cozy cottage is well equipped and comfortable. we couldn’t have wised to be in a better location. High up to see the beautiful views with amazing walks on the doorstep and close enough to the town if we needed anything. Didn’t want to leave!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Apr 2018
Thank you Louise - we really hope you come back to visit another time and hope we can do a little better on the weather front, one good day out of three isn't up to our usual standard!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabs26
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pet friendly, charming stone Cottage stunning views.”
Reviewed 2 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

What an amazing find, very welcoming hosts who could not do enough for us.
The Cottage is very well equipped with log burner and central heating, spotlessly clean!
On the edge of the woods convenient for walking and hiking locally or exploring the Brecon Beacons. Our dog absolutely loved it there.
The views are to die for especially in the morning when watching the sunrise.
Very much looking forward to going back soon!
Thank you to Sandra and Chris.
Gaby & Richard and Ollie

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Apr 2018
Thank you for the lovely review - it was a pleasure to meet you both and Olly, and we look forward to seeing you when you next visit the area
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 Sep 2017
Thank you for the great review - it was a pleasure to meet you and I hope you will be able to return to see us sometime soon.
Sandra
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Heather R
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“very disappointed”
Reviewed 23 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Lovely setting and great views from the cottage.The location is good for visiting Brecon Beacon area: a local canal trip from Brecon, a walk and watch the boats at the cafe at Goyre Wharf and walks on Sugar Loaf .We also had days out to Aberfan( visit the site of the 1966 disaster- very moving), Cardiff, Portcawl, Barry Island( Gavin and Stacy) and down The Rhodda Valley ( visit Tom Jones birth place) with its rows and rows of former mining houses on the steep valley hillsides all the way down the valley.
Abervagenny itself has much to offer with its Castle Gardens and Linda Vista, local shops, supermarkets and eateries of all kinds.
However, cute and clean with comfy bed as the cottage is, we were without running hot water and no central heating for over a week of our 2 week stay.
This meant we had to make up the log burner nightly after a day out if we wanted warmth in the cottage in the evening( log burners do not give out instant heat and will take over an hour to even to start to warm a room) No running hot water meant boiling the kettle for a wash or to clean dirty dishes. We did this for over a week!
Personally I found the owners ( Chris) attitude very blase and uncaring, even indifferent.
We were not even offered any real apology or recompense for the inconvenience or lack of basic services that we had expected and paid for. Overall very poor client service and sadly disappointing.
We would certainly visit the area again but would not risk staying at the cottage again

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Apr 2017
Ah Heather, what can I say. We can only apologise profusely for an unfortunate run of events. Having had to have our two much loved donkeys put down that week we probably took our eye off the ball. We ran out of heating oil – new tank and inaccurate measuring -and rang for oil immediately we found out but it was Good Friday, so no-one was available to talk to until Tuesday when they were less than helpful and we are still waiting. We spoke to you both several times, apologising and offering you the house facilities to use but you reassured us that the shower was still working, the dishwasher was available and that you could manage fine. You had also told us that you had switched the heating off early in your stay as you didn’t like it too warm and we honestly believed it wasn’t a problem for you, especially in view of the warmer weather we were having. Chris would happily have lit the fire for you each day which would have helped a little if only you had said.
As I have my leg in plaster I was not able to offer any help – which was quite frustrating for me. The low rating you have given us has taken us completely by surprise – we pride ourselves on service and always try and go the extra mile to help our guests. At no time did you indicate that you were so dissatisfied despite talking to us on a daily basis. We haven’t had anyone stay with a cat before and were very pleased that that side of things seemed to go well.
Please come again, when we will ensure everything will be spot on.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing